We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel, walking distance to city centre” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of KING's HOTEL Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
KING's HOTEL Center
Ranked #50 of 381 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Good hotel, walking distance to city centre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

Good 3 star hotel, room size adequate and rooms very modern & clean. The location is very good, walking distance to city centre, underground & main train station.We could of had gotten the underground into town but usually walked as it is so closeby. Our room was lovely & warm, comfy bed & the breakfast was excellent. All mod cons in room, TV, tea/coffee making facilities.The staff really want you to have a pleasant stay and work very hard. Thank you Kings Hotel Center for our lovely stay.

Room Tip: Good hotel, walking distance to city centre. Professional hardworking staff, rooms immaculate &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank puliputri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    420
    525
    141
    19
    9
See reviews for
150
552
50
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
58 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

We stayed one night at the King's Hotel. It's an adequate 3 star hotel. The room was small but clean - fine for our purposes. Reception staff very friendly. It's a good 20 minute walk to Marienplatz and the main sights if you are on a sight seeing trip. But if you need to be near the station and want a no frills place to stay - it's absolutely fine

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wellwhynot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

This is a hotel that is true to their words of caring for their guests. I was particularly intrigued by the way they promote healthy breakfast. They even have gluten-free food corner. I was impressed.

They have a pamphlet informing guests of the way they select the food products. The way they clear the left-overs and the way their bread and pastry are made. Also, in the pamphlet, they explain the way they refurbish the hotel and how they select the bedroom furnishings, from feather down allergic-free pillows to the design of the beds. I was happily surprised by the attention they paid to the details of making sure their guests are well informed of the comfort of their stay. We found it very charming indeed to have natural wood motifs as ceiling on top of the bed.

We stayed for two nights. The hotel is so close to the city center. Even the hop-on hop-off city bus stop is just within 3 minutes walk from the hotel. And the market square is just another 8 minutes walk through the underground walkway, no traffic.

There is only a free 30-min use of the wi-fi, either in the lobby or in the room. That was good enough and it worked for us. We arrived a few hours early before the actual check-in time, but they made up a room for us and we were able to move in to the room within 20 minutes.

The service was good, the staff was able to help with lots of information, but rather mechanical. It would have been super excellent if the staff could put in some human touch, to complement the hotel's "caring" approach.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Rooms are a little small and lack tea/coffee making facilities but they are nicely presented with the fake canopy beds being a nice touch and everything worked, though they did tend to get quite warm and dry at night. Staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast is great with a fantastic selection of fresh, organic foods. It's a relatively short and enjoyable walk into Marienplatz or the train station is not far away and then 2 stops in. Well recommended for short stays and we will use again when in Munich.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Creagh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights in February and were treated very well. The room was very comfortable and the reception staff spoke good English and were very helpful. They allowed us to check in early and they stored our bags for free on our last day in Munich. I would definitely stay at this hotel again as it is in a great location. It is a 15 minute walk to city center and a 2 minute walk to the main train station.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mpittman10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

A lot of people will say that the cheapest way to travel in Europe is to stay in a hostel, if that sounds a bit weird to you, and you are going to Munich, try out King's Hotel, for an inexpensive hotel near downtown Munich. The hotel is within walking distance of the Hauptbahnhof, even if you packed heavy, it isn't that far of a walk. The main road outside the hotel is fairly busy, but that is to be expected for a downtown hotel. I would do what you can to get a room higher up in the hotel, and on the back side of the hotel to eliminate the noise. Our room was on the 4th floor facing in towards the courtyard, and there was minimal noise, even with the window open.

The workers at the front desk speak mostly German, however if you are polite, and attempt to speak a little German, they are more than happy to speak English as well. This same fact goes for pretty much everything while traveling in Europe. Do what you can to speak their language, and be polite when asking if they speak English. The workers are very friendly, so stop and have a chat, and ask them for their opinions on what to do in the city.

The hotel is close to entrances to the u-bahn, so you won't have to walk far to get to transportation, and there are cabs everywhere if you don't want to walk. If you arrive in Munich, there is no need to rent a car unless you plan on doing a lot of travel outside of the city.

The room was European, so it isn't like an American hotel, although there are some nice creature comforts. The flat screen TV is a nice touch, but we didn't watch hardly any TV while we were there. The bed was comfortable, for my wife and I, and we slept just fine while we stayed in Munich. The room overall is a bit small (like all European hotels), but there was room for your luggage, and to sleep, which is all you really need. The shower was great, but the bathroom overall was also a little small. The only reason I gave the hotel a 4 instead of a 5 was because of the size of the room. Not that it was uncomfortable, it was just different than your usual Holiday Inn in the states. Compared to similarly priced hotels in Munich, The King's Hotel was a great deal in my opinion, and I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking to stay downtown in Munich.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side of the hotel overlook a garden and cafe, and are much quieter. The higher up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

My partner and i stayed here for 3 nights in November and got a good deal with lastminuite.com for £50/ night. We thought the room was excellent value. The hotel is just a 5 minuite walk from the main train station and is within walking distance for sightseeing in Munich. We didnt have breakfast here but went to the train station for coffee and pastries which were very cheap. The rooms were warm and comfortable and in typical Bavarian style.
There was a four poster bed which was very comfortable. The bathroom with shower was also very clean. Overall the Kings Hotel Center is an excellent choice for using as a base to see the sights of Munich and the surrounding areas. We also found the staff very friendly and would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunsoaker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
KING's HOTEL First Class
0.1 mi away
Eden Hotel Wolff
Eden Hotel Wolff
#36 of 381 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Muenchen Deutscher Kaiser
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Muenchen City
Ibis Muenchen City
#92 of 381 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,787 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jedermann Hotel
Jedermann Hotel
#24 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KING's HOTEL Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KING's HOTEL Center

Property: KING's HOTEL Center
Address: Marsstr. 15, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Munich
#32 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#39 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — KING's HOTEL Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The KING's HOTEL Center is your affordable accommodation choice in central Munich that still offers luxury fit for a king (or a queen). Our 3-star superior hotel offers a quiet, peaceful retreat decorated with loving attention to detail and where you'll feel right at home at a great price. A four-poster bed in every room and furnishings to contemporary hotel standards will make your stay in the Bavarian metropolis an experience you will not forget. Whether here for business, an active vacation, or a quick city getaway, this is the perfect accommodation for your time in Munich. DEHOGA, the German hospitality association, has awarded the KING's HOTEL Center 3 stars for years and added the Superior rating in December 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your KING's HOTEL Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King`s Hotel Munich
Kings Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing