We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish & comfortable hotel”
Review of Marc Munchen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marc Munchen
Ranked #7 of 390 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in early August.

As others have stated, it is in an excellent location if arriving by train to the main train station. This is also useful for getting the S-bahn or U-bahn around the city or to its outskirts, as well as to the airport. Lots of people mentioned being uncomfortable with the location, but although there were lots of people hanging around, it wasn't a problem. The street has other hotels/youth hostels, so there are other people around and it is well-lit. It's certainly not a pretty area, but it never felt unsafe. It is about a 15 minute walk to Marienplatz.

As for the hotel, it is clear that it has been recently refurbished. The style is very modern, but still very comfortable. The beds were good quality, the bathroom was clean and spacious and the air-conditioning worked well. There were plenty of plug-sockets for charging electronic devices. The wi-fi was very patchy on our first day, but it improved after that. The hotel was very quiet. It was only at breakfast time that you realised how busy it really was!

The breakfast was excellent. The dining room was spacious & stylish and the staff were very efficient and unobtrusive. There was a very good selection of food, both hot and cold and plenty of variety. The food was continually refilled, so that there was plenty for everyone, no matter how close to the end of breakfast. The hotel also has a water fountain in the lobby which was useful for refilling water bottles.

Overall, it was a great hotel & I would happily stay there again, if visiting Munich.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank gcni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcmuenchen, Leiter Front Office at Marc Munchen, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you for your kind feedback. I am glad you describe the hotel’s vicinity as central, convenient and not unsafe at all.
Our hotel was renovated complete and re-opened in August 2012, so, yes, everything is quasi brand-new. We put great emphasis into design and we are happy you like the outcome very much. Thank you for your compliment!
Breakfast is supposed to be one of the most important meal of the day, therefore we include it into all our rates and thank you for your feedback!

We hope you will come to Munich some time again, Munich has so much to see and is always worth a trip! Then we are looking forward to welcoming you back in our hotel marc****.

Kind regards
Veronika Fruth and the hotel marc munich**** team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,823)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

851 - 857 of 1,823 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

The best hotel I stayed during the two-week holidy in Gernany. Very good location - close to central station and a great Italian restaurant just around the corner. The lobby and room are quite and clean with good tast decoration. The staff are very helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jianing W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcmuenchen, Leiter Front Office at Marc Munchen, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Jianing,
we love your kind comment on being the best hotel during your whole Germany trip! Thank you for your very kind review.
Our hotel was renovated complete and re-opened in August 2012 only, so everything is quasi brand-new! We are happy you like the outcome and design.

Should you come back to Germany and Munich again, we certainly hope to welcome you back in our hotel marc****.

Warmest regards

Veronika Fruth and the hotel marc munich**** team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Excellent hotel close to the main train station. The breakfast buffet was one of the best I've ever had in a hotel, certainly in this price bracket. Reliable high-speed WiFi included in room rate. The hotel is nice and new. The only possible drawback is the area being a bit dodgy with some curious characters hanging around the streets, being so close to the station (why do European train stations attract so many weirdos?), but the hotel itself is safe and secure. I pass through Munich a lot and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcmuenchen, Leiter Front Office at Marc Munchen, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Grüß Gott Chris,
We are happy you enjoyed the best breakfast buffet you ever had in hotel with us! Thank you very much for your great compliment.

I hope you found you new base in Munich with us and we are already looking forward to your future stays in our house!

Regards

Veronika Fruth and the hotel marc munich**** team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This hotel is located really close the main station which great for transport links such as the trams,u-bahn and s-bahn. Stayed here for two nights and really enjoyed out stay. The room was clean and nice and quiet overlooking the inner courtyard. The breakfast was really good with a great spread. The furnishing and aesthetics of the hotel were great and the staff were all very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Burntoast0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcmuenchen, Leiter Front Office at Marc Munchen, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you for your smashing review! We are happy you were enjoyed yourself in our hotel marc**** and were profiting from the central location of our house: most sights are in walking distance + you have the best connections for public transport as well as national and international trains at the Munich Center Station.
Thank you for your kind words towards our staff, too. Even if self-evidently we are happy you found it mentionable.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back and do hope you won’t be too long!

Best regards

Veronika Fruth and the hotel marc munich**** team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I arrived to Munich by train which made it extremely easy to access the hotel. However, as many others have said before, the people around the hotel are questionable and while nothing was ever said or done to me, I was very uncomfortable coming and going from the hotel. When I asked the front desk upon check-in if the hotel was safe, the man laughed at me and said, "Everybody asks that." I however didn't get an answer. If you can look past the people outside, the hotel is quite nice. The decor was great, both in the lobby and in the room. My room was a great size, bed comfortable, room was very quiet. They are very into scents at the hotel so there were diffuser sticks in the bathroom and spray for your pillows to help you sleep. I am someone who doesn't like to have my room cleaned while I am traveling so I asked for my room not to be cleaned and was told that was impossible, they must be allowed in. I have never had that happen before. I let them in one day out of the 5 I was there. The wifi while free was not great. I lost connections often, sometimes within a minute of logging on. There was also a filter on their system and it denied me access to a People Magazine story. There was nothing inappropriate about the article in anyway that would deem it blockable. That was a first for me in any hotel.
Breakfast was fantastic, huge spread, lots of choices, something for everyone.
I like to walk rather than take subways and trams everywhere. I was easily able to walk everywhere I needed to go.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank malakialj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcmuenchen, Leiter Front Office at Marc Munchen, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you for your detailed feedback. We are happy you enjoyed your stay in our hotel marc**** itself very much.
You are right, the area around the hotel, respectively the Main Train Station, is not Munich’s best, but I believe this is the same case in all big cities. I am sorry you felt uncomfortable in the hotel’s surroundings, but I want to assure you there is no need to really, Munich is a very safe city, one of the safest in Europe. Please forgive my colleague from front desk for his “joke”, I am sure it was not offered in the right moment. Though what he meant is only is the same I told you just now: Munich is safe, in all parts. Furthermore, you can leave this certain part behind you in a 5 minutes’ walk to the pedestrian area; there Munich is showing herself from her best side! Anyways you can do most sights by foot, thanks to the central location of our house, as you already mentioned.
Thank you for understanding that we need to check the rooms during a guests stay, especially when staying 5 nights, which is rather a long time regarding city hotels.
Me, too, do not understand the blockade of “People Magazine story”, I will forward this to IT, they should check and thank you very much for this notice.

We hope to be your first choice in hotels again for future Munich visits. We would be happy to be able to welcome you soon again.

All the best and kind regards

Veronika Fruth and the hotel marc munich**** team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Good location. Even though our room was overlooking the street it was quiet at night. Lovely clean spacious rooms. Excellent breakfast-lots of fresh fruit and lots of choice. Staff very nice! Would definitely stay again next time we are in Munich

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank claired1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcmuenchen, Leiter Front Office at Marc Munchen, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you for your lovely review! We are happy everything was fine and you enjoyed your stay in our hotel marc**** including our tasty breakfast buffet.
All our rooms have very good and new (2012) sound proof windows, as well as air condition. Guests staying with us in rooms facing the street should not have any problems with street noise despite being located right at the Main Train Station.

We definitely are looking forward to welcoming you back in Munich and our hotel marc****!

Best regards
Veronika Fruth and the hotel marc munich**** team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed at the Marc Muenchen in July. Our room was comfortable and clean and air conditioned with a very modern bathroom. I cannot say enough about the breakfast bar - plenty of choices for every taste and all was extremely good!!! The staff was friendly. Easy walk to the train station, and to the Marionplatz area. We had a wonderful stay. Well worth the price.

Room Tip: We had an upgraded room - very comfortable and modern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcmuenchen, Leiter Front Office at Marc Munchen, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Debbie,
thank you for your nice rating. I am happy you had an excellent stay with us and enjoyed our delicious breakfast buffet. We always try to satisfy all possible tastes and therefore we offer a large variety of fresh and high quality products, including a cooking station where we prepare egg dishes in front of our guests’ eyes!

We would be happy to welcome you back soon.
All the best and warmest regards from Munich

Veronika Fruth and the hotel marc munich**** team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#9 of 390 in Munich
1,243 reviews
0.9 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#14 of 390 in Munich
2,097 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Laimer Hof
Hotel Laimer Hof
#1 of 390 in Munich
2,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#15 of 390 in Munich
620 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
1.9 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#4 of 390 in Munich
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marc Munchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marc Munchen

Address: Senefelderstrasse 12, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#5 Business Hotel in Munich
#8 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £103 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marc Munchen 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glad to see that you are interested in our boutique design hotel marc munich! We offer 80 ultra-modern, superbly equipped double rooms. Discover our emotionally appealing rooms and refresh yourself under your big rain shower. Once you have visited our recommended breakfast buffet in our large bright breakfast room, thanks to our central location, you have easy access to all interesting places in and around Munich. For dinner, we are happy to recommend the most known beer garden in Munich nearby or any other recommendable restaurant around fitting the food direction of your choice. Our breakfast buffet is included in the room rate. Ideal is our location in the very centre of Munich just opposite of the train station. Hotel is 100 % fully air-conditioned (window can be opened) and 100 % Non smoking. We offer free Highspeed Wifi in the entire Hotel and a great nice crew - We look forward to meeting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Marc Munchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mark Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing