We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent choice in Munich” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Platzl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Platzl Hotel
Ranked #16 of 381 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent choice in Munich”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

I have been to Munich several times. This is an amazing boutique hotel in the heart of downtown Munich. One block from the famous Hofbrauhaus, the Marienplatz and fabulous shopping. I love this hotel for many reasons. The staff is very friendly (speaks fluent English) and dresses in traditional tracht. The rooms are clean and more spacious than traditional European hotels. The bar is very cozy and a place you will want to end your night. Order the Cremisan white dry wine. Quite the treat.

Room Tip: Wifi is limited to certain rooms. There is a charge too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveMile26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,859 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,160
    567
    86
    32
    14
See reviews for
324
807
153
290
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

My wife and I have stayed at the Platzl twice, 16 years apart. The hotel has been nicely updated; otherwise not much has changed. Same great location, same superb breakfast buffet, same friendly service. Our superior double facing on the small courtyard was comfortable, roomy and dead quiet. Do not get a room facing the Hofbrauhaus, as previous reviewers have warned. Yet, the namesake "platzl" (little plaza) itself, around the corner, is quite nice, dominated by the touristy crowds of the Hofbrauhaus on one end and on the other the restaurant and shops of top chef Alfons Schuhbeck's foodie empire. The hotel's lack of free wi-fi was a nuisance, and its "modernish Bavarianish" room decor and all-brown lobby are not our style. The bathroom's wall-mounted soap dispensers, while doubtless hygenic, are not four-star classy. Overall, the Platzl is a sound choice. Its location, comfort, friendliness and all-world breakfast recommend it.

Room Tip: While we sprang for the more expensive quiet double, a standard room probably would have been fine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank parkhill24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012 via mobile

Only downside was that wi Fi was not free, 22 euro per day
Too expensive shoul be free
Maybe increase room rate and provide free wi fi

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GarryBradd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

I can ditto the preceding reviews having atayed here many times over the years. I love the ambiance, proximity to zentrum, service, fruhstuck, garage, in effect everything..... BUT....NO WIFI in the rooms and if you want to subscribe to WIFI in the 'public 'areas then it costs about 22 euros per day. They will, they say re-visit the problem next year when their 'present contract' ends.
It won't prevent me from staying there but I will be happier when they come 'up to date'.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nycrvc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

The staff is very kind, always smiling and ready to satisfy the requests.
The "comfort room" is spacious (with a separate wardrobe space) and clean, the towels set is complete, the room service is fast.
The breakfast buffet is generous and high in quality.
Last but not least, the hotel is in an excellent position, just three minutes from Marienplatz, in the center of the center of the city.
Should I be back in Munich, I'd come back in this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

Very central hotel near Marienplatz and Viktualienmarkt. Plenty of quality bierhouses and restaurants nearby. Quite good breakfast including free weisswurst, eggs and some hot foods. Room was not big but OK, enough comfortable. Good view of Munich's building and church roofs from the room. I recommend this hotel for a touristic or business trip in the city.

Room Tip: Ask an upper floor room to have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MypatBobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

I stayed here for just one night. It's nice. Location is fantastic in the middle of the old city. Staff are outstanding, very friendly and helpful with a great attitude. Lobby is gorgeous. Rooms fair size, bed very comfortable. Smallish bathroom. I usually stay at the sofitel but like the Platzl better.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.9 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#7 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,381 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#12 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
0.2 mi away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#13 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
0.1 mi away
CORTIINA Hotel
CORTIINA Hotel
#15 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Platzl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Platzl Hotel

Property: Platzl Hotel
Address: Sparkassenstrasse 10, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#6 Family Hotel in Munich
#10 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#12 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Platzl Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You place great importance on quality and want to be right in the middle of Munich's city life? Then Platzl Hotel Munich and its culinary offerings are the address for you. This traditional four-star Superior Hotel and its two popular restaurants - the Pfistermuhle and Wirtshaus Ayingers - are located in the heart of Munich's old city, right beside the famous Hofbrauhaus. And just a short walk from the Marienplatz, the Bavarian State Opera, Maximilianstrasse and Viktualienmarkt. The Inselkammer family and its team combine Bavarian hospitality and traditional style elements with a modern lifestyle and state-of-the-art technology. It begins with a warm welcome in the foyer, continues through the 167 guest rooms and only ends when you leave Munich through the city's historic quarter. This combination of tradition and modernity also creates the ideal setting for private celebrations such as birthdays or weddings, but also conferences and seminars. Your visit should also include a taste of the culinary offerings at our two restaurants - because gastronomy has a long tradition at the Platzl. As early as the beginning of the last century, the Platzl stage was graced not just by cabaret giants such as Karl Valentin. Good Bavarian food also made repeat appearances, being served to guests before and after the performances. Today, the Pfistermuhle is synonymous with sophisticated Bavarian cuisine - at Munich's only preserved city mill. Since the year 2000, people from Munich and elsewhere have enjoyed the hearty regional dishes at Wirtshaus Ayingers, which is next door, while the charming stores and eateries in the "Platzlgassen" add to the lively atmosphere in the Platzl. Our outside bar the Platzl Karree presents a unique bar concept in Munich's old town. Because of the stylish and yet down-to-earth design the fine balancing act between tradition and modernity with the Platzl Karree is perfectly realized. The dominating colors anthracite with burgundy and the dark parquet flooring create a bar to relax and enjoy. In the new Josefa Bar & Kaffee we serve locally produced unique spirits, cool beverages with herbs freshly from the Viktualien market and own cocktail creations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Platzl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Platzl Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing