We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”
Review of Platzl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Platzl Hotel
Ranked #15 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We recently stayed at the Platzl Hotel at the end of our 2 week trip around Germany. The hotel is very nice and in a great location right in the middle of the old part of town. We walked to all attractions. Our room was clean and spacious and comfortable. Had trouble connecting to the Wifi but reception staff helped. Breakfast buffet was great and had a lot of choices. The only negative was we had to pay 19 euro a night to park our vehicle in the parking garage. The hotel is not cheap and parking should have been included.

Room Tip: Our room faced the courtyard and was very quiet.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schjul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,016)
There are newer reviews for Platzl Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

854 - 860 of 2,016 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2013

We recently stayed at Platzl Hotel at the beginning of our holiday in Germany, and were so impressed by the place, we decided to re-book for the extra days spent in Munich at the end of our trip too! The hotel is warm, friendly, super clean, comfortable, and has a great location right in the middle of the old town which makes it perfect for sightseeing ( and really easy to get to from the airport by train). The breakfast offered is AMAZING, with a huge range of yummy things to get your day started! Compliments to the great staff too - very well run. If you are a light sleeper (as i am), I would suggest paying a little more for a quieter room that faces the courtyard as there is a little bit of street noise from surrounding eateries. These rooms are a little bigger too which is lovely!
Great experience all round.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozzie-errol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Such a charming hotel. Our room was very clean and spacious for the location. The breakfast is excellent and a great way to start the day. The central location puts it right next to the Marionplatz and the Hofbrau Haus, yet the room was quiet. The internet service is a bit iffy - can't always get a connection and the spa has seen better days, but I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pumpkintraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

This is a lovely hotel, right in the centre of Munich, very convenient for all the tourist sights, and also handy for the S and U Bahn.

The staff are friendly and helpful, the reception staff are efficient - I checked in late, and needed to go straight out, so without a murmer, my case was whisked to my room enabling me to keep a busy time schedule.

My single room was comfortable, well insulated against noise and the weather and very well presented. A minor complaint would be that the size of the room was ok for a single, but an extra foot or so on the width would have been better.

Breakfast was a delight - the staff are well turned out in their Dirndl, and there is no mistaking that you are not in Germany, but really in Bavaria.

This will definitately be on my personal list of good places to stay in Munich.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fitzcaraldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

A wonderful hotel, great location , friendly

staff spacialy from Sarah Pfeil, wonderful breakfast,highly recommend
very clean' very near to the pedestrian mall, near to the subway train

we will stay again in this hotel for sure and recommend to other traveller.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hannyb30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Rarely have I stayed in lodging at any price point and been completely satisfied.The Platzl Staff are all Top Notch,Friendly,Efficient,always a smile,made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived.The Location is unbeatable,Marionplatze,Many,Many other attractions walking distance.Transportation a short walk to the train station.Food was excellent,rooms,very clean and well kept.Would consider this Hotel a must for any trip to Munich.Does not get any better than the Platzl.Looking forward to our return already.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dingo77a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

I have stayed at the Platzl twice on business in Munich. The location is fantastic: very near the Marienplatz and, therefore, the subway system and also near the Hofbrauhaus and open air markets. The hotel is clean and comfortable and the best thing of all may be the breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#8 of 385 in Munich
1,056 reviews
0.9 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#9 of 385 in Munich
1,666 reviews
0.1 mi away
CORTIINA Hotel
CORTIINA Hotel
#12 of 385 in Munich
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
0.2 mi away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#14 of 385 in Munich
749 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Platzl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Platzl Hotel

Address: Sparkassenstrasse 10, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#6 Family Hotel in Munich
#10 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#12 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £155 - £534 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Platzl Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You place great importance on quality and want to be right in the middle of Munich's city life? Then Platzl Hotel Munich and its culinary offerings are the address for you. This traditional four-star Superior Hotel and its two popular restaurants - the Pfistermuhle and Wirtshaus Ayingers - are located in the heart of Munich's old city, right beside the famous Hofbrauhaus. And just a short walk from the Marienplatz, the Bavarian State Opera, Maximilianstrasse and Viktualienmarkt. The Inselkammer family and its team combine Bavarian hospitality and traditional style elements with a modern lifestyle and state-of-the-art technology. It begins with a warm welcome in the foyer, continues through the 167 guest rooms and only ends when you leave Munich through the city's historic quarter. This combination of tradition and modernity also creates the ideal setting for private celebrations such as birthdays or weddings, but also conferences and seminars. Your visit should also include a taste of the culinary offerings at our two restaurants - because gastronomy has a long tradition at the Platzl. As early as the beginning of the last century, the Platzl stage was graced not just by cabaret giants such as Karl Valentin. Good Bavarian food also made repeat appearances, being served to guests before and after the performances. Today, the Pfistermuhle is synonymous with sophisticated Bavarian cuisine - at Munich's only preserved city mill. Since the year 2000, people from Munich and elsewhere have enjoyed the hearty regional dishes at Wirtshaus Ayingers, which is next door, while the charming stores and eateries in the "Platzlgassen" add to the lively atmosphere in the Platzl. Our outside bar the Platzl Karree presents a unique bar concept in Munich's old town. Because of the stylish and yet down-to-earth design the fine balancing act between tradition and modernity with the Platzl Karree is perfectly realized. The dominating colors anthracite with burgundy and the dark parquet flooring create a bar to relax and enjoy. In the new Josefa Bar & Kaffee we serve locally produced unique spirits, cool beverages with herbs freshly from the Viktualien market and own cocktail creations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Platzl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Platzl Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing