We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff”
Review of Platzl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Platzl Hotel
Ranked #14 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
110 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great staff”
Reviewed 10 December 2011

This is all about location in Munich, so central you are just off the Marienplatz square, and yet all is quiet for a good nights sleep. Yet for a top quality hotel to only have "provide your own ethernet cable" for internet access; no wifi in the room and at a cost of 22 euros to connect we felt not worth it for only a short time to check email etc. And the iPad could not be used in the room only in the lobby and for 9 euros!! Woefully behind.
Yet the staff was fantastic very friendly and helpful. The room was very tiny but comfortable a very standard hotel room plan, bath in front room with one window. Good linens on the bed but a few towels were a bit worn. We had a great time though good staff and comfortable bed and bath is all that matters in a good hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tuxedoSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,898 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,181
    580
    89
    33
    15
See reviews for
328
831
153
293
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

I have traveled all over the world and have been to hundreds of different hotels. I usually never write negative reviews.
I needed a hotel close to Marienplatz for a business reason. Platzl hotel, while greatly located is just an average hotel. Nice, but average.
Pros: Location, location, location - really hard to beat.
Pretty inexpensive wired Internet at 4 euro a day
Pretty nice breakfast.
Nice modern bathroom.
Pretty nice bedroom.
Nice and friendly personnel.
Very clean and well taken care of.
Cons: The serious problem to me was that they lock the ventilation controls for a winter time. It gets really stuffy in the room, unless one opens the window. Opening the window brings fresh air, but it is so loud outside during a whole night that it is almost impossible to sleep. They try to force you to book a quieter room looking inside their court, but charge you handsomely for that option. On my first night, I could not almost sleep at all!
Also, their "large double room" is really pretty small even by European standards.
The "large bed" is made of two single beds splitting apart if you get in the middle of it.

Overall, it is just an OK hotel with a great location. Kempinsky nearby was a bit better.
Munich was beautiful, though, rainy/snowy but beautiful.

Room Tip: If you don't want to visit a restaurant, there is a food store just two blocks down towards Mari...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IgorCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HILLSBOROUGH
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2011

My husband and I spent 5 nights at the Platzl while visiting the Christmas markets. We chose the Platzl because of its great location in the City Center. We were not disappointed. The location is close to Marienplatz and the U-bahn and S-bahn stations. It is also close to many interesting and beautiful historic sites - not the least of which is Am Platzl, one of the loveliest little squares I have ever seen in Europe.

The hotel staff is friendly, helpful and welcoming - they were always so happy to help us figure out the best way to get from one place to another and to explain the various nuances of the transportation system.

The rooms were large (for a European hotel) super clean. They seemed to be freshly remodeled. The bathroom was spotless. The room service was prompt and the food delicious.

And speaking of delicious, the breakfast buffet is amazing - eggs, bacon, various German sausages, many flavors of yogurt, cereal, granola, fresh fruit, waffles, pastries, lox, breads, veggies, coffee, tea, fresh juice, sparkling wine - a fabulous assortment.

Yes, the Platzl is right across from the Hofbrauhaus and we were serenaded to sleep each night by revelers but if you ask for a room away from the Hofbrauhaus, it is hardly noticeable. And once you close the window, you can't hear a thing. In fact, for a big city hotel, the Platzl is amazingly quiet at night.

We highly recommend the Platzl.

Room Tip: Unless you like hearing drinking songs at high volume - ask for a room away from the Hofbrauhaus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chrises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West sussex
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

Took my daughter to see the Christmas Markets in Munich for 3 nights and decided to stay at the Platzl because of all the great reviews. We were not let down.
We took the S1 train from the airport to the Marienplatz (euros10) and the hotel is about 5 minutes walk. Check in was quick and easy with a warm welcome. I booked a quite room at the back and had no problem with noise. The room was clean and plenty big enough for 2 people. The safe was in good working order as was everything else. The bed was comfortable I didn't like the pillows but my daughter did! Would have liked some English channels on the TV. I have no complaints about the bathroom.
The reception staff were really friendly and helpful, they answered all our questions and gave us maps and information all with a lovely smile. The location couldn't be better, it was so easy to pop back with our purchases.
The Breakfast buffet was super with everything you could want even fizzy wine!! and again very friendly efficient staff.
my daughter was a bit fed up there wasn't any Wifi I found it quite refreshing not seeing her tx every 5 minutes!! There is an internet room in reception.
We both felt very comfortable in this hotel and would definitely recommend you stay there.

Room Tip: book a quite room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reallylv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potomac, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We stayed at Platzl Hotel in June 2011. The location is great. We had made a reservation in March for a none smoking and a quiet room for 5 nights. The reservation was confirmed described as Large Double Room/app.28sqm,bathtub,safe,double bed 2X2 10m,sep.sitting area,a/c. When we arrived they said we had a choice of smoking room in quiet location or none smoking room facing the street. I have an asthma and cannot be in the smoking room so we had to take the room facing the street. The first night we both worked up around 4am the room was hot that we had to opened the windows but the noise on the street was so loud we could not go back to sleep. We told the front desk on the way out for the day that the air condition was not working. When we came back she told us that one of them went up and said the room was not hot. Ofcourse we had left the windows opened that why the room was cold. Second night was the same thing the room was too hot we had to opened the windows and could not sleep due to noises on the street. The next morning we were in a hurry to catched a tour bus so we could not stopped at the desk but we told them on our way back. Our third nights we could not sleep at all since we had to opened the windows and the noise outside was terrible. In the morning I came down and let them knew that we did not sleep for three nights already and could not have another two nights without any sleep. We were truly needed the sleep. I made sure they knew I have an asthma and could not be in the smoking room. They said they will moved us. When we came back from the day trip we were moved to a much smaller room (which we did not mind) but it was a smoking room. The room was quite so we left the windows opened and able to had some sleep. The staff were nice and the breakfast was very good. The hotels has limit quiet rooms so many rooms are facing the street which is very noisy. If you re going to stay here don't pay more for the bigger room as we did since their air condition is not big enough for the room. There is no promise for which location your room will be and remember they can not move you when the hotel is full.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happytravelers1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We stayed for two nights to visit the christmas markets. The hotel was so central we could pop back to drop our bags off. We overlooked the brewery and hard rock cafe... yes it was a little noisy at times but really nothing to concern us and we had two very good nights sleep. Please do not listen to travellers who complain about the noise it is part of munich and we enjoyed watching everyone out of the window. The room was very comfortable. Breakfast was great with very good selection to suit everyone. All staff smiled and would say hello and were very helpful and were always on hand to help. We would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper then do ask if you can sleep the other side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WARBENN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunn Loring, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

My wife and I stayed here two nights in late August. While some of the prior reviews took issue with room location, street noise, etc., we have no such complaints. Everything about this hotel seemed "right" for us. First, it's within very easy 5-10 minute walk from the MarienPlatz stop for the train from the Munich Airport. We arrived early morning (as evidently all USA East Coast flights do) and our room was available within an hour of us arriving at the hotel. While waiting for the room to be readied,We killed time by walking back to the MarienPlatz to one of the many nearby outdoor cafes and having coffee and pastries. Our room turned out to be very large (especially by European standards), and the bathroom was also far larger than normal. Everything was spotlessly clean throughout. Though the Hofbrau Haus is (thank you Lord) literally next door, we had no problem with nighttime noise. The lobby bar has a great bartender who is an engaging personality. The front desk staff are all very courteous and helpful. Breakfast buffet was extensive, fresh and tasty. Perhaps best of all, you can walk to an incredible array of excellent and reasonably priced restaurants, bars, beer gardens, and noteable sights, and as noted the U-Bahn Station is aonly a 5-minute walk from the Platzl.. There's a very good Tourist Info office in the MarienPlatz which offers informative walking tours with English-speaking guides at a very modest cost per person....we took a 4-hour tour which ended up lasting almost 5 hours because we were in a small (6 people) group, so the guide was more than willing to answer all our questions and give us as many details as possible regarding the sites we visited. If you can't have a good time in Munich, you can't have a good time anywhere. And the Platzl Hotel is a reasonably priced and very comfortable place to serve as your base of operations. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EORII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.9 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#12 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
0.2 mi away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#15 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
CORTIINA Hotel
CORTIINA Hotel
#13 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
0.8 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Platzl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Platzl Hotel

Property: Platzl Hotel
Address: Sparkassenstrasse 10, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#6 Family Hotel in Munich
#9 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#12 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Platzl Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You place great importance on quality and want to be right in the middle of Munich's city life? Then Platzl Hotel Munich and its culinary offerings are the address for you. This traditional four-star Superior Hotel and its two popular restaurants - the Pfistermuhle and Wirtshaus Ayingers - are located in the heart of Munich's old city, right beside the famous Hofbrauhaus. And just a short walk from the Marienplatz, the Bavarian State Opera, Maximilianstrasse and Viktualienmarkt. The Inselkammer family and its team combine Bavarian hospitality and traditional style elements with a modern lifestyle and state-of-the-art technology. It begins with a warm welcome in the foyer, continues through the 167 guest rooms and only ends when you leave Munich through the city's historic quarter. This combination of tradition and modernity also creates the ideal setting for private celebrations such as birthdays or weddings, but also conferences and seminars. Your visit should also include a taste of the culinary offerings at our two restaurants - because gastronomy has a long tradition at the Platzl. As early as the beginning of the last century, the Platzl stage was graced not just by cabaret giants such as Karl Valentin. Good Bavarian food also made repeat appearances, being served to guests before and after the performances. Today, the Pfistermuhle is synonymous with sophisticated Bavarian cuisine - at Munich's only preserved city mill. Since the year 2000, people from Munich and elsewhere have enjoyed the hearty regional dishes at Wirtshaus Ayingers, which is next door, while the charming stores and eateries in the "Platzlgassen" add to the lively atmosphere in the Platzl. Our outside bar the Platzl Karree presents a unique bar concept in Munich's old town. Because of the stylish and yet down-to-earth design the fine balancing act between tradition and modernity with the Platzl Karree is perfectly realized. The dominating colors anthracite with burgundy and the dark parquet flooring create a bar to relax and enjoy. In the new Josefa Bar & Kaffee we serve locally produced unique spirits, cool beverages with herbs freshly from the Viktualien market and own cocktail creations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Platzl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Platzl Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing