We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome day in Munich”
Review of Big Hat Tours

Big Hat Tours
Ranked #3 of 124 Tours in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Munich City, Third Reich, Dachau, Salzburg, Nuremberg and Neuschwanstein and other Ludwig II Castles. A tour with Curt Milburn is like having a welcoming family friend show you around Munich. Curt's been called "The Wikipedia of History". He specializes in small group and private tours. Tours are tailor-made and Curt finds out what YOU want to see. His City Tours go beyond canned, set routes. You'll see the famous sites, architecture, learn about kings, Hitler, foods and beer. Our Third Reich Tours delve deep into more than when, but why and how the Nazis came to power and you'll see the bombed buildings of Hitler. Curt's Dachau tours are sensitive and remarkably moving and his Neuschwanstein and Castle tours are great fun. Salzburg & Nuremberg are within your reach with Big Hat Tours! Every tour is accompanied by an Apple i-Pad with hundreds of photos to put you into history.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome day in Munich”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Curt is american and he knows all the history of the city since it was born. I highly recommend big hat tours if you want to have a fun day in a somehow boring city!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Coman C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    632
    4
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Big Hat Castle Tours”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My wife and I did two different castle tours with Curt from Big Hat - Neuschwanstein and Herrenchiemsee. Curt was a great guide - prompt, responsive and very well prepared. He knew a lot of small details that made the trip more pleasant, such as best places to sit on the train for optimal views, best times to arrive, best places to eat, etc. He also does a lot of historical research and provided us with lot's of historical context to what we were seeing. If you like to be in the know, then go with Curt at Big Hat.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Don't miss this tour...”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

...and take it early in your visit, because Curtis will leave you with so many ideas and places to see that are must-dos.
His tour is personalized to your interest, educational, and highly enjoyable. (Yes, educational AND enjoyable!) His trusty ipad is a wonderful complement to his incredible knowledge. We've taken personal tours in England and France: this one was the best ever.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Michigangal19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Unequaled guide for city plus Reich tour”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Went overtime with Curtis around the city. I admired his commitment to the craft. The research and additional photos put each stop into perspective. A nice bonus was lunch afterwards at a great spot. Ask him to take you to the market. He is worth every penny.

Helpful?
2 Thank dougksu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing tour guide!”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Thanks to all of the outstanding reviews here on Tripadvisor, we had the pleasure of meeting Curt and accompanying him to the Nueschwanstein Castle. What an unforgettable day it was! From the moment we met him we felt as if we were spending the day with a family friend. Every step along the way, from purchasing the train tickets, to navigating the best seating on the train, to knowing how to avoid long lines at the lunch and then again at the castle, Curt was spot on. He used the 2 hr train ride to show us pictures on his IPad as he explained the history of Nueschwanstein and King Ludwig. That was a huge help because the guide who actually showed us around the castle provided minimal detail. Without Curt's extensive knowledge to help prep us, we would not have understood/appreciated much of what we saw that day.

The trip to Nueschwanstein is a rather long day (9-10 hrs) so it's really important to chose a tour guide with whom you will enjoy spending the entire day. Curt at Big Hat Tours is the guy! Professional, articulate, funny, engaging, knowledgable and prepared! Truly the BEST tour guide ever! My only regret? Not scheduling more tours with him during our visit to Munich.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank BAW0929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Big Hat Tours also viewed

 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Big Hat Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing