We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely rooms, good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Excelsior

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior
Ranked #71 of 382 Hotels in Munich
GreenLeadersBronze level
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
94 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely rooms, good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

The rooms in this hotel are very nicely decorated, good size for Europe, comfortable beds, but something seems to be missing. Of course it was clean, it's in Germany. We rented 3 rooms for a family of 5 with 3 children. We could not get all 3 rooms on the same floor. After requesting a room change to the same floor, each proposed new room was worse than the one before. After 10 minutes of looking at different rooms we requested our original rooms and were told that one of them was no longer available. We had checked in early afternoon and the hotel was not busy at the time. Only one of the three room had a bidet in the bathroom and only one room (a different one) had a safe. No air conditioning so we had to leave the windows open to cool the rooms. All of our rooms overlooked a street or pedestrian walkway and it was very noisy all night, but street noise is not the hotel's fault. Breakfast was outrageously expensive for what you get, although it was tasty and plentiful with lots of choices. I would recommend the Starbucks across the street instead. Parking is in a garage across the street, no valet. No bellman or porter that we ever saw. The reception staff is friendly and tries to be helpful. Good location; it is an easy walk to the clock tower or the beer garden.

Room Tip: Arrive early and get a room overlooking the pedestrian walkway (noisy) instead of the street (very n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheesehead_In_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia S, Quality Manager at Hotel Excelsior, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Cheesehead_In_Texas,
I appreciate and thank you that you have taken the time to share your thoughts with us and the travel community. It is great that you rate our housekeeping service very high, enjoyed our central location and praise the friendly and helpfulness of our personal.
First of all I feel sorry that you had been unsatisfied with the room allocation for you and your family and I would like to apologize for any inconvenience. Kindly be ensured we always try to allocate for a family, rooms on the same floor. However we are very busy during the summer months, especially as we have a lot of families staying with us therefore I hope for your understanding that it is not always possible for us to arrange the rooms accordingly.
It is correct that due to our central location noise from outside is not completely avoidable, however our rooms to the inner court and the pedestrian precinct are in general more quite and our windows are soundproofed.
We are aware some of our rooms need refurbishment and that air conditioning is a frequent request of our guests especially in the summer. That is the reason why a modernization of our hotel is planned within the next two years.
It is sad if we were not able to delight you with the variety of our breakfast buffet and e.g. our Bavarian specialties.
Please be advised we offer valet parking in the garage of our sister hotel. Just contact our reception desk.
I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. We truly hope that you will give us another chance and will have the pleasure to welcoming you and your family back.
With best regards
Julia Sprung (Quality Manager) and the team of the Hotel Excelsior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    210
    63
    30
    16
See reviews for
78
128
49
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in a beautifully air-conditioned and double-glazed room, so no problems with noise. Staff were polite, friendly and helpful. We only had the breakfast on one morning because we thought 20 Euros each was a bit steep for what was fine but no better than we got in hotels in small towns. Never thought we'd be having breakfast in a nearby (American) coffee chain, but there you are...

Railway station is 2 minutes away, but the area felt perfectly safe. The fabulous Munich art galleries were a 10 - 15 minute walk. We had to work a bit harder to find good places to eat. Best to get away from the main street and Marienplatz.

If shopping is your thing, you'll find plenty to do very nearby.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrKemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia S, Quality Manager at Hotel Excelsior, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear MrKemp,
Many thank for your great review.
I am glad you have chosen our property for your cultural visit of Munich. It is wonderful that you enjoyed our rooms, rate the service of our staff very high and felt safe and comfortable in the location of our hotel, next to main train station and Karlsplatz/Stachus.
We hope to seeing you again soon and let me recommend our restaurant Geisel´s Vinothek or the restaurant of our sister properties Hotel Königshof and anna hotel as great places for a nice lunch or dinner.
With best regards
Julia Sprung (Quality Manager) and the team of the Hotel Excelsior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed here for three nights on a trip with friends. It was a tight squeeze in our room, but that was mainly down to the fact three gents were sharing. For a European hotel room it was of a good size, we found it to be clean, tidy and everything we were looking for.

Location wise it was easy to reach from the airport via the U-bahn and well positioned for a short walk to Oktoberfest.

The reception staff were exceptionally friendly as well, and if I am to return to Munich this will be my hotel of choice. Recommended!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank obduro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia S, Quality Manager at Hotel Excelsior, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear skizzblog,
I appreciate you have taken the time to share your thoughts with us and the trip advisor community.
It was a pleasure for us that you have chosen our hotel for your stay in Munich and I would like to thank you in particular for your kind words on our staff at reception. Happily I will forward your compliments to our team.
We look forward to your next stay hopefully in the near future.
With best regards
Julia Sprung (Quality Manager) and the team of the Hotel Excelsior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Given the last minute booking, this was a great find.
The service was very welcoming and helpful, the rooms were very clean and very cozy with great beds, even the extra bed was great. Overall very clean with good amenities (free wifi, though the connection in the room was not great..). Breakfast had both great choice and quality.
The location was phenomenal, being about a 10-15min walk from the Marienplatz, ie central Munich. Other than sights located on the brim of the city, such as the BMW museum etc and Dachau, we went everywhere by foot. There were also plenty of good dining choices within walking distance (though not right outside, mainly in the old town).
Additionally, we traveled by car and although the hotel itself is in a pedestrian zone, they offer to park your car for you at 25€ a day, which we decided to opt out of and find our own, cheaper parking nearby.

Most of all, however, I had to mention that I forgot my wallet in the room safe. When I realized in Austria the next day, I called them and the housekeeper had already deposited it at the reception and everything was still inside as well. They held it until I was able to pick it up a few days later, but in perfect condition and they were very helpful and understanding about the situation. Bravo!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chillicrabfondue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia S, Quality Manager at Hotel Excelsior, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear chillicrabfondue,
I truly appreciate that you have taken the time to summarize your impressions of your stay.
It was entirely our pleasure having you as guest and I am particularly happy that you believe you made the perfect choice with our hotel.
Thank you for your compliments on our staff. Happily I will pass your kind words on to our team.
We hope to welcoming you back in the near future.
With best regards from Munich
Julia Sprung (Quality Manager) and the team of the Hotel Excelsior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paia, Hawaii
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

My friend and I stayed here for 4 nights and loved it! The location was perfect for shopping, dining, entertainment, and our day trips by train. We were able to go anywhere we wanted in no time and with very little effort. The room was very clean, well maintained, and very comfortable in every way, including the beds. We loved the espresso maker in the room and also the fact that you could open the windows all the way. There was hardly any traffic noise since the hotel is located in a pedestrian area. The staff was also very friendly and helpful. The shirts we had ironed came back absolutely perfect. The bartender is also worth mentioning. Ask for a Martini with rose water. Excellent! Great hotel, highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ureviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia S, Quality Manager at Hotel Excelsior, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Ureviews,
I truly appreciate that you have taken the time to effectively summarize your impressions of our hotel. It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay with our service, rooms and central location. I would like to thank you for your kind words on our staff and for our Bar Manager in particular.
We hope to welcoming you back soon.
With best regards
Julia Sprung (Quality Manager) and the team of the Hotel Excelsior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

We have stayed there for 3 nights in mid July 2014 with our children,
it is after all a business hotel, clean and factional, nice friendly and helpful stuff, good breakfast for adults and fussy kids. Hotel is central, next to public transport walking distance from everything nice shopping and restaurants as you step out of the hotel but the side of the central station attracts some funny people too. all is very good position but i have seen nicer parts of city centre. We had 2 Alpine rooms ( that unfortunately there wasn't an option for connecting rooms) specious and clean a little bit clinical look with beautiful bathroom, could have been nice to have a balcony or option to open the windows. there is a very nice restaurant there that always busy so i guess advance booking is recommended.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have air-condition
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Efrat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia S, Quality Manager at Hotel Excelsior, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Efrat M,
Thank you for taking your time in writing this nice review.
I am glad you and your family enjoyed your stay in our modern Alpine Rooms, and particularly pleased to read that our services came to your satisfaction. You are right: the striking distance of the main train station is not the nicest area of Munich. However I guess this is the same in many cities worldwide. As you described if you turn to the other side of our hotel you are directly in a nice shopping area and you can walk to the main sights of the town. Our restaurant Vinothek is very popular therefore a reservation is highly recommended.
The next time you and your family are in town we hope to seeing you again.
With best regards Julia Sprung (Quality Manager) and the team of the Hotel Excelsior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baku, Azerbaijan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I did stay for 3 nights. The breakfast was good. The young reception girls and guys were friendly, can't say the same about middle-aged man.

The single room is very small. In some single rooms like 216, the bath is 2 sq.meters. There was a cockroach in my bath.

The location is very convenient, right near the metro station and 5 minutes walk to the Marien Platz.

Room Tip: Double rooms are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank taurus311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia S, Quality Manager at Hotel Excelsior, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear taurus311, Thank you for taking your time in writing this review. It is great that you enjoyed our breakfast and our central location. I am sorry if we could not fulfill your expectation your room. Kindly be advised all our rooms are individual designed and decorated; one room does not look alike the other but varies e.g. by size. We very much hope to welcoming you again and allocate for your next stay a larger room for you. Please feel free to contact me directly. Thank you for your comment on our reception staff. I will pass both comments (the positive and negative) on to our team. Please be ensured we very much value personality traits such as friendliness and courtesy among our employees. I can ensure you our housekeeping team took immediate action once you reported you have seen a bug in your room upon your check out. Without any doubt: Something like this should not occur in our hotel and I feel very about the incident. As mentioned we took the appropriate measures that this will not happen again. We are hoping you will give us the opportunity to prove that this is not normally the case for that matter, a part of the hotel´s standards operating procedures. It would be a pleasure for us to seeing you again in our hotel in the near future. With best regards Julia Sprung (Qualiy Manager +49 (0) 89 55 137 8191, j.sprung@geisel-privathotels.de) and the team of the Hotel Excelsior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Anna Hotel
Anna Hotel
#63 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Meier City Munich
Hotel Meier City Munich
#158 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Koenigshof
Hotel Koenigshof
#22 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#9 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Europaischer Hof
Hotel Europaischer Hof
#64 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior

Property: Hotel Excelsior
Address: Schuetzenstr. 11, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Munich
#39 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#39 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#68 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Excelsior 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Excelsior is one of best located hotels in Munich city centre. The hotel distinguishes itself with traditional Bavarian hospitality, elegant country-house style and personal service. This family-owned and managed first-class hotel is a member of the Preferred Hotels & Resorts group, and delights its guests with an incomparable blend of relaxed atmosphere and warm Bavarian sophistication The ground floor luxuriates in refined country-house style and ceiling frescos. The upper floors are a little more modern. Business people from Munich and all corners of the globe use our elegant conference rooms with lobby for their company events. The hotel houses a traditional restaurant that serves delicious Bavarian-Italian specialties, and an outstanding selection of fine wines - Geisel's Vinothek. Situated just across from Munich's central railway station, the Hauptbahnhof, the Hotel Excelsior receives its guests in a quiet location not far from the old Botanic Gardens. The entire Munich inner city, major attractions such as Marienplatz, and many more besides, can be reached in just a few minutes, either on foot or using Munich's excellent underground trains, trams or buses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Munich
Excelsior Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing