We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“in the middle of Munich”
Review of Hotel Excelsior

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior
Ranked #72 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“in the middle of Munich”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I can only join most of other travelers who try this hotel. Good location in the center of town, steps from the Main Station. Convenient train (S-Bahn) communication from and to the airport (although in real life trains can be much slower than scheduled). Good for business and leisure. Hotel itself: my single room and bathroom were very small but well organized, so the size was not really a problem. Everything clean and well maintained.Good solution for internet (free) – once you log in, you are in through all stay, does not matter with how many devices. Friendly and ready to help staff. Substantial breakfast with a choice of products for Euro 20 pp extra. Negatives: I wanted a quiet room so I got one, overlooking the courtyard. It was not really quiet, with permanent noise of some technical installation, but there was no flow of air at all, hot and stiff. Even with high ceiling adding the volume to the room, it was impossible to rest.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Piotr60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia S, Quality Manager at Hotel Excelsior, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Piotr60, Thank you for your kind review. I am happy to hear that you feel comfortable staying with us and that we could delight you with our service. It is great that you also enjoyed our buffet breakfast and central location. I would like to apologize if you have been disturbed by noise from outside during your stay. We hope that we will have the pleasure to welcoming you back. Please let us know in this case that you require a quite room and we will try our utmost to allocate a more calm room to another side of our hotel. However kindly be advised due to our central location noise from outside is not completely avoidable. Hope to seeing you again soon. With best regards Julia Sprung (Quality Manager) and the team of the Hotel Excelsior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    213
    64
    31
    16
See reviews for
79
136
50
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed at this hotel and even though the price is high the rooms were pretty old style not even a kettle for tea or coffee in the room. Saw some other reviews about alpine rooms but guess we were not that lucky !!!

The location of the hotel however is awesome ...

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank DaxJacobAbraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia S, Manager at Hotel Excelsior, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear DaxJacobAbraham, Thank you for your review. The description of your negative dexperiences on our hotel makes us very concerned.
We take your feedback very seriously and regret if we could not meet your expection on our room. We plan an improvement in the foreseeable future.
I can ensure yout that modernization and revonvation works are conducted on a regular basis in our hotel. It is correct that not all of our rooms are equipped with kettles. Whenever we will have the pleasure to welcome you as guest again, please feel free to contact us directly – we will be delighted to appoint your room with one of them. We are hoping you will give us another chance to prove that we can deliver better services during your next stay. Best regards Florian Weiss (Rooms Divison Manager) and the team of the Hotel Excelsior.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
225 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We were amazed by this hotel. It is very close to the station and yet on a pedestrian street so it is quiet. We were welcomed with an upgraded room that was very spacious and most tastefully decorated and well-equipped. We have never stayed in such a quality hotel so central in a big city at such a reasonable price. The breakfast was extra, but well worth it. The restaurant is really exceptional for dinner, but is quite small and must be booked in advance. The hotel is so good that we will hasten our return to Munich so that we can stay again! The staff in particular were most charming and helpful. There is no need to look elsewhere.

Room Tip: It may be a good idea to ask for a superior room, or at least one that has been renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank adspharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia S, Quality Manager at Hotel Excelsior, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear ADSOxford, Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Munich and for writing this wonderful review. It is great that we brought you pleasure with the upgrade and that you enjoyed your stay in every aspect. I would like to thank you in particular for your praising words on our staff. Happily I will forward your compliments to our team. How nice that you also relish your visit in our restaurant. We all hope to welcoming you back in the near future. With best regards Julia Sprung (Quality Manager) and the team of the Hotel Excelsior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I stayed at the Hotel Excelsior for a business trip. It is conviently located next to the main rail station and only a very short walk to some very nice sights. Salzburg, Austria was only an hour and 45 minute ride away.
The hotel was clean and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful.
My room was small, but it was a single. For one person, it was plenty.
The swimming pool area was nice and there was even a small locker room with a shower.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelLouisville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia S, Quality Manager at Hotel Excelsior, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear travelLousiville, What a nice feedback! It is great that you have chosen our hotel for your business trip and that we could delight you with our service. With pleasure I passed your praising words on our personal to the entire team. I am glad that you also find the time to relax in the wellness area of our sister hotel. We all hope to seeing you again soon. With best regards Julia Sprung (Quality Manager) and the team of the Hotel Excelsior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arkansas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Our family stayed here for a night before heading to Dachau and then Salzburg.

Pros:
- Rooms were large and the bathrooms had every feature you could want (large tub, bathrobes, a scale, etc.)
- Exercise facility is available at a nearby hotel (5 minute walk)
- Breakfast buffet has a lot of options
- Business center available

Cons:
- Stayed on fifth floor and couldn't get wifi signal very strong in our room (everywhere else I tried it worked well)
- Mattresses have a gap between them that makes a queen bed into basically two twins. (It's a Europe thing)

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank antraroony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia S, Quality Manager at Hotel Excelsior, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear antraroony, Thank you for your review. I truly appreciate that you have taken the time to summarize your impressions of our hotel and to get to know that you relish your stay. I feel sorry if you had problems with the WiFi connection in your room. There are few rooms in our hotel on the fifth floor they provide a low signal. For your next stay please advise prior your arrival if you prefer a king size mattress, we will be pleased to arrange this for you. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. With best regards Julia Sprung (Quality Manager) and the team of the Hotel Excelsior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Hotel Excelsior is a very charming clean hotel with friendly helpful staff. The hotel is close to the metro rail and main rail station in Munich which makes travel easy to an from the hotel. A trip of only 3 hours took us to Salzburg, Austria.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dalene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia S, Quality Manager at Hotel Excelsior, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Dalene P, Thank you for your wonderful review and the related very positive feedback especially on our colleagues. Happily I will pass your compliments on to the entire staff. It is great that you also enjoyed our location close to the main train station. The next time you are in town we look forward to seeing you again. With best regards Julia Sprung (Quality Manager) and the team of the Hotel Excelsior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
590 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Friendly English speaking staff. Cosy bar. Room perfect and very stylish. Off main roads in pedestrian shopping area. Easy walk to centre and main stations. Breakfast ample but costs 20 euros. Recommend.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank goodguyjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia S, Quality Manager at Hotel Excelsior, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear gooduyja, I truly appreciate that you have taken the time to effectively summarize your impressions of our hotel. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay and it will be a pleasure to welcoming you back soon. Warmest regards Julia Sprung (Quality Manager) and the team of the Hotel Excelsior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Anna Hotel
Anna Hotel
#54 of 383 in Munich
662 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Meier City Munich
Hotel Meier City Munich
#150 of 383 in Munich
234 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Koenigshof
Hotel Koenigshof
#16 of 383 in Munich
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#7 of 383 in Munich
496 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Europaischer Hof
Hotel Europaischer Hof
#62 of 383 in Munich
785 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eden Hotel Wolff
Eden Hotel Wolff
#41 of 383 in Munich
1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior

Property: Hotel Excelsior
Address: Schuetzenstr. 11, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Munich
#39 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#41 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#68 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Excelsior 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Excelsior is one of best located hotels in Munich city centre. The hotel distinguishes itself with traditional Bavarian hospitality, elegant country-house style and personal service. This family-owned and managed first-class hotel is a member of the Preferred Hotels & Resorts group, and delights its guests with an incomparable blend of relaxed atmosphere and warm Bavarian sophistication The ground floor luxuriates in refined country-house style and ceiling frescos. The upper floors are a little more modern. Business people from Munich and all corners of the globe use our elegant conference rooms with lobby for their company events. The hotel houses a traditional restaurant that serves delicious Bavarian-Italian specialties, and an outstanding selection of fine wines - Geisel's Vinothek. Situated just across from Munich's central railway station, the Hauptbahnhof, the Hotel Excelsior receives its guests in a quiet location not far from the old Botanic Gardens. The entire Munich inner city, major attractions such as Marienplatz, and many more besides, can be reached in just a few minutes, either on foot or using Munich's excellent underground trains, trams or buses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Munich
Excelsior Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing