We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect base for exploring Munich.”
Review of Platzl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Platzl Hotel
Ranked #13 of 390 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Spent four nights at the Platzl hotel and couldn't fault the place. The Staff are fantastic - always good-humoured, and our room was spotless. The breakfast was one of the most relaxing and comprehensive we've experienced. WiFi available everywhere (although you have to use a different, fiddly password every 24 hours). Location us great. We would have liked a kettle in the bedroom but otherwise we loved the place and wouldn't look anywhere else next time.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pentetetra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,080)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

957 - 963 of 2,080 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2012

The big advantage of this hotel is its location, which is in the very heart of Munich. Service all the way through was swift, efficient and friendly. This applies in particular to the reception staff but also to the staff in the breakfast room and other.

My room was spacious, well equipped and with all amenities one would expect plus some nice small extras.Sound insulation by windows and doors was very good which provided for a good and undisturbed sleep. I did like the bath room and the bed was comfortable. Cleanliness was good. The design of the room and all of the hotel was very old-fashioned and nothing particular at all.

Breakfast was not outstanding but with a nice choice and quality was ok.

The only real negative aspect of the stay was a slight smell of smoke in the room which seemed to come from air-conditioning. The hotel seems to cater a lot to smokers with a cigarette dispenser right in front of the breakfast room. I don't think that this is anymore up-to-date. You should consider this if you don't like smoke or if you are travelling with young children.

Price was adequate but only in view of the very central location. If you consider staying a short taxi or underground ride away from the centre, there's a couple of hotels with better value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cocos_knight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Right in the city centre with all facilities, friendly staff ready to help.
Fantastic buffet breakfast. I was there for business but taking its location in consideration, it must be very convenient for tourism as the hotel is in the very historical area of Munich.
If you are single, ensure you get a "double room - single use" as the hotel still runs single rooms that are very small rooms with a single bed. However, the bathroom with the large shower was a kind of relief...

Room Tip: Avoid the tiny single rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leydixa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

We have stayed at the Platzl Hotel for our visits to Munich The staff have all been extremely welcoming and helpful.Their local knowledge from all of them shows that they have been trained in all aspects of hospitality.
The rooms are large enough for you to rest properly after a long journey.They are well maintained,serviced and all your needs catered for.
The location is ideal for any visit to Munich.Central to the markets,shops,restaurants and heart of the old town.Excellant in all aspects and we will return next year.

Excellent in all aspects and we will return

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
Thank BRANISLAV M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

i hvae stayed in the platzl for the second time, and it was again a pleasure. i am not particularly fond of its design but the rest is perfect: service, friendliness, location, location, location, breakfast. easy to reach by public transportation ( marienplatz one of the main crossroads), walkingdistance to all innercity touristsites like the viktualienmarkt, cityhall, shoppingstreet plus plus plus. and i guess the design is how most tourists expect a german hotel to look like :) enjoy - you will

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mini2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

If you don't smoke, be careful. When we booked the hotel through their own site over internet, we didn't see any place to choose between smoking or non smoking room. So we thought the hotel was smoking free. Big mistake!
They give us a room with a terrible smell and when we asked why, they said we must have asked for a non smoking room. The thing is that we could not find this option in the site. When my husband called the reception, asking about it, they said that they could move us to another room in the same smoking floor, because the last guest didn't smoke!!!!!!So, if you don't smoke, be careful!
In spite of it, the staff, mainly the ladies, is very helpful and the location is perfect. Also the breakfast is very good.
Unfortunately, the smell in our room, even in the pillows, was so bad that we can't forget the experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anapin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Excellent hotel, right in the heart of Munich's old city centre. The Platzl Hotel exceeded my expectations and I will be a repeat customer. The breakast and service was awesome. My room was small, but I was prepared for it, however the decor and attention to little details was a pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
1 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
0.1 mi away
CORTIINA Hotel
CORTIINA Hotel
#11 of 390 in Munich
870 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#8 of 390 in Munich
1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#7 of 390 in Munich
1,805 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen
0.8 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 390 in Munich
1,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Platzl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Platzl Hotel

Address: Sparkassenstrasse 10, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#9 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#12 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £149 - £301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Platzl Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You place great importance on quality and want to be right in the middle of Munich's city life? Then Platzl Hotel Munich and its culinary offerings are the address for you. This traditional four-star Superior Hotel and its two popular restaurants - the Pfistermuhle and Wirtshaus Ayingers - are located in the heart of Munich's old city, right beside the famous Hofbrauhaus. And just a short walk from the Marienplatz, the Bavarian State Opera, Maximilianstrasse and Viktualienmarkt. The Inselkammer family and its team combine Bavarian hospitality and traditional style elements with a modern lifestyle and state-of-the-art technology. It begins with a warm welcome in the foyer, continues through the 167 guest rooms and only ends when you leave Munich through the city's historic quarter. This combination of tradition and modernity also creates the ideal setting for private celebrations such as birthdays or weddings, but also conferences and seminars. Your visit should also include a taste of the culinary offerings at our two restaurants - because gastronomy has a long tradition at the Platzl. As early as the beginning of the last century, the Platzl stage was graced not just by cabaret giants such as Karl Valentin. Good Bavarian food also made repeat appearances, being served to guests before and after the performances. Today, the Pfistermuhle is synonymous with sophisticated Bavarian cuisine - at Munich's only preserved city mill. Since the year 2000, people from Munich and elsewhere have enjoyed the hearty regional dishes at Wirtshaus Ayingers, which is next door, while the charming stores and eateries in the "Platzlgassen" add to the lively atmosphere in the Platzl. Our outside bar the Platzl Karree presents a unique bar concept in Munich's old town. Because of the stylish and yet down-to-earth design the fine balancing act between tradition and modernity with the Platzl Karree is perfectly realized. The dominating colors anthracite with burgundy and the dark parquet flooring create a bar to relax and enjoy. In the new Josefa Bar & Kaffee we serve locally produced unique spirits, cool beverages with herbs freshly from the Viktualien market and own cocktail creations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Platzl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Platzl Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing