We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel in Old City”
Review of Platzl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Platzl Hotel
Ranked #14 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in Old City”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

This is a great hotel right in the old city next to the Hofbrahous. It couldn't be a better location. Very close to a metro stop (Marienplatz) so very convenient. The staff were very helpful, the rooms were comfortable, and the breakfast was great. We would definitely return to this hotel next time we are in Munich.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,904 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,186
    581
    89
    33
    15
See reviews for
329
833
153
295
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Our daughter and son in law now live in the greater Munich area and we have stayed in this hotel twice-Dec '12 and Dec 13. We highly recommend the Platzl Hotel. Both stays have been during the Christmas Market event...very enjoyable.
The location is perfect; the choice of activities within walking distance are numerous; the hotel staff is very helpful and the rooms are emaculate. Wait, there's more...the breakfast buffet is supurb and with many fresh, quality choices. We'll be back again in 2014.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moosecream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We stayed at the Platzl for 3 nights during New Year 2013/14. From the airport we took the S8 train direct to Marienplatz, this service is very easy to use and cheaper than a taxi and took approx. 48 minutes to get to Marienplatz. From Marienplatz the hotel is a 5 minute walk and we found it at the end of a small side street.

Check in was prompt and efficient, all staff were polite and friendly. The reception area is very traditional, dark and cosy looking.

We were allocated a room on the third floor. We found the room to be exceptionally clean and decorated in quite a simple but pleasant style. The room had all the amenities that we required for a few nights stay. A bonus was several English TV Channels which were handy to have on in the background when getting ready. The bathroom was spacious and well equipped; our only criticism was that the shower pressure was quite low.

An excellent point in regards to this hotel is the location. It is in the Alstadt and really close to the Hofbrauhaus, so on an evening it is very close to lots of decent restaurants and bars but we did not encounter any issues with noise.

On 30th December we visited Schloss Nymphenburg, Olympia Park and Tower and the Residenz Munchen, all can be recommended. On the 31st December most attractions were closed, therefore we chose to have a lovely walk around the very peaceful and beautiful Englischer Garten, our route took us past Maximillaneum on Maximillan Strasse and Friedensengle (statue). The park was huge and very popular, but not over crowded. We walked back to the Alstadt from the Englischer Garten via the Walking Man (sculpture) on Leopold Strasse in the area of Schwabing, Siegestor and Odeonplatz.

We managed to see The Glockenspiel am Rathausturm on our last morning at 11.00am, it looks and sounds somewhat rather quaint however it is a traditional and very popular attraction (it gathered quite a crowd).

We used the hotel bar on a couple of occasions for a night cap, the bar man is very friendly. It was a very nice, relaxed area to have the final drink of the night.

Our return to the airport was again very straightforward; we got the S1 train back, taking approx. 38 minutes, very convenient as straight into the airport with a short 5 minute walk to departures.

Overall, we have thoroughly enjoyed our visit, the hotel was a perfect choice for our requirements and the location of the Platzl is perfect. Munich has lots to offer for a city break in terms of food, drink and tourist attractions.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeamIdle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

This is the best location for staying in Munich - right in the centre of the old town and everything of interest walkable. The staff were very kind and helpful and the rooms clean and well maintained. The lobby atmosphere is cosy but also spacious and the excellent wifi meant researching places to go for the next day was easy. The breakfast is one of the best we have ever experienced - an absolutely SUPERB selection of everything you could possibly want to devour before a long and engaging day out and about. Another great plus was that, arriving back at the hotel exhausted and hungry, the best and most charming, for us, of Munich's famous restaurants was just next door - the renowned Haxbauer with its mouth-watering and much-talked about pork-knuckles dishes and excellent beer. After which, just a couple of steps home to collapse and recharge before another day out. This is THE place to stay in Munich (the Kempinski is in highly fashionable shopping street but you don't have the feeling of being right in the middle of things as at the Platzl). Thank you all!

Room Tip: Take a Superior Room - very spacious and a pleasure to stay in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank james o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

The hotel's location is unbeatable.It's close to pretty much everything. My room was rather spacious for a single room and very clean. The breakfast buffet was delicious, lots of variety and it was so filling that I didn't even feel the need to have lunch during the day. The staff was very pleasant. Free Wifi that worked perfectly. You really get your money's worth at the Platzl. I would totally stay there again if I were to return to Munich.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bela1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We enjoyed the Platzl very much. We took the SBahn from the airport and it was a short walk from the stop. The Platzl is very convenient to great restaurants, the Marienplatz and the Viktualienmarkt. We arrived early in the day and because we had emailed the hotel and let them know, they had our room ready early. The breakfast was delicious and all the staff very pleasant. We had clothes cleaned while we were there and they were returned promptly the same day at a cost we thought was reasonable. The front desk was very helpful with any questions we had. We enjoyed the room. It had a classic look. It was very clean and had windows we could open. Don't hesitate staying here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred and Pam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

This was our first stop on our personal "Christmas market tour" of Southern Germany, and our first stay at Platzl Hotel. We were able to get to the hotel using the U-Bahn, but I probably wouldn't do that with my luggage again! Excellent facilities, and free WiFi.

All the German hotels that I have stayed at tend to have very "flimsy" pillows, and Platzl Hotel was not different. Unfortunately they did not have other types available for guests, but if you order extra pillows from housekeeping, you can make-up something more substantial (2 or 3 pillows in a single pillowcase!).

The breakfast was included in our room price, and the buffet had a very good selection of foods to suit most peoples tastes, with the option of eggs to order from the waiters.

This will definitely be our choice of hotel in Munich for any future trips.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.9 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#12 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
0.2 mi away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#15 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
CORTIINA Hotel
CORTIINA Hotel
#13 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
0.8 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Platzl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Platzl Hotel

Property: Platzl Hotel
Address: Sparkassenstrasse 10, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#6 Family Hotel in Munich
#9 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#12 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Platzl Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You place great importance on quality and want to be right in the middle of Munich's city life? Then Platzl Hotel Munich and its culinary offerings are the address for you. This traditional four-star Superior Hotel and its two popular restaurants - the Pfistermuhle and Wirtshaus Ayingers - are located in the heart of Munich's old city, right beside the famous Hofbrauhaus. And just a short walk from the Marienplatz, the Bavarian State Opera, Maximilianstrasse and Viktualienmarkt. The Inselkammer family and its team combine Bavarian hospitality and traditional style elements with a modern lifestyle and state-of-the-art technology. It begins with a warm welcome in the foyer, continues through the 167 guest rooms and only ends when you leave Munich through the city's historic quarter. This combination of tradition and modernity also creates the ideal setting for private celebrations such as birthdays or weddings, but also conferences and seminars. Your visit should also include a taste of the culinary offerings at our two restaurants - because gastronomy has a long tradition at the Platzl. As early as the beginning of the last century, the Platzl stage was graced not just by cabaret giants such as Karl Valentin. Good Bavarian food also made repeat appearances, being served to guests before and after the performances. Today, the Pfistermuhle is synonymous with sophisticated Bavarian cuisine - at Munich's only preserved city mill. Since the year 2000, people from Munich and elsewhere have enjoyed the hearty regional dishes at Wirtshaus Ayingers, which is next door, while the charming stores and eateries in the "Platzlgassen" add to the lively atmosphere in the Platzl. Our outside bar the Platzl Karree presents a unique bar concept in Munich's old town. Because of the stylish and yet down-to-earth design the fine balancing act between tradition and modernity with the Platzl Karree is perfectly realized. The dominating colors anthracite with burgundy and the dark parquet flooring create a bar to relax and enjoy. In the new Josefa Bar & Kaffee we serve locally produced unique spirits, cool beverages with herbs freshly from the Viktualien market and own cocktail creations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Platzl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Platzl Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing