We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Hotel and Stay”
Review of Platzl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Platzl Hotel
Ranked #14 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing Hotel and Stay”
Reviewed 26 September 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Platzl Hotel for part of our honeymoon and we loved it. The location is totally ideal, right in the city center -- walking distance to the Marienplatz was about two minutes, we shared a block with the Hofbrauhaus and other great bars and restaurants, and were within easy distance of all the best sights. The hotel itself was beautiful, with a charming exterior, glamorous lobby area, and a nice, clean, big room and bathroom. The amenities were great and the staff was very helpful and friendly. There is an underground attached garage, which was convenient since we arrived by rental car and directions/arrival/check in were easy. The breakfast buffet was AMAZING -- best I've ever had, in a beautiful dining room with every breakfast food you could think of. There are only two potential negatives for this hotel: one is the fact that it was expensive, especially with the American Dollar to Euro ratio, but this was totally understandable. Also, the amazing location can also be a curse at night, since it is in the heart of all Munich's nightlife. Every night, even on weekdays, we could hear chanting, cheering crowds of drunken people roaming the streets till the wee hours like 4 am (do the bars never close?). It wasn't too hard to sleep through since we were on one of the higher floors, and it was kind of fun/charming, but I highly recommend sensitive or light sleepers bring earplugs to solve this problem. Other than that it was a perfect stay, and I would definitely recommend the Platzl Hotel and plan on returning one day.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allyneale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,898 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,181
    580
    89
    33
    15
See reviews for
328
831
153
293
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We stayed 2 nights at hotel Platzl in July 2012. Had a “quiet” room facing courtyard, did not have much of a view but it was very generous in size with two windows and nice bathroom. Did not hear any noise from the outside. Over all hotel is clean and very well kept. Breakfast was included with the room rate and was plentiful with very good selection of eggs, meats, cheeses, fresh fruit, cereal, pastries and your other typical breakfast goodies. Service at the front desk was very polite and efficient. You can print your airline boarding pass on computer in the lobby. Can’t beat hotel location, only a few steps from Marien Platz and all other main attractions of Old Town. Would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms facing court yard less noisy. If room size is important, upgrade from standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snubes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summit, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Clean rooms, feel like home, stuff is very friendly and willing to help you; location is great - close proximity to everything you'd want to see; breakfast has a wide variety to choose from. Internet room is available - has only one computer though.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VladZ107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012 via mobile

We stayed 6 nights at the Platz at the beginning of September. We had a nice room, the service was good and the breakfast fantastic with lots of choices. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the metro and the pedestrian center. We had asked for a quiet room and were slightly concerned when we arrived because the room faced an interior delivery area for the restaurant. But, the room was quiet and we were happy. We had a great stay at the Platz and would recommend to everyone.

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
Thank DFHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

The Platzl is in a perfect location, and the hotel itself is quite nice and a good deal. And if they don't steal from you and hang back up from the floor dirty towels, I would recommend it.

My wife had a makeup compact taken from the bathroom while we were out for the day. We have never, ever accused anyone of something like this, but there is really no doubt that the makeup was stolen. On top of that, the towels we left on the floor were just hung back up rather than replaced (my wife's eyeliner -- the one stolen actually -- was still on the towels).

We told the front desk about this and they acted very concerned and said they would email us about it, as we were checking out that day. This never happened. After receiving an email request from the hotel to write them up on TripAdvisor (you're welcome, Platzl), I reminded them of our issue. No response.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JosephJFK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

There is NEVER one complaint when we have stayed at the Platzl. We have stayed there at least ten times! The location is wonderful, close to MarienPlatz and very close to the S Bahn. The staff is very friendly and helpful. They sold us tickets for the S Bahn, mailed letters and gave wonderful advice and directions to where we wanted to go. The breakfast is wonderful; in a very beautiful dining room. The wait staff was very friendly and prompt with our coffee. (Very important to me!) The rooms were clean and very comfortable. So many wonderful restaurants near by - hard to pick! Susan from Madison, Wisconsin

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

It was reall;y amazing when i found out how convenient this hotel is - just 2-3 mins walk from Marienplatz! I booked a room with queen bed to have better sleep, and turn out the room is very comfy. It's not big (22 sq.m) but has everything you need. Staff are generally friendly and helpful, except there was one that i borrowed the adapter with seems a but round in his tone. Breakfast is okay, could be better if the waitresses have more smiles.

Overall i like this hotel and would recommend it to my frds.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cymia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.9 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#12 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
0.2 mi away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#15 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
CORTIINA Hotel
CORTIINA Hotel
#13 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
0.8 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Platzl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Platzl Hotel

Property: Platzl Hotel
Address: Sparkassenstrasse 10, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#6 Family Hotel in Munich
#9 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#12 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Platzl Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You place great importance on quality and want to be right in the middle of Munich's city life? Then Platzl Hotel Munich and its culinary offerings are the address for you. This traditional four-star Superior Hotel and its two popular restaurants - the Pfistermuhle and Wirtshaus Ayingers - are located in the heart of Munich's old city, right beside the famous Hofbrauhaus. And just a short walk from the Marienplatz, the Bavarian State Opera, Maximilianstrasse and Viktualienmarkt. The Inselkammer family and its team combine Bavarian hospitality and traditional style elements with a modern lifestyle and state-of-the-art technology. It begins with a warm welcome in the foyer, continues through the 167 guest rooms and only ends when you leave Munich through the city's historic quarter. This combination of tradition and modernity also creates the ideal setting for private celebrations such as birthdays or weddings, but also conferences and seminars. Your visit should also include a taste of the culinary offerings at our two restaurants - because gastronomy has a long tradition at the Platzl. As early as the beginning of the last century, the Platzl stage was graced not just by cabaret giants such as Karl Valentin. Good Bavarian food also made repeat appearances, being served to guests before and after the performances. Today, the Pfistermuhle is synonymous with sophisticated Bavarian cuisine - at Munich's only preserved city mill. Since the year 2000, people from Munich and elsewhere have enjoyed the hearty regional dishes at Wirtshaus Ayingers, which is next door, while the charming stores and eateries in the "Platzlgassen" add to the lively atmosphere in the Platzl. Our outside bar the Platzl Karree presents a unique bar concept in Munich's old town. Because of the stylish and yet down-to-earth design the fine balancing act between tradition and modernity with the Platzl Karree is perfectly realized. The dominating colors anthracite with burgundy and the dark parquet flooring create a bar to relax and enjoy. In the new Josefa Bar & Kaffee we serve locally produced unique spirits, cool beverages with herbs freshly from the Viktualien market and own cocktail creations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Platzl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Platzl Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing