We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City noise a problem”
Review of Hotel Koenigshof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Koenigshof
Ranked #16 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
125 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
“City noise a problem”
Reviewed 19 January 2013

As with many city center hotels, noise is a major issue. With busy roads and tram lines on 3 sides of the hotel, late night and early morning sounds leave a very short period for uninterrupted sleep. About 3 hours at best. Still, the price to pay for location, which cannot really be bettered in the middle of Munich.
Concierge and bar staff friendly and helpful, but what is it about restaurant staff in so many places? Choosing to dine in, alone, one evening I was shunted off to a side table as if an embarrassment to the establishment. A main course that arrived before completion of the starter only added to the rather unwelcoming feeling, that somehow solo diners should be hastened out as quickly as possible. The excuse that ''most of our solo guests like to eat quickly'' really makes no sense. Let the diner decide if he is in a hurry.
Otherwise, comfortable rooms, good location....but noisy.

Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martina_Bindig, Manager at Hotel Koenigshof, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
Dear HongKong Member,

first of all I would like to thank you that you took your time to give us an evaluation on tripadvisor, which is always very helpful for us.

I regret that you were disturbed by street noise during the night. As our hotel is in the very heart of Munich this is sometimes not avoidable although most of our guests confirm that the rooms are extraordinary quiet for this central location. As we have very few (single) rooms to an inner court yard you may ask for these.

Concerning your comment on our restaurant and here especially on the staff I want to apologize for their behaviour. Of course we also estimate single persons enjoying a dinner with us and ever try to provide them a nice table and of course our best service. Please be assured that I will speak to our F&B Manager to imrove the training on this.

The more I am happy to hear that the staff of the bar and the reception was helpful and friendly.

Looking forward to welcoming you again

Kindest regards from Munich

Martina Bindig
Assistant to the Management
m.bindig@geisel-privathotels.de
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    125
    45
    19
    15
See reviews for
111
212
43
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

I have visit Konigshof hotel in 3 day tip to munich (valentines day)
If you want a luxury in a central location you should stay there.room/service just perfect
our room was spacious and staff very helpful. Due to valentine's day they provided us with a gift so kind :)
Breakfast with great variety , we used spa also and we generally had a great stay there
Keep up the good job leading hotel

Room Tip: I do not remember my room number but I am sure that all rooms meet luxury expectations
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrysaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martina_Bindig, Manager at Hotel Koenigshof, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Dear ChrysaB,

Thank you very much for giving us such a nice evaluation. We are all very happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and the little present.

Looking forward to welcoming you again we send you our very best regards

Martina Bindig
Assistant to the Management
m.bindig@geisel-privathotels.de
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strasbourg, France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Check google maps before you book. This hotel is not for everybody, and not a great 5 star experience. The spa just passable, the gym is poor. The outlook OK just outside the old city. Close to the railway station means it is in a pretty downtrodden part of town. Close proximity to the sex shops detracts from the family experience. The restaurant is said to be good, but too formal for a young family. The breakfast is good. The concierge was

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyS27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martina_Bindig, Manager at Hotel Koenigshof, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Dear FamilyS27,

Thank you very much for your evaluation on trip advisor.

I regret to hear that you did not like our hotel respectively the location of it. Most of our guests really enjoy being downtown and being able to walk everything as you may step into the pedestrian area exactly opposite of our hotel.

You are right that we are close to the train station and - as in most of the european cities - the area behind the railway station is not the nicest one. Therefore we ever recommend to our guests the way down to Marienplatz and the old city.

With children our restaurant might be too formal but as we do have to sister hotels close to the Königshof we are also able to offer you their restaurants which are more casual. For a future stay you may check our anna hotel or the Excelsior.

Hoping to welcoming you back in one of our hotels

Kindest regards

Martina Bindig
Assistant to the Management
m.bindig@geisel-privathotels.de
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
116 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

No 1 hotel in munich!!!
Have been to this hotel several times
for me this is the only hotel in munich
Location - Best- near the shtachus
clean, warm and coasy, beautiful rooms, amazing service
and the restaurant - Amazing
The bed is divine

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vizaim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martina_Bindig, Manager at Hotel Koenigshof, responded to this review, 20 December 2012
Dear Vizaim,

I want to thank you very much for your warm and lauding words on our hotel, the restaurant and our service. We are really happy to hear that you ever enjoy staying with us.

We are very proud to be your number 1 in Munich and hope that we ever can fulfill your requests and wishes.

Looking forward to welcoming you soon again, I send you my best wishes for Merry Christmas and a happy New Year.

Kindest regards from Munich

Martina Bindig
Assistant to the Management
m.bindig@geisel-privathotels.de
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Louisiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

This hotel is in a great location. It's in the center of Munich, and about a 5 minute walk from the train station. The staff is very friendly and helpful. My room was extremely nice, clean, and gorgeous. I will definitely stay here again when I go back to Munich. The only negative was all the noise from 11pm-2:30am....since it's in the middle of Munich, you get to hear all the drunken people on the streets stumbling back home around this time.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kprice331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martina_Bindig, Manager at Hotel Koenigshof, responded to this review, 25 November 2012
Dear kprice331,

I want to thank you very much for the real nice comment on your stay with us. We are all very happy to learn that you did enjoy your days in Munich and at the Koenigshof.

Especially your laud on our staff I will share with them, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks as they continuously strive to meet our guests needs and expectation.

Looking forward to welcoming you here again I send you my best personal regards.

Martina Bindig
Assistant to the Management
m.bindig@geisel-privathotels.de
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We had tickets to the opera in Munich and discovered it was Oktoberfest! This hotel was actually a choice of last resort because we were unable to find alternative accommodations and it was so expensive. Although the location was excellent, near the train station, walking distance of many sites in the city, near the U and S bahn and close to the Oktoberfest grounds, it lacked any ambiance. The staff was nice, our room was spacious and bathroom cavernous. However, the place just seemed sterile: not a place you wanted to call home. For the price, it was a very disappointing hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martina_Bindig, Manager at Hotel Koenigshof, responded to this review, 6 October 2012
Dear Linda 334,

we thank you very much for your comment on the stay at our hotel and regret to learn that you did not like the ambiance of your room. If you would decide to visit us once again we would be happy to show you some other rooms to find your favourite one.

Concerning the price we want to inform you that during the Octoberfest we are not able to grant any special rates as the city is more than fully booked. for other periods we offer lower rates or even weekend rates. Please call us to find out or check our homepage.

Hoping to welcoming you again at the Koenigshof we send you our best regards

Martina Bindig
Assistant to the Management
m.bindig@geisel-privathotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

This is a well-known hotel in the centre of Munich. It is easy access to the main attraction and the main train station. Staff is very friendly particulalry in the restaurant. Unfortunately, it seems like this hotel is slipping in its quality. I ended up staying in 2 rooms, and both rooms were small and were in need of repair. In both rooms the paint was coming off some of the walls, and in 1 room there was a permanent stain on the carpet. While the staff tried to be helpful, the laundry service leaves a loit to be desired. I left some socks, underwear and shirts for laundry. Well, they lost 1 sock and claimed that I had lost it in my room ! I has asked to have the shirts starched and they came back without that + one was torn. It is unlikely that I will stay in this hotel again, as there are better choices in Munich. I hope that they can take the hotel off the market and repair + paint it soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erik O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.2 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 383 in Munich
1,498 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
0.2 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 383 in Munich
1,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
0.7 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#15 of 383 in Munich
1,945 reviews
0.2 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#7 of 383 in Munich
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Koenigshof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Koenigshof

Property: Hotel Koenigshof
Address: Karlsplatz 25, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Munich
#6 Green Hotel in Munich
#11 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#13 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#28 Family Hotel in Munich
#34 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Koenigshof 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Konigshof celebrates luxury in a wonderfully natural way. A family-owned and managed hotel in Munich city centre, the Konigshof combines exquisite furnishings and features with courteous, personal service that is rare to find in such perfection. This luxury hotel belongs to the exclusive Leading Hotels of the World consortium, and it is well known as a preferred venue in Munich for travellers and gourmets, connoisseurs and entrepreneurs from all around the globe. The word Konigshof translates directly as "Royal Court", and this luxury hotel is a tribute to its name.With 87 rooms and suites, all furnished in superb comfort and style, the Hotel Konigshof is quite small for a luxury hotel, but that is one of the many things that makes it so special. In addition to the elegant lobby with piano, our hotel also boasts an exceptional bar, a delightful wellness oasis and a gourmet restaurant that is one of the city's culinary highlights. It has a Michelin Star and 18 Gault Millau points and is a member of the "L'Art de Vivre - Gourmet Residences" association. The building also houses the Geisel's wine shop - one of the top addresses for connoisseurs of fine wines from Munich and the region. The Hotel Konigshof receives its guests at an incomparable location, directly opposite the fountain plaza at Karlsplatz/Stachus, beside the historical Palace of Justice, and near the stock exchange and the landmarked Kunstlerhaus building at Lenbachplatz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Koenigshof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koenigshof Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing