We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location and service in Munich”
Review of Platzl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Platzl Hotel
Ranked #14 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Attiki, Greece
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent location and service in Munich”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Ι was with my friends in Munich for 4 days and I have chosen Platzl hotel for our residence. It was indeed a very good choice for all following reasons: excellent location in the very center of the town, excellent breakfast, very nice room with a lot of facilities but the most important of all professional staff very helpful all the time. Special remarks for all personnel in the reception. Certainly I will choose again the same hotel

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 970329_329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,895 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,180
    579
    88
    33
    15
See reviews for
328
828
153
293
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
138 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

When we checked in last night, both staff at the reception are so friendly and very informative. When we parked the car in the garage, somehow the door left black rubber mark on the car, we told them about it, they went out of their way cleaned it for us.
The room is super clean and spacious, althought the deco is a little old fashion but I guess it is just part of traditional Bavarian charm.
The location can't be better, walking distance to everything! Market, shopping, attractions and restaurants. Will certainly recommand this hotel.

Room Tip: The deco is very traditional Bavarian style but the location and service is really impeccable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xiaolio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Very well located in the centre of Munich. Its clean and traditional and you leave knowing that you have been to Bavaria. We have stayed here on business for the past six years and we plan to do the same next year.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harrows D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston MA
Level Contributor
150 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Stayed here one night at end of business trip prior to flight home from Munich. My room, 220, was very large with comfortable king size bed, nice sitting area with sofa, desk, flat screen tv, large foyer with closet, two separate bathrooms - one with toilet and sink, the other with larger sink, large tub, separate shower. Very nice creams and toiletries, robes and slippers. All the things that make it pleasant to travel. My room overlooked a small roof and I later found that the plaza with the Hofbrau House (and an Irish Pub) were right on the other side. Yes, I heard a group of revelers happily singing one night (after a few too many delicious German beers I'm sure), but it made me smile. Hey, they're young and having fun and they're in Munich for goodness sake. The last person who complained so bitterly about the noise should do himself a favor and get some sturdy earplulgs so he can block out the world and enjoy his grumpy solitude. I just don't understand travelers that expect the silence of a graveyard when they travel. Of course the hotel can't control the people outside of it and you are ridiculous if you think they can.

Anyhow, the hotel is gorgeous, the breakfast buffet was one of the best I've encountered in many trips to many European countries. The staff was friendly and helpful. When I called for a wake up call at 7AM (on a Sat morning) the nice gentleman who took my call said, "Oh, that is far too early and doesn't sound nice, how about I call you at 9 instead?" Of course he was joking around with me, but I appreciated it because he was so pleasant and joyful. The walk to the marketplace and Marinplatz is quick--maybe 1-2 minutes down the street. Everything you want to do is close with many, many, fine places to eat and lots of shopping, activities etc. Lovely to walk and enjoy the beautiful buildings all around. (Wear flat sturdy shoes - lots of cobblestones!!!) Taxi to airport is around 70 euro, but you could take train if money is an issue. I highly recommend the Platzl and will tell all my friends and family who travel to Munich for business or pleasure to stay here! Thanks to all the lovely people who work there from reception to bell hop to breakfast servers to charming men who open the door! Everyone at the Platzl had a welcoming smile and would go above and beyond to please their guests. Thanks for a great stay! I'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cocoajean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

This was a repeat and definitely last stay. My second floor corner room 211 was at the rear of the hotel and overlooked the the Hofbrau Haus which is a touristy beer keller. I'm a big city dweller and don't mind background noise. On a business trip after a really early start I needed an early night. I was woken several times by loud lager louts shouting outside my window. When I called reception at 11.50 and asked what was going on, the staff member couldn't have cared less, infact he was quite sarcastic: 'Yes madam we'll call the police if it doesn't stop in 10 minutes, it closes at midnight." It took a while for the crowd to disperse, it's a big bar. The next morning on check out when I said I was not satisfied the duty manager offered a pitiful €10 reduction for the inconvenience. I refused and asked the manager to review the bill. Today I received a letter by email saying no reduction, next time you come ask for a quiet room! I don't remember asking for the worst room in the building nor the booking stating that I should expect a disturbed night. From their tired attitude it's clear the hollering from drunks is common place. Maybe it's bearable if you're on holiday and carousing. Definitely not if you're not! Be warned.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
6 Thank passportticketmoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooresville, NC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Platzl for 3 nights in January on vacation, and it was absolutely great. It's wasn't cheap, but everything about it made it easy to enjoy.

I particularly liked the location. It was just two blocks from the subway station for easy access, right next to Marianplatz and the Victualen Market, and around the corner from the Hofbrau Haus (which came in all too handy one evening). When we checked in, I asked about jogging routes in the area and the clerk handed me a great set of directions to the Englisher Garten which was nearby and perfect for a run.

As with any great hotel, the breakfast and staff at the desk were excellent. Honestly, I would recommend this to anyone visiting Munich who can afford a little luxury.

Happy travels!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the Hofbrau Haus tend to be a little noisy in the evenings. But, when you book a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SegundoLunadeMiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

I've been meaning to post a review about this hotel for months now, and although it may seem a bit dated, it looks like my impressions echo those of more recent travelers. I stayed at the Platzl twice last year -- in May and in September -- and I loved it! The location is perfect, right next to the Marienplatz metro station and within walking distance to many historic sites in Munich. The staff couldn't be more helpful and friendly. The rooms are quiet, clean, and very spacious by European standards, with free and fast wifi, and an AC. Breakfast (also free) is plentiful and very good, with a variety of hot and cold choices. Besides, there are two restaurants on the property. Ayinger's Inn which -- among other things -- serves the best apple and peach strudel, and Pfistermuhle which specializes in upscale Bavarian cuisine and is excellent (a bit pricey, but worth it!).
All in all, besides offering excellent value for money, this hotel is what Bavarian hospitality, quality, and efficiency are all about!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laviajera67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.9 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#12 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
0.2 mi away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#15 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
CORTIINA Hotel
CORTIINA Hotel
#13 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
0.8 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Platzl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Platzl Hotel

Property: Platzl Hotel
Address: Sparkassenstrasse 10, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#6 Family Hotel in Munich
#9 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#12 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Platzl Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You place great importance on quality and want to be right in the middle of Munich's city life? Then Platzl Hotel Munich and its culinary offerings are the address for you. This traditional four-star Superior Hotel and its two popular restaurants - the Pfistermuhle and Wirtshaus Ayingers - are located in the heart of Munich's old city, right beside the famous Hofbrauhaus. And just a short walk from the Marienplatz, the Bavarian State Opera, Maximilianstrasse and Viktualienmarkt. The Inselkammer family and its team combine Bavarian hospitality and traditional style elements with a modern lifestyle and state-of-the-art technology. It begins with a warm welcome in the foyer, continues through the 167 guest rooms and only ends when you leave Munich through the city's historic quarter. This combination of tradition and modernity also creates the ideal setting for private celebrations such as birthdays or weddings, but also conferences and seminars. Your visit should also include a taste of the culinary offerings at our two restaurants - because gastronomy has a long tradition at the Platzl. As early as the beginning of the last century, the Platzl stage was graced not just by cabaret giants such as Karl Valentin. Good Bavarian food also made repeat appearances, being served to guests before and after the performances. Today, the Pfistermuhle is synonymous with sophisticated Bavarian cuisine - at Munich's only preserved city mill. Since the year 2000, people from Munich and elsewhere have enjoyed the hearty regional dishes at Wirtshaus Ayingers, which is next door, while the charming stores and eateries in the "Platzlgassen" add to the lively atmosphere in the Platzl. Our outside bar the Platzl Karree presents a unique bar concept in Munich's old town. Because of the stylish and yet down-to-earth design the fine balancing act between tradition and modernity with the Platzl Karree is perfectly realized. The dominating colors anthracite with burgundy and the dark parquet flooring create a bar to relax and enjoy. In the new Josefa Bar & Kaffee we serve locally produced unique spirits, cool beverages with herbs freshly from the Viktualien market and own cocktail creations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Platzl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Platzl Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing