We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$192
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$210/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$255
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$198
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$227/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$166/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$299
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$268
Sofitel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$322/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Marc Munchen(Munich)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$282
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$255
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$278
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$249
Pullman
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$673
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$366
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$407/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$168
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$167/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Holiday Inn Munich - Westpark(Munich)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$206
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$196
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$728
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$504
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,188)
Filter reviews
2,188 results
Traveller rating
1,344
665
112
46
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,344
665
112
46
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationfamous hofbrauhaushofbrau housecan't beat the locationbavarian stylebeer hallbreakfast buffetlovely hotelold citythe air conditioningquiet roomtwo blocksloved this hotelcentral locationby european standardsshort walkreception staff
Filter
Updating list...
138 - 143 of 2,188 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2017

This was my third trip to Munich. This hotel is a real find. The rooms are clean, modern and comfortable. The lobby area is inviting and there is an excellent small beer hall attached to the back. The location could not be better. It is directly opposite Hoffbrauhaus and a short walk to all of the sites, beer halls and restaurants of the old town. Given the location, the price is great value. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Prof_UK_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

This hotel is located right in the city center. As such it is ideally placed for a visit of Munich. The hotel rents bikes as well. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the hotel has some nice restaurants, one of which has a terrace. We initially did not know that he we had booked a room on the top floor. In the room we noticed that the window is placed high on the wall (which has an angle towards the inside as it is the beginning of the roof, i.e. you needed a chair to watch out. That makes it dark and you feel locked in - best to avoid this. We subsequently changed rooms on one floor down and with a view on the inner court - this was fine. Also avoid rooms on the back side as there is a very crowded and noisy beer hall on the square at the hotel's backside.

Room Tip: Not on the top floor and not at the backside (due to the noisy square).
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank smit_luydert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heiko_Buchta, General Manager at Platzl Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Dear smit_luydert,

Thank you very much for the review you posted on TripAdvisor.
I am glad to read that you had a good time in Munich and felt comfortable at our Platzl Hotel.

Due to our central location we cannot completely avoid surrounding noises. What is more we offer 167 rooms which do not just differ in size and shaping, but also in the location within the building. Our reservation department is delighted to assist and advise individually to find the right category for each guest.

We would appreciate to welcome you at the Platzl Hotel again soon. Best regards from the heart of Munich!
Heiko Buchta - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

First parking is totally confusing no valet road constructions right in front. No help with luggage. No AC in room. Called front desk and was told sorry AC broken won't be fixed for several days. Problem is the heat and the street noise all night long( drunks and early morning street clean up). The pathetic compensation the hotel offered was free breakfast which turned out to be a lie since my credit card shows I was charged. Shame on you platzl and your arrogant staff!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
4  Thank paulnimes30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heiko_Buchta, General Manager at Platzl Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Dear paulnimes30

Thank you very much for taking your time to write about your experiences at Platzl Hotel.
I am very sorry to read that you could not enjoy our stay with us.

Unfortunately the problem with our air conditioning is not so easy to solve. One of our important generators broke down and it wasn't possible to fix it immediately. We had to order a new one and it needs time to install it. Because of our historical building it's a bit difficult to change the generators. I am very sorry for the inconveniences. Actually the air conditioning is working in a lot of our rooms, but unfortunately not in each one.

It is not possible for us to influence the construction area in front of the hotel, because it is one of the city of Munich. We are indeed very thankful when it's finished.

At the Platzl Hotel, we pride ourselves on offering our guests a superior service in all areas of the hotel, and I am disappointed that there were aspects of your stay where our communication and service to you could have been better, and I do hope that you will accept my sincere apologies.

Best regards from Munich
Heiko Buchta - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

My family and I recently spent a few nights at the Platzl hotel after a string of travel nights and our experience at the Platzl was among the best. The hotel is classically attractive, our room was thoughtfully appointed, and the staff truly made us feel welcome at every, single engagement. Add to this the wonderful breakfast buffet each morning and the prime location of the hotel vis a vis Marienplatz, Maxamillianstrasse and the Hofbrauhaus and I'm not sure the recipe could be better. I will definitely stay at the Platzl on my next visit to Munich and recommend it highly to others as well.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017

While the Platzl Hotel was certainly a fine place to stay during our trip to Munich, be aware that its central location is both a plus and a minus. The accommodations themselves were nice enough, the rooms are probably a good size by European standards. It is a large hotel and very busy, however, and the lobby is always bustling, which was a different experience from the hotels where we stayed in Berlin and Prague. Unlike the other hotels, they did not accommodate my special request for a room humidifier (because of an eye condition at the time). But the beds are comfortable and the rooms are quiet considering the central location.

Room Tip: The rooms are basically all the same.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank magritte2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews