We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet location”
Review of Hotel Carmen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Carmen
Ranked #227 of 389 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed 2 December 2011

A Nice hotel in a quiet courtyard away from the noise,Very pleasant and helpfull staff,Rooms basic but clean,only a 10 minute walk from the S/U bahn station in Harras and a few shops close by.Breakfast was ample with a good variety and filling.There is a Indian Restuarant within the Hotel which does serve just beer if you dont want a meal.Would certainly Recomend.

Room Tip: All rooms non smoking and some are in a annexe with limited lift access but only 3 storeys high.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2011

My husband and I stayed at Top Hotel Carmen for the opening weekend of Oktoberfest. The hotel was located conveniently near the sub station which was an easy walk. Safe neighborhood. Very pleasant staff. The rooms were simple yet clean. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hcn10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We stayed in this hotel in Aug.'11..The reception staff was very warm. Breakfast had lots of variety with hot tea/coffee....It was about 10 min walk from the subway and suburban train station, so very convenient. We really liked the convenience of subways and trains in Munich..The only negative thing was that it didn't have air conditioning and some nights were really uncomfortable.. I would pay a little more and find a hotel with a/c next time..But overall, it was good value for money.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
1  Thank ND1803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

This is a nice hotel, in a residential area, where you can also find some other hotels. The entrance is in a courtyard, away from the noisy road , making sleeping conditions excellent.
The breakfast bufet is plentifull and has a big variety(both cold and hot dishes). The hotel has also a restaurant that serves international cuisine and has good quality.
Metro station(Haras) is less than 5 minutes walking.
The people in the reception can arrange you a day trip to Bavarian Castles and the Bavarian Lakes.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank XRISTINA77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

Good hotel with very friendly staff. Free Wifi with good signal. Nearest metro station in 200m.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iideetee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

We Stayed for 2 nights in June 11, Myself, my wife and 10 month old Daughter, Having arrived at Munich Airport the TAXI to the Hotel cost approx 75 Euro's, Wish i'd done research as a train ticket for the family only cost 20 Euro's for the return trip and Harras Station ( U-Bahn & S-Bahn) is only approx 300m from the hotel.

We arived at Hotel Carmen at approx 9am, very quick reception, a non smoking room with a baby bed (travel cot) at no extra cost had been pre booked via e-mail and was all in place, we were even given a free upgrade to give a bit more room for the baby! The receptionist was very friendly and spoke perfect english and was understanding of my limited German vocabulary!

Our room was in a clean and tidy condition, although decor is not new, we noted no damage or stains ect and were more than happy to stay in the room provided, Likewise the toilet/bathroom was clean and fresh, soap & shower gel provided, but not all of the usuall single use toiletries one has come to expect. No Kettle was in the room when we arived, however one was quickly provided at no extra cost when requested.

Flat Screen TV was in the room (BBC World 24 only english chanel) I was able to connect my portable DVD player to the tv for evening entertainment.

A supermarket and off licence is located approx 200m if you turn left out of the hotel along with a italian cafe (very nice Pizza & beer) and a chemist should it be required.

The Hotel Staff were happy for us to come and go throughout the day, we did use the Indian Resturant which is in the hotel (Sub Let I believe), the food was ok but I considered it to be over priced, However the Manager was helpful and understanding of my daughter who decided to scream from the moment our food was served!

Breakfast was comprehensive, I was supprised how much was on offer excellent value and good quality!

On the final day our flight home was at 22:00hrs the Hotel was happy for us to check out at 14:00hrs and lookafter our luggage if we wanted to go out for the afternoon before headding to the airport.

Overall I Highly recomend the Hotel Carmen for Business or pleasure!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy7615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2011

We were very astonished to find such a hotel in the middle of Munich and we will be back for sure! It is nice and clean and affordable and very close to the Underground which takes you all over Munich. I read in another review that someone was complaining about a missing view !? You might not have a view but you can tell that by looking at the location and it is so nice and quiet there: try to find that again in a hotel right in the middle of a town like Munich! We found the staff to be very friendly and polite and we enjoyed the breakfast. So for us we know where to go to in Munich when we need a hotel where we feel at home!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gingi58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
5.5 mi away
Mercure Hotel Munchen Ost-Messe
0.1 mi away
Rivoli Hotel
Rivoli Hotel
#196 of 389 in Munich
284 reviews
8.4 mi away
Novum Hotel Seidlhof Munchen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich - Westpark
9.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe
1.7 mi away
Best Western Atrium Hotel
Best Western Atrium Hotel
#145 of 389 in Munich
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carmen

Address: Hansastr. 146, 81373 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #227 of 389 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: £52 - £409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Carmen 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Munich
Munich Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing