We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel in a great location”
Review of Platzl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Platzl Hotel
Ranked #13 of 387 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This hotel is of a high standard and is very clean. The rooms are of a good size, although a double room consisted of of two twins pushed together.
It is located right in the center of Munich, in close proximity to all the sights.
The quality of food is very good.

Room Tip: Try and get a room that doesn't overlook the Hofbrauhaus if you want a quiet stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thaiknee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,050)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

710 - 716 of 2,050 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014

Hotel Platzl is the perfect hotel to experience Munich. It is extremely well located to all the main sights. It is extremely comfortable, clean and the staff go above and beyond the ensure the customers have a great time. The restaurants are delicious and serve traditional Bavarian food.and the fitness centre is great. Most of all do not miss the breakfasts. There is a wide variety of food and you can even indulge in a little champagne is you so desire. Put Hotel Platzl on your list for Munich.

Room Tip: Rooms to the froms are quiet but I suspect all rooms are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TJW999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We (wife and I) stayed here for three days in a recent swing through Germany. Walking close to everywhere we wished to go, Marienplatz, Hofbrauhaus, Mike's Bike Rental, Residenz, Viktuelienmarkt. With window open there was a lot of street sound and glasses clinging, but shutting the window cut out all the noise. Rooms were smallish but functional and served well. Included shampoo, but not conditioner (some European hotels opt for liquid soap dispensers only; one soap for all functions). Bar, while not large, had a great bar tender who steered us to some good local eateries. Rooms were clean, breakfast was good (but no omelet/fried egg station), but we spent most of our time exploring the lively city.

Room Tip: Our room faced Munzstrasse. Second floor on south side of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cyantist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I've been in Platzl Hotel for 4 nights. I really felt like at home, with all that warm and helpful staff. The bavarian style of the hotel makes it more than wellcoming. The room was very cozy (munzstrasse view), and full of accessories, as well as the bathroom. In the morning, the breakfast is served from 6:30 to 11:00, which is more than a simple breakfast, with all that buffet!!
I recommend this place for all the people who loves calmly places, although is located in the center of the turistic Munich.
When I'll come back to Munich, I'll undeniable choose that hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Núria I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We were booked into this hotel by our travel agent and loved the location and overall the hotel.
The hotel had a nice European ambiance and the bar/lobby were very nice.
The staff were great with recommendations for dinner and things to do and the breakfast
buffet each morning was excellent. I would have rated this hotel five star but thought the
beds were a little uncomfortable (too firm for our tastes). Otherwise, a great choice for
staying in Munich.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pcham1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Is a just nice hotel. Is more or less centric, ok is around the corner to the Hofbräuhaus Brewery, good to go walking, but beware of the room they give you that place party a lot, and you will hear everything even with the air condition on. We read about it on Trip Advisor, and asked to a room to the other side and it was ok. The thing is the the staff on e hotel was not as pleasant as we have found on our trip in others hotels. Ok we got to Munich early, but even at 3:30 our room was not ready, when we complaint they give us a room, then change it, when we found it was in front of our favorite place, The brewery! Then the day we were leaving, we asked for an late checkout, no way out at 12:00. Not coming back to this one.

Room Tip: Look out for the brewery!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elvia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

EXCELLENT hotel....FRIENDLY staff....PERFECT LOCATION!!!! If I could give this hotel a TEN STAR rating I would! Will ABSOLUTELY RECOMMEND family and friends here....will DEFINATELY RETURN for a longer stay on our next European vacation :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
1.0 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
0.9 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 387 in Munich
1,737 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#9 of 387 in Munich
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#103 of 387 in Munich
874 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 387 in Munich
1,597 reviews
0.1 mi away
CORTIINA Hotel
CORTIINA Hotel
#11 of 387 in Munich
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Platzl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Platzl Hotel

Address: Sparkassenstrasse 10, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#6 Family Hotel in Munich
#9 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#12 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £156 - £362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Platzl Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You place great importance on quality and want to be right in the middle of Munich's city life? Then Platzl Hotel Munich and its culinary offerings are the address for you. This traditional four-star Superior Hotel and its two popular restaurants - the Pfistermuhle and Wirtshaus Ayingers - are located in the heart of Munich's old city, right beside the famous Hofbrauhaus. And just a short walk from the Marienplatz, the Bavarian State Opera, Maximilianstrasse and Viktualienmarkt. The Inselkammer family and its team combine Bavarian hospitality and traditional style elements with a modern lifestyle and state-of-the-art technology. It begins with a warm welcome in the foyer, continues through the 167 guest rooms and only ends when you leave Munich through the city's historic quarter. This combination of tradition and modernity also creates the ideal setting for private celebrations such as birthdays or weddings, but also conferences and seminars. Your visit should also include a taste of the culinary offerings at our two restaurants - because gastronomy has a long tradition at the Platzl. As early as the beginning of the last century, the Platzl stage was graced not just by cabaret giants such as Karl Valentin. Good Bavarian food also made repeat appearances, being served to guests before and after the performances. Today, the Pfistermuhle is synonymous with sophisticated Bavarian cuisine - at Munich's only preserved city mill. Since the year 2000, people from Munich and elsewhere have enjoyed the hearty regional dishes at Wirtshaus Ayingers, which is next door, while the charming stores and eateries in the "Platzlgassen" add to the lively atmosphere in the Platzl. Our outside bar the Platzl Karree presents a unique bar concept in Munich's old town. Because of the stylish and yet down-to-earth design the fine balancing act between tradition and modernity with the Platzl Karree is perfectly realized. The dominating colors anthracite with burgundy and the dark parquet flooring create a bar to relax and enjoy. In the new Josefa Bar & Kaffee we serve locally produced unique spirits, cool beverages with herbs freshly from the Viktualien market and own cocktail creations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Platzl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Platzl Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing