We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Marc Munchen
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel S16(Munich)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,898)
Filter reviews
1,898 results
Traveller rating
1,260
544
68
17
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,260
544
68
17
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationgreat hotelpillow spraynever felt unsafebreakfast buffetmodern hotelside streetcentral locationrain showerminute walkbreakfast was amazingmain stationwould definitely stay here againgreat showerstayed here for nightswould highly recommend this hotelcomfortable rooms
Filter
Updating list...
920 - 925 of 1,898 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed here for one night and were impressed with the quality of the room and service for the price. The style was modern, but had great usability. This hotel is a quick walk from the train station. And you are only a few blocks from the beer halls/gardens and shopping. The shower and bathroom were large in comparison to other hotels. The room had AC which kept the room a nice 21*C (70*F). The included breakfast was the standard array but seemed very fresh. It is very rare to find good water for free in Europe. The lobby had a free water dispenser with glasses(option of Fizz/Flat). Great amenity when you walk around Munich during July.

*We flew into Munich airport and took the train to the station. We paid at the airport, but the tickets were never validated or checked. I was not sure if people paid for the public transportation in Munich because there were ticket dispensers, but no one checked your tickets. The Train station was under construction at the time, so maybe they had not added the ticket validators in yet.*

Room Tip: The hotel is across the street from a youth hostel that boasted the cheapest drinks in Munich. If you're nice to the door guy he will let you in for cheap drinks.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcmuenchen, Leiter Front Office at Marc Munchen, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Charles,
We are delighted by your smashing review, thank you so much! We are happy you enjoyed your stay in our hotel marc****.
The hotel was renovated completely and reopened in August 2012 only, so everything is quasi brand-new. Of course we got ourselves the latest technic in AC, I am happy you felt comfortable throughout.
In Munich we have one of the best waters in Germany: freshly from the Alpes! We want all our guests to enjoy!

We are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards

Veronika Fruth and the hotel marc munich**** team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

As noted by others, the street is a bit off putting but seemed quite safe to walk. The Marc Muenchen is especially well located if arriving by train. It's a bit of a walk to get to some sites in the eastern part of the old city, however, Augustiner Beer Garden, which we think is one of the nicest, is within walking distance as are the art museums. You can easily hop onto the tram & access the underground nearby.
This hotel was recently renovated so everything about the room was in shipshape condition. The breakfast was sumptuous and delicious, and the restaurant room is sunny and spacious. The wait staff was very friendly. The front desk staff was cordial and well organized.
We liked the feeling of security...anyone entering must walk immediately past the the front desk. We also enjoyed the water dispenser in the lobby. It was a welcome refreshing treat when returning from adventures. Good high speed wifi was complimentary. We enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adobe133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcmuenchen, Leiter Front Office at Marc Munchen, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear guest,
We are happy you enjoyed your stay in our hotel marc**** very much! Thank you for your great review.
You are right, the central location of our house allows the guests to explore most of Munich’s sight and some great Beergardens by foot.
We renovated our hotel in 2011/2012 completely and reopened in August 2012. Thank you for your compliments on design and rooms, we are happy you like the outcome.
In Munich we have one of the best waters in Germany: freshly from the Alpes! We want all our guests to enjoy!

We are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards

Veronika Fruth and the hotel marc munich**** team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Great location so close to everything. Slightly grubby street but nothing too alarming. The hotel is excellent. Fantastic bathroom, so light and large. Great breakfast and excellent amenities. Free wifi and tea and coffee in the room Tina on the front desk was a treasure.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank moyaSydneyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcmuenchen, Leiter Front Office at Marc Munchen, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Moya from Australia,

We are happy you enjoyed your stay in our hotel marc****! Thank you for your feedback.
Our hotel was renovation in 2011/2012 and reopened in August 2012 only and we are happy you like the outcome and its design.
What a nice compliment for our dear colleague Tina to mention her by name! Thank you so much, I will show you review to the whole team!

We are looking forward to welcoming you again as we hope you will come back to Munich maybe even in the near future.

Best regards

Veronika Fruth and the hotel marc munich**** team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This is a beautiful, modern, comfortable hotel conveniently located just one block from the Hauptbahnhof train station in central Munich. The rooms are spacious, there is a nice lobby and small bar area, and the breakfasts are absolutely superb. The neighborhood is diverse. There are hostels across the street, and some gritty sorts about, but nothing out-of-the-ordinary in the vicinity of any inner-city train station. No one approached us or was ever threatening in any way. My wife and I never felt unsafe walking about, and it would be a shame not to stay here, as the neighborhood in no way outweighs the excellent nature of this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goodney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcmuenchen, Leiter Front Office at Marc Munchen, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Goodney,
Thank you very much for your kind rating “Great Hotel” - we love to read this! I am happy you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us and felt everything was superb.
Special thanks to you for explaining the hotel’s vicinity: I often read about the “shabby looks” of the surroundings, but you put it just right: this is the same case with all big cities’ Main Train stations around the world. Plus, Munich is a very safe city, no worries to walk around alone late night.
We would be very happy to be able to welcome you soon again.

Best regards

Veronika Fruth and the hotel marc munich**** team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Very short walk from main train station, so there are lots of rundown hostels, etc in the neighborhood. Don't be put off by this. I was traveling alone and never felt unsafe. This hotel would have a 5 star rating in the US. It seems to have undergone a massive update as it did not resemble anything of some earlier reviews. Everything was sparkling new and very modern. I liked having air conditioning. The Reception is open 24 hours and I found them very attentive to every request. The breakfast was AMAZING (I really hate that over-used word, but it is what describes it!). I especially appreciated being able to leave my luggage there for the last day while I was out sight-seeing. The only down side to this place is the price.

Room Tip: It took me a moment to realize you must insert your door key into a holder near the door in order for lights to work.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Conover50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcmuenchen, Leiter Front Office at Marc Munchen, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Conover,
Thank you very much for taking the time to put your review on TripAdvisor. I am very pleasantly surprised that our hotel would be 5 stars rating in the US! Thank you so much for this kind compliment, we very much appreciate it.
We are happy you enjoyed our large breakfast buffet and think it is AMAZING with capital letters =) Thank you very much for you kind word towards our staff, too.

Munich is an expensive city, but we certainly do hope you will consider staying with us again for future Munich trips.

Kind regards

Veronika Fruth and the hotel marc munich**** team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews