We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel in great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Koenigshof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Koenigshof
Ranked #22 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Seattle
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2010

Stayed at the Sofitel before which is also lovely but a little farther away from the core (4-5 minute walk). Loved this hotel as well. The hotel is very grand and beautiful inside. The breakfast is amazing and in a very pretty room and worth the trip. A nice little jacuzzi/steam/sauna area is on site as well. Literally across the street a quick walk to the main drag and the center of the historic part of town with restaurants, shopping etc....
Very pretty rooms and a worthwhile hotel if you can afford it! Also really enjoyed the bar which is open late and on Thursdays-Saturdays offers a very nice piano lounge and the gentleman sings real nice ballads.

Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bufind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    118
    43
    17
    15
See reviews for
103
197
40
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2010

A luxury hotel and very nice staff , is located in the heart of Munich and next to shopping centers and restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fahadm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2009

The interior of this hotel is very nice and the service was impeccable. Our room was nice but not what we expected from the 5 star hotel. The hotel's location is great; 3 minutes from the train station and right at the beginning of the old town. The highlight was the breakfast. A lot of options to choose from and service was excellent. Although the rooms looked more like 4 stars, the service, location and breakfast made up for it.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LBC3691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2009

I agree with Dulcinea 12, it is misleading. It is not a classic hotel, it's new, the exterior looks like it belongs in Eastern Europe c. 1900. The lobby is somewhat elegant, my room was luxurious but also did not feel authentic. The front desk was not very knowledgeable and ranged from goofy to imperious. The area is filled with chain restaurants and feels very commercial and tawdry. I'm guessing that this is a businessman's hotel masked as a luxury hotel, which is why it rings a false note, but that's just a guess.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WheatStacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2009

Very well located. Pleasant staff, excellent attention. You can take the SBahn from the Airport to the entrance of the Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank otzda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2009

Dear all,

I stayed at this hotel with my wife for our honeymoon for 3 nights at the middle of August 2009. Let me briefly share some thoughts...

Booked a 7-series transfer from the airport to the hotel... Didn't work as the hotel was not able to fulfill its confirmed to me service. To my question: "Why could not you provide me with 7-series as indicated?", the answer was: "Sorry, was not available. But we provide you with another car, didn't we?"

Yes, you did, but at a higher price and not quite the same year class - an old S-klasse.

If the car was not available, why did you confirm my request? Why couldn't you send me an e-mail or call me to let me know about this change? I booked three weeks in advance - what kind of planning does this hotel have?

Room. The confirmation said that it's the king-size "French bad" - in reality it was two beds that were put together. On my complaint the consierge told me that ALL of their superior rooms have the beds like this. Who is lying - a marketing department or staff?

The soap and all the shampoos and stuff is provided only once - as you sign in. No additional amenities whatsoever. It's a FIVE star hotel. Yeah, right! :-)

My deal had breakfast included. On the check-out the lady behind the counter wanted me to pay for the breakfast in addition. She was quite surprised when I mentioned that it should be included. After three minutes of searching the truth was finally restored.

Breakfast. It's the worst I ever had in my life. No choice for a FIVE star hotel. Rude, tired staff at the restaurant.

The staff at the reception. People, if you think that only smiling resolves the issues you are wrong! They don't know how to treat a customer...really don't!

Somebody mentioned here that there is a nice sigar smoking are at the lobby. Yes, there is an area, but like in old Soviet hotels with old furniture (I mean, it really old, not an "old look").

Don't get me wrong here. I am trying to compare apples to apples. I stayed at the Four Seasons Kempinski Hotel Munich, at the Bayerischer Hof, Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, Sofitel. Bayerischer Hof is the top-notch hotel - the best in Munich!!!!

To make a long story short - if you don't want disappointment for your money - don't stay at this hotel. Ever.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HellRott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QATAR
Level Contributor
227 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2009

I have impressed by booking the hotel I saw on their site, including .
But when I arrived the room was surprised by the form and size of the very small
There is no minimum similler between the room i request it online and the one i have had it .
The tone of the chiff of the reception with me was a very racist ..
And he Have Saying "This room is the best we have and I might be wrong, when I saw the picture online !!"
I have Requested to check out of the hotel on the same day because of bad handling, which I received from this man.
And did not bother to question why ????!!

JUST saying that I must pay the price for my stay for two days .

Note that the time of my request to get out of the 1:30 p.m

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank QATAR2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
0.0 mi away
Anna Hotel
Anna Hotel
#63 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bayerischer Hof Hotel
Bayerischer Hof Hotel
#40 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,455 reviews
0.2 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#9 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
0.7 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#15 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Koenigshof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Koenigshof

Property: Hotel Koenigshof
Address: Karlsplatz 25, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Munich
#6 Green Hotel in Munich
#13 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#13 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#28 Family Hotel in Munich
#34 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Koenigshof 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Konigshof celebrates luxury in a wonderfully natural way. A family-owned and managed hotel in Munich city centre, the Konigshof combines exquisite furnishings and features with courteous, personal service that is rare to find in such perfection. This luxury hotel belongs to the exclusive Leading Hotels of the World consortium, and it is well known as a preferred venue in Munich for travellers and gourmets, connoisseurs and entrepreneurs from all around the globe. The word Konigshof translates directly as "Royal Court", and this luxury hotel is a tribute to its name.With 87 rooms and suites, all furnished in superb comfort and style, the Hotel Konigshof is quite small for a luxury hotel, but that is one of the many things that makes it so special. In addition to the elegant lobby with piano, our hotel also boasts an exceptional bar, a delightful wellness oasis and a gourmet restaurant that is one of the city's culinary highlights. It has a Michelin Star and 18 Gault Millau points and is a member of the "L'Art de Vivre - Gourmet Residences" association. The building also houses the Geisel's wine shop - one of the top addresses for connoisseurs of fine wines from Munich and the region. The Hotel Konigshof receives its guests at an incomparable location, directly opposite the fountain plaza at Karlsplatz/Stachus, beside the historical Palace of Justice, and near the stock exchange and the landmarked Kunstlerhaus building at Lenbachplatz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Koenigshof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koenigshof Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing