We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very friendly hotel”
Review of Hotel Excelsior

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior
Ranked #84 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I have stayed many times in Hotel Excelsior for business trips. It is a very friendly and personal hotel where they quickly know your name and give you a nicer room.
There can be quite some differences between rooms and especially the renovated rooms are very nice. Avoid the single rooms as those are really small.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maestro074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
socialex, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear aestro07...,
Many thanks for your review and the related positive feedback. It was a pleasure for us to welcome you back to our hotel. We put great emphasis on warmth, courtesy and professionalism. It is wonderful to hear that you experienced this personal service we would like to provide to our guests. We are pleased to hear that you like your new very modern Alpine Rooms which has been established last year. We look forward to your next visit. Warmest regards Julia Sprung and the team of the Hotel Excelsior

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (559)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Excelsior
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 559 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2013

Just the one night here and when I arrived at Munich railway station, there was lots of building going on and the hotel was hard to find. When I did get there, the checking was very good with very helpful staff. The room was well appointed with loads of room, the only minus point was the over bath shower with a pointed bottomed bath, a little tricky. The restaurant next door was also very good with excellent service and food.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank Doug_421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
socialex, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear Doug_421
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to read that you have chosen our hotel for your stay and that you rate especially our staff and restaurant very high. The next time you are in town we look forward to welcoming you back.
Warmest regards Julia Sprung and the team of the hotel Excelsior.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I stayed here out of convenience as our traveling party were headed in different directions at the end of a longer trip - some departing to the airport and others to the train station.

The room was okay, although not particularly large, but that is based more on American standards than European. I will say that the staff were extremely helpful and friendly, which was immensely appreciated from a non German-speaking traveler.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris42310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
socialex, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear Chris42310,
We truly appreciate that you have taken the time to summarize your impressions of our hotel. Thank you for your compliment on our colleagues. I will pass your kind words on to them. We regret if we did not meet your expectations on our hotel and convince entirely from us. Nevertheless we would be happy to welcome you back to our property for another occasion. Warmest regards Julia Sprung and the team of the Hotel Excelsior.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in November and were so impressed with the hotel. The room, although only a standard double was huge - almost the size of a small suite, and spotlessly clean. Service, from concierge through the bar and restaurant was impeccable and nothing was too much trouble.
It's right opposite the main train station and only a 10-15 stroll down to Marienplatz.

I've worked in the hospitality industry for almost 20 years now and would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone.
Munich is a great city and I would definitely re-book this hotel upon our return

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BirminghamKath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
socialex, Sale and Marketing Manager at Hotel Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear BirminghamKath,
Thank you so much for your great review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our services. Happily and with great pleasure I have passed your compliments on to our staff. We hope to seeing again soon in our hotel. Warmest regards Julia Sprung and the team of the Hotel Excelsior.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed here for Oktoberfest. The location was close to the venue. Everything else about this hotel was awful. Poor service, dirty rooms. Worse of all I paid $55 for the breakfast for my girlfriend and myself, and got there and there was no food remaining at the buffet. And they would not refund out money. Avoid this place!

Room Tip: Avoid the hotel!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hbsseller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
socialex, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear hbsseller,
Thank you for contacting us here. Great to know that you enjoyed the location of our hotel. We feel very sorry to read about your bad experience during the breakfast and understand very well that you are upset. You are right: Something like this should not occur in our hotel. Kindly be ensured that this is not normally the case or for that matter, a part of the hotel´s standards operating procedures. I will discuss your comment with our food and beverage manager in order to clarify this issue.
Spotless cleanliness of our rooms is our highest priority and we put great emphasis on warmth, courtesy and professionalism. Therefore we read your comment with great surprise and it has made us very concerned. Honestly we cannot comprehend your criticism as we unfortunately did not get any further information about the reason or incident that you have formed such a negative opinion about our hotel. We kindly ask you to contact us (j.sprung@geisel-privathotels.de; +49 (0) 89 55137 8129). We are keen speaking to you personally about this incident.
We will do everything we can in order to make sure that this negative experience is not the last impression of our hotel. Warmest regards Julia Sprung and the team of the Hotel Excelsior.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Stayed here on my birthday in an Alpine Room, had a lovely dinner with corresponding wines/port in Geisels Vinothek, 2 minibars in room, TV in the bathroom, very comfortable bed, luxurious breakfast buffet with good selection. Highly recommended as in central location close to the main station and the main town.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thecreativeminds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
socialex, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear thecreative minds,
We are honored and want to personally thank you for efforts and your kind words. How nice that you stayed with us for this special occasion! It is great to hear that you enjoyed our new room category, the Alpine Rooms, which has been created last year and your dinner in our restaurant Geisel´s Vinothek. Looking forward to welcoming you again soon.
Warmest regards Julia Sprung and the team of the Hotel Excelsior

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I stayed at the Holiday Inn on Effner Strasse during this October for Oktoberfest as well as the Excelsior. I wish I had stayed at the Hotel Excelsior the entire time. The Saturday night rate for the Excelsior was nearly the same at the Holiday Inn but the Excelsior is a much better value. The rooms are bigger, it is more plush/less utilitarian, and the location was so much more central (this really helps to keep the taxi costs down!) If you are sharing with a friend, it is a great choice because there is room for both of your suitcases and the bathroom is really spacious with two sinks. Beds are comfy and firm. The decor overall is slightly dated and this is definitely not a hip 'design' hotel - but it is still tasteful. There is a lot of great shopping right around the hotel and you can walk to the main square as well. The housekeeping staff was efficient and the front desk staff were helpful. When we checked out, we found out that a snack item we had from the mini bar was only 1 Euro - and that everything in the mini bar was a Euro! Wish we had known that before :) !

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CalDreamn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
socialex, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear CalDreamn, Thank you for your great and extensive review and the related positive feedback to our staff. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our central location and fancy our facilities as well as the style of our hotel. We hope to see you again soon. Warmest regards from Munich. Julia Sprung and the team of the Hotel Excelsior.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Anna Hotel
Anna Hotel
#56 of 385 in Munich
684 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Koenigshof
Hotel Koenigshof
#18 of 385 in Munich
592 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Meier City Munich
Hotel Meier City Munich
#156 of 385 in Munich
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#13 of 385 in Munich
562 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aloft Munich
Aloft Munich
#22 of 385 in Munich
665 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Buddy
Hotel Buddy
#39 of 385 in Munich
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior

Address: Schuetzenstr. 11, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Munich
#39 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#47 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#68 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £143 - £493 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Excelsior 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Excelsior is one of best located hotels in Munich city centre. The hotel distinguishes itself with traditional Bavarian hospitality, elegant country-house style and personal service. This family-owned and managed first-class hotel is a member of the Preferred Hotels & Resorts group, and delights its guests with an incomparable blend of relaxed atmosphere and warm Bavarian sophistication The ground floor luxuriates in refined country-house style and ceiling frescos. The upper floors are a little more modern. Business people from Munich and all corners of the globe use our elegant conference rooms with lobby for their company events. The hotel houses a traditional restaurant that serves delicious Bavarian-Italian specialties, and an outstanding selection of fine wines - Geisel's Vinothek. Situated just across from Munich's central railway station, the Hauptbahnhof, the Hotel Excelsior receives its guests in a quiet location not far from the old Botanic Gardens. The entire Munich inner city, major attractions such as Marienplatz, and many more besides, can be reached in just a few minutes, either on foot or using Munich's excellent underground trains, trams or buses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Munich
Excelsior Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing