We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel and location”
Review of Hotel Koenigshof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Koenigshof
Ranked #26 of 391 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We were here for 2 nights and loved our pretty room with high ceiling and fabulous bath. The common areas were comfortable. The restaurant was wonderful. Some street noise in the wee hours...buses and trash pickup.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank day1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (633)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

286 - 292 of 633 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2012

The hotel it is nice inside with comfortable rooms and nice decorations.The exterior looks not so great.Good like locations in the city centre neart to the train station.Front desk very friendly and helpful.The breakfast was special with a lot of choises and the restaurant look very good.
The maitre prepared for me a special youghourt with strawberryes since he was not sure then the regular one is sugar free.A pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mm1118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We were able to stay only 2 nights in Hotel Koenigshof due to the World Cup Soccer Final Game (I didn't book the rooms early enough!). The hotel is very pretty on the inside--it's rather plain on the exterior. The staff was so friendly, helpful and attentive to our needs. The location was great, too. Just cross the street and you're in Munich's City Center. It's an expensive hotel but worth every penny for location and convenience. The downside? The hotel could use a makeover with new carpeting and fresh coats of paint.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marianne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

I stayed at the Konigshof Hotel on 9th May and the best thing about this hotel is the location.
Its supposed to be five star and there is no doubt that the room rates are very espensive. I paid over €400.00 for 1 night and breakfast was €29 extra.
Breakfast was special with full silver service and a fantastic view over the bustling Karlstad plaza. The food and service was excellent but its not worth €29.00. You can find a good breakfast nearby for €6.00 so if you stay here for the location then I suggest you dine out.
The room was luxurious with gold plated taps and all mod cons. The wellness area is very small and the sauna was not working and very little steam in the steamroom. The jacuzzi was OK but it did not have a swimming pool which is dissappointing. However the bathrobes, towels and all the other little extras e.g. free hair comb slippers etc was impressive. BUT you are paying for it.
My overall impression was that this hotel is overpriced.
The staff are excellent and I would certainly return if the hotel drops their prices by 50%.
I will not be going back purely because of their prices.
Tony

Room Tip: Rooms on the right side of the hotel are better. Bargain with them and get Breakfast included in yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tonycontrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

I totally enjoyed this hotel. It is located conveniently in the city center. It is easy to get around by public transportation. The front desk was wonderful. I liked my room. It was very quiet. Loved the bathroom shower arm. I did not eat breakfast in the hotel because 29 euros for breakfast was very expensive. There are a couple of Starbucks nearby. The lobby is inviting and gorgeous. Outside of the hotel both In the front of the hotel and on the side... the areas with greenery were filled with trash. I was told it was the city's job to clean it up but the trash does impact the hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the hotel service areas. Rooms on the side without the traffic are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ewilkens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

I had stayed there some years ago and i came back the previous week.Everything was perfect, as always ( tho room, the staff, the breakfast etc). We had an early flight and we arrived in the hotel about 11.am. They given us the room immediately, which was very important and we appreciated it very much. Also the location of this hotel is fantastic, in the heart of the city. I would strongly recommended it and i would stayed there again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

great location near the city center, very confortables rooms, nice staff and good restaurant and food.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidRio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.2 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 391 in Munich
1,655 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen
1.7 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#4 of 391 in Munich
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
0.8 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
0.7 mi away
CORTIINA Hotel
CORTIINA Hotel
#11 of 391 in Munich
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Koenigshof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Koenigshof

Address: Karlsplatz 25, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Munich
#6 Green Hotel in Munich
#13 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#16 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#34 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £176 - £409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Koenigshof 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Konigshof celebrates luxury in a wonderfully natural way. A family-owned and managed hotel in Munich city centre, the Konigshof combines exquisite furnishings and features with courteous, personal service that is rare to find in such perfection. This luxury hotel belongs to the exclusive Leading Hotels of the World consortium, and it is well known as a preferred venue in Munich for travellers and gourmets, connoisseurs and entrepreneurs from all around the globe. The word Konigshof translates directly as "Royal Court", and this luxury hotel is a tribute to its name.With 87 rooms and suites, all furnished in superb comfort and style, the Hotel Konigshof is quite small for a luxury hotel, but that is one of the many things that makes it so special. In addition to the elegant lobby with piano, our hotel also boasts an exceptional bar, a delightful wellness oasis and a gourmet restaurant that is one of the city's culinary highlights. It has a Michelin Star and 18 Gault Millau points and is a member of the "L'Art de Vivre - Gourmet Residences" association. The building also houses the Geisel's wine shop - one of the top addresses for connoisseurs of fine wines from Munich and the region. The Hotel Konigshof receives its guests at an incomparable location, directly opposite the fountain plaza at Karlsplatz/Stachus, beside the historical Palace of Justice, and near the stock exchange and the landmarked Kunstlerhaus building at Lenbachplatz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Koenigshof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koenigshof Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing