We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place to stay in Munich”
Review of Platzl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Platzl Hotel
Ranked #14 of 391 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2014

You really can't beat the location and friendly and attentive staff at this hotel. Marienplatz is a short walk away as is the famous Hofbrauhaus and many other nearby restaurants. The included breakfast was wonderful. The rooms were very quiet, had very comfortable bedding, and were very clean. Access to the local train system is very convenient and easy to use. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone planning a stay in Munich.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cherylpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,092)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

718 - 724 of 2,092 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

We were extremely delighted with our stay. The staff is very
Friendly. High quality hotel. If one can afford then go for it and look no further. Staff Mr Marwah
deserves special mention and so is the doormen. Keep it up.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunil C G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

As the other reviewers have stated the location is perfect! There's even a post office across the street where we sent home extra stuff. A bank is down the block. Hofbfauhaus is close by as well as numerous other eateries of all kinds. Viktualienmarkt and the Marienplatz with the renowned cuckoo clock is close too. Take the Hop On-Hop Off bus tour around Munich to get an overview or stop and visit at one of its many stops. Do as the locals and have a meal and beer in the many beer gardens. BTW, the breakfast at the Platzl is the most phenomenal and sumptuous you'll ever see including a real honeycomb! Our room was overlooking a quiet courtyard, great AC, clean - a great place to stay!

Room Tip: Being near the Hofbrauhaus you might want to choose a room overlooking the inner courtyard - not sce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Platzl a hop, skip and a jump from Marienplatz. Our room was comfortable, clean, spacious and well appointed. The staff were extremely helpful and cordial and while we had to pay for parking, the garage - while a little tight getting in and out of - was very convenient. Excellent restaurant in the hotel if you don't want to venture further afield.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank trippergalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

What a great place. The service was excellent. The hotel was laid out well and the rooms were well maintained and designed. The buffet breakfasts were as good as it gets. The location of the hotel was also excellent. Simply stated, staying in the hotel was a great experience for our entire family.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sschnei777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

A really good first class hotel. Friendly and polite staff. Clean rooms and lobby. Nice looking. Large room. Good bath. The breakfast buffet was indeed very good. We stayed for three nights.
Perfect location for visting the Old City and for us going to The Opera.
Next time in Munich for opera we will be back in this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lillianth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The hotel lived up to expectations...except with regard to location, and there it excelled! I knew it was a good location but it turned out to be great for us. Our room faced an inner courtyard so we did not have any street noise or noise from the Hofbrau House in the back. Staff was pleasant enough and taxis were quickly summoned for us. The WiFi worked ok and the room was fairly spacious. (We had a sofa and a good sized dressing area which helped.) The toilet was in a separate room from the sink/shower/tub which was nice. There was a mini-frig and the bed was just fine. Not much in the way of decor, but it was perfectly comfortable. The breakfast was in a pleasant room and was good. Nothing stood out, but it was hot and fresh and plentiful and the staff was very nice. We also had drinks in the bar a couple of nights after a day of touring. We ate at a restaurant across from the Hofbrau House that we really enjoyed...I'm just not sure if it's the one owned by the restaurant. They had an amazing horseradish soup that was like nothing I'd ever had before. We also ate in the more formal restaurant attached to the hotel and it was pretty good, just not particularly memorable. Lastly, we ate in the Hard Rock one evening. It's right behind the hotel so also across from Hofbrau House. In summary, this hotel is not going to blow you away but it is perfectly nice and clean and comfortable and, as everyone has said, the location can't be beat. We would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CLMJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#10 of 391 in Munich
1,105 reviews
0.1 mi away
CORTIINA Hotel
CORTIINA Hotel
#11 of 391 in Munich
878 reviews
1 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#7 of 391 in Munich
1,821 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen
1 mi away
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#9 of 391 in Munich
1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Platzl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Platzl Hotel

Address: Sparkassenstrasse 10, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#9 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#12 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £155 - £302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Platzl Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You place great importance on quality and want to be right in the middle of Munich's city life? Then Platzl Hotel Munich and its culinary offerings are the address for you. This traditional four-star Superior Hotel and its two popular restaurants - the Pfistermuhle and Wirtshaus Ayingers - are located in the heart of Munich's old city, right beside the famous Hofbrauhaus. And just a short walk from the Marienplatz, the Bavarian State Opera, Maximilianstrasse and Viktualienmarkt. The Inselkammer family and its team combine Bavarian hospitality and traditional style elements with a modern lifestyle and state-of-the-art technology. It begins with a warm welcome in the foyer, continues through the 167 guest rooms and only ends when you leave Munich through the city's historic quarter. This combination of tradition and modernity also creates the ideal setting for private celebrations such as birthdays or weddings, but also conferences and seminars. Your visit should also include a taste of the culinary offerings at our two restaurants - because gastronomy has a long tradition at the Platzl. As early as the beginning of the last century, the Platzl stage was graced not just by cabaret giants such as Karl Valentin. Good Bavarian food also made repeat appearances, being served to guests before and after the performances. Today, the Pfistermuhle is synonymous with sophisticated Bavarian cuisine - at Munich's only preserved city mill. Since the year 2000, people from Munich and elsewhere have enjoyed the hearty regional dishes at Wirtshaus Ayingers, which is next door, while the charming stores and eateries in the "Platzlgassen" add to the lively atmosphere in the Platzl. Our outside bar the Platzl Karree presents a unique bar concept in Munich's old town. Because of the stylish and yet down-to-earth design the fine balancing act between tradition and modernity with the Platzl Karree is perfectly realized. The dominating colors anthracite with burgundy and the dark parquet flooring create a bar to relax and enjoy. In the new Josefa Bar & Kaffee we serve locally produced unique spirits, cool beverages with herbs freshly from the Viktualien market and own cocktail creations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Platzl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Platzl Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing