We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious style”
Review of Hotel Koenigshof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Koenigshof
Ranked #19 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Luxurious style”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

The hotel location is at the centre of everything. with a very short walking distance I was able to reach the Karlplatz, the Marienplatz, the train station, big shopping department stores, the subway, tourist offices and different kind of restaurants. The staff were so friendly and nice, they try so hard to answer any city related questions even offering help and suggesting places and services. The hotel is very comfortable and luxurious. The rooms get cleaned twice and every evening there was a complementary chocolate on our beds.
For families with children the hotel is not really suitable as there was no children facilities like a swimming pool, there was only a spa with a small Jacuzzi which was sometimes attended by naked adults where we couldn't let our children go. Also the walls are not really sound proof while there were few families with noisy children we could hear their scream all the time.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FatmaAlmutawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martina_Bindig, Manager at Hotel Koenigshof, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear FatmaAlmutawa,

We are all very proud that we were able to make your stay at our hotel a pleasant one. I really appreciate especially the lauding words on our staff who ever try to give their honest and personal recommendations to our guests.

The more I regret that we could not offer more to your children. As we are only a small city hotel, we do not have the possibilities you might find in a bigger hotel or resort.

Whenever you return to Munich, please let me know.

Kind regards

Martina Bindig
Assistant to the Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    372
    127
    44
    21
    16
See reviews for
116
220
44
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

-poor service
-old rooms
+great location
+room cosmetics by Etro.

Reception:
We've booked 2 rooms. Even though we told in advance that we will arrive at 3 p.m none of the rooms were ready. After 3o minutes waiting time we finally got our rooms. Receptionists (actually 5 of them who were all doing the check-in for just 4 of us) gave us a wrong wifi password 3 times. Yes, 3 times I went to reception in order to get the correct password.
Room service:
Normally I ignore some dust in a room, but huge amounts of dust in here are unacceptable. Moreover, one day a cleaning lady after evening room preparation threw a completely wet towel on my bed; what for remains a mystery for me.
All in all, completely disappointing service both reception and cleaning. But great location in the city. In just 5 minutes walking time you can reach Hauptbahnhof and approx. 5-10 minutes Frauenkirche. As a "bonus" you get Etro cosmetics set. You can also choose a pillow from a wide range of hotel pillows.
I will never stay again in this old dusty and unfriendly hotel because of my negative experience.

Room Tip: probably in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zzap190454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martina_Bindig, Manager at Hotel Koenigshof, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear Zzap190454,

I thank you for your comment on tripadvisor, although it is a hard criticism of our team at the reception desk and housekeeping, but it will give me a chance to improve our service.

First of all please accept my apology for the bad experience you had at Hotel Königshof. As you may see from many other comments who are praising especially the service, your experience should be an exception. This may have been caused, because two new trainees started their work at reception (this is the reason why there were five people at reception desk).

I of course checked with reception, why your rooms were not ready at 3 pm. They wanted to assign two rooms next door and the guests having stayed in those rooms left too late without informing us. As they managed to enable your check in at 3.12 pm for the first room and 3.18 pm for the second room I really hope you can forgive us this short waiting time which you spend with a coffee in our bar.

I also spoke to the housekeeper, who will give another training to our new colleagues and trainees, that this problem will not occure again.

Should you intend to come back to our hotel despite this negative experience, please let me know personally.

Kindest regards
Martina Bindig
Assistant to the Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

I was there with my family For 2 night I have two rooms With nice view
The room Little bit Smaller But very clean end Cozy
You have your Own espresso Machine In the room No charge
The staff in the front desk Are very kind And Helpful
The best thing Is the location Few steps from the hotel It's The Mien Street For shopping The Central station And the Subway/ metro
The breakfast served With menu
But it's very quickly
I was in room 206 And you can sleep at night With open window
It's very noisy

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yigaldoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martina_Bindig, Manager at Hotel Koenigshof, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Dear Yigaldoga,

Thank you very much for your positive evaluation on tripadvisor.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff did provide a good service to you and your family. And you are absolutely wright: from our hotel all the sights of Munich as well as the shopping area can easily be reached by walking.

So, whenever you return to Munich we would be happy to welcome you again at the Königshof.

Kind regards

Martina Bindig
Assistant to the Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We stayed here for two nights and we chose it because of its convenient location. There are metro tramway bus...all kinds of public transportation to get around. Entrance to the pedestrian old town area is right across the street. Staff was really friendly to us and provided a lot of helpful suggestions. Our room was really good.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winnie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martina_Bindig, Manager at Hotel Koenigshof, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Dear Winnie C,

with great pleasure I read your nice comment on trip advisor. I am so happy to hear that we succeeded once again to satisfy a guest.

Whenever you will be back to Munich you are very welcome at our hotel.

Kind regards

Martina Bindig
Assistant to the Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Two things knock the 5 star rating down to a 4 star hotel: 1 - the air conditioning barely works, especially when the temperature is over 30C and 2] many of the staff are arrogant and have a dour demeanour, the worst being the head waiter in the restaurant. He talks down to us and is not a pleasant person.

Room is nice and the food for breakfast is quite good. Location is excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank peteyToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martina_Bindig, Manager at Hotel Koenigshof, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear peteyToronto,

Thank you for your evaluation on tripadvisor.

First of all I want to apology that the air condition in your room did not cool down your room to your satisfaction and you had to suffer from the heat.

The more I am astonished to hear that our staff was arrogant. As you may see in many other comments, especially the friendliness of the employees is appreciated by our guests. I want to assure you that I take this complaint very serious and will talk to our staff again that they should control their behaviour and their words.

I hope you will give us another chance on a possible next visit to Munich.

Kindest regards

Martina Bindig
Assistant to the Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in July 2013. We were attracted because of the pictures in the hotel internet site and it is a member of Leading Hotels of the World. On check in we got a terrible room, it is very old and the carpet full of old stains. The bathroom very old and the wardrobes shocking as the safe was missing and the internals destroyed as if someone had stolen the safe by ripping it out from the timber shelvings. We were so angry to be given such a room. They quickly apologized and said it was their biggest room for our family and they offered us a choice of two other rooms and we picked one in the end which was smaller but marginally better but again old and very tired looking, it has had its best years behind it. At least there was a working safe and the carpet slightly less stained. The towels were uncomfortable to use as they are too thin and not very absorbent. Although the room is very clean you just do not expect badly stained carpet in a 5 star hotel that is expensive so even though it is clean it still looked dirty and uninviting. The floor we got was a smoking floor although there was no smell in our room, the corridor had smoke smell since the guests in the royal suite several doors away were smoking and always left their door open to let the smoke out to the corridor. I guess they paid more than us so they can do whatever they want. We paid EURO 360 a night with no breakfast. This is the second most expensive hotels we stayed in Europe, the most expensive was The Bulgari in Milan at Euro 690 a night. On the plus side, its location is great close to MarientPlatz. All of the hotel staff from the concierge, the manager, the cleaning lady were fantastic, very helpful and accommodating. We were told that they have recently renovated rooms unfortunately they were unavailable during our stay or too small for our family.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a recently renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amadeus88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martina_Bindig, Manager at Hotel Koenigshof, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
Dear Amadeus88,

Thank you for honest comment on tripadvisor. I have to admit that we are not happy with your words, but they will help us to improve the situation in the rooms you are speaking of.

As you already got to know we are giving a facelift to a few rooms. At the same time I want to let you know, that the Hotel Koenigshof will be totally changed in the next years. But as there are many approvals from the local government necessary, we are not able to tell you, when we will start with this project.

The more I am happy to hear that you were satisfied with the staff. I will let them know and want to assure that they all ever try to do their best job.

Hoping to welcoming you again despite of that experience I send you my best personal regards

Martina Bindig
Assistant to the Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Excellent 5 star hotel - very well trained and attentive staff. Superbly appointed rooms. Free Wifi. Very good breakfast. Clearly an expensive hotel but they work hard for their money. Great location in a great city.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toecap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martina_Bindig, Manager at Hotel Koenigshof, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Dear toecap

We are happy to hear that you loved your stay at our hotel with its location, facilities and our staff. I will be happy to forward your compliments to our team, who I’m certain will be encouraged by your beautiful remarks

Thanking you for your nice comment and we hope to welcome you again.

Kindest regards

Martina Bindig
Assistant to the Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.2 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 382 in Munich
1,539 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
0.8 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#15 of 382 in Munich
1,985 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 382 in Munich
1,627 reviews
0.2 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#12 of 382 in Munich
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Koenigshof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Koenigshof

Property: Hotel Koenigshof
Address: Karlsplatz 25, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Munich
#6 Green Hotel in Munich
#12 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#13 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#28 Family Hotel in Munich
#34 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Koenigshof 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Konigshof celebrates luxury in a wonderfully natural way. A family-owned and managed hotel in Munich city centre, the Konigshof combines exquisite furnishings and features with courteous, personal service that is rare to find in such perfection. This luxury hotel belongs to the exclusive Leading Hotels of the World consortium, and it is well known as a preferred venue in Munich for travellers and gourmets, connoisseurs and entrepreneurs from all around the globe. The word Konigshof translates directly as "Royal Court", and this luxury hotel is a tribute to its name.With 87 rooms and suites, all furnished in superb comfort and style, the Hotel Konigshof is quite small for a luxury hotel, but that is one of the many things that makes it so special. In addition to the elegant lobby with piano, our hotel also boasts an exceptional bar, a delightful wellness oasis and a gourmet restaurant that is one of the city's culinary highlights. It has a Michelin Star and 18 Gault Millau points and is a member of the "L'Art de Vivre - Gourmet Residences" association. The building also houses the Geisel's wine shop - one of the top addresses for connoisseurs of fine wines from Munich and the region. The Hotel Konigshof receives its guests at an incomparable location, directly opposite the fountain plaza at Karlsplatz/Stachus, beside the historical Palace of Justice, and near the stock exchange and the landmarked Kunstlerhaus building at Lenbachplatz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Koenigshof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koenigshof Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing