We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth getting a 5 star from TripAdvisor”
Review of Hotel Carmen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Carmen
Ranked #193 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed 4 July 2012

The location was at the heart of the citybut I was sorry to see the entrance of the hotel.The view from my hotel room was a courtyard, rather a car park.

The room was alright wsith all the essential furniture. The bathroom was small and the uncovered glaring bulbs were an eye sore. never seen mud coloured towels in good hotels in my life.

The receptionists were dumb and some were not helpful.No fan s were provided although it was very hot.

The only good thing about the hotel was the breakfast spread aand the indian hotel "Mehfil".

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mukherjeeparamita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Carmen
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2012

This is not a 4* hotel, it is a 2* hotel.
There is a horrible smell when you get in the hotel (of dust and dirt), the carpets are incredibly dirty, also the rooms are not cleaned properly.
Do youselves a favor and avoid it!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 77c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

The free wifi is what brought me to Hotel Carmen. Overall the hotel was very good with breakfast being excellent. The room was small as expected in Europe, but clean and comfy. The hotel is set back from the road so street noise was not a problem (although it was winter and the windows were closed). The staff was very helpful.

The only down sides were it's a bit out of the city center, although an easy S-bahn or U-bahn ride a way. The walls were thin and I could hear my neighbors. Luckily I only had one neighbor and they matched my schedule, but this could have been very bad.

Room Tip: I had room 301 which only had one room adjoining it, which was nice because the walls were thin and...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkFromDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

We stayed here to visit the Christmas markets and were so pleased to find such a lovely little hotel in Munich. It is a 5 minute walk from the train station and within 10 minutes you are right in the centre. The room was clean and cosy, even though it was cold outside the room was lovely and warm. The staff were great, really friendly and helpful. They let us leave our bags on the last day as our flight wasn't until late. Breakfast was really good with lots of variety and plenty of tea and coffee. Felt at home here straight away and would definately stay here again and recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCS82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

A Nice hotel in a quiet courtyard away from the noise,Very pleasant and helpfull staff,Rooms basic but clean,only a 10 minute walk from the S/U bahn station in Harras and a few shops close by.Breakfast was ample with a good variety and filling.There is a Indian Restuarant within the Hotel which does serve just beer if you dont want a meal.Would certainly Recomend.

Room Tip: All rooms non smoking and some are in a annexe with limited lift access but only 3 storeys high.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

My husband and I stayed at Top Hotel Carmen for the opening weekend of Oktoberfest. The hotel was located conveniently near the sub station which was an easy walk. Safe neighborhood. Very pleasant staff. The rooms were simple yet clean. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hcn10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We stayed in this hotel in Aug.'11..The reception staff was very warm. Breakfast had lots of variety with hot tea/coffee....It was about 10 min walk from the subway and suburban train station, so very convenient. We really liked the convenience of subways and trains in Munich..The only negative thing was that it didn't have air conditioning and some nights were really uncomfortable.. I would pay a little more and find a hotel with a/c next time..But overall, it was good value for money.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
1  Thank ND1803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Rivoli Hotel
Rivoli Hotel
#203 of 385 in Munich
279 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich - Westpark
5.5 mi away
Mercure Hotel Munchen Ost-Messe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ambiance Rivoli
Ambiance Rivoli
#128 of 385 in Munich
350 reviews
1.8 mi away
Germania Hotel
Germania Hotel
#156 of 385 in Munich
684 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ibis Muenchen City West
Ibis Muenchen City West
#73 of 385 in Munich
1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carmen

Address: Hansastr. 146, 81373 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #193 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: £56 - £397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Carmen 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Munich
Munich Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing