We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient location, okay for short stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of KING's HOTEL Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
KING's HOTEL Center
Ranked #50 of 381 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Convenient location, okay for short stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

This hotel is close to the train and subway station. There's also a Hertz rental car spot nearby. I'm not a big fan of the "royal" taste decoration of this hotel but the room is clean and cozy. No complimentary breakfast but there's a supermarket nearby where you can get pastry and instant coffee. Wifi is available, but only free 30 minutes everyday. Rooms facing the street side have some traffic noise.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phdgracie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    420
    526
    141
    19
    9
See reviews for
150
552
50
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

Great staff and rooms. The hotel was a pleasure to stay in and we would definately stay there again. It's location is great for the mainline train station. They even arranged for an item of clothing we accidently left behind to be posted home!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StevenJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

Nice Hotel, very convieniently located: close to the central station from where the underground and tram to most places in Munich leave. Very helpful and friendly staff. 30mins of wireless internet a day is for free (July 2012). Spotlessly clean. Great stay!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabrina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldeburgh, Suffolk, England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

I booked this hotel on late rooms.com, 7 days prior to arrival. I chose it because it was the cheapest, highest rated hotel (on Trip Advisor) available for our stay. We stayed in central Munich in a fantastic Pension on our last visit, but it was unavailable this time. The King's Hotel cost 390 Euro for 3 nights in a double room with breakfast, from Saturday 21st July-Tuesday 24th July.

Location:

This hotel is ideally located near the main train station (HBF/Hauptbanhof). Offering numerous transport links all over Munich and surrounding area including- the tram, bus, S-Bahn, U-Bahn and bicycle hire. It is only a 3 minute walk to the hotel from the HBF- if you take a little shortcut and a brisk 15 minute walk to the Marienplatz. Some of the hotels in the Hauptbanhof area can be in undesirable or shady locations ie. next to strip clubs and casinos. However, this hotel is conveniently located down a presentable but by no means beautiful street, opposite some residential flats and wedged in between a butchers shop and a restaurant. I would point out that the main street outside the hotel gets very busy during rush hour.

First Impressions:

First impressions were great. The hotel lobby is immaculate, in all its wood clad glory. The reception staff were very friendly, professional and well presented, their English was also very good.

The Room:

We stayed on the fourth floor at the back of the hotel, overlooking the courtyard and the back of other high rise buildings. The room was an adequate size and decorated in "Victorian" style- which was a little tacky, but not overbearing. The room was absolutely spotless and in very good order. The bathroom was small, but fit for purpose, with only a shower (no bath). There was a large flat screen TV- with 2 English channels- CNN and BBC World. The beds were VERY comfortable, two singles pushed together to make a King. The room had a large window which opened widely- creating a lovely cool breeze. The room was the perfect temperature- air conditioning was available but we didn't need to use it. The room was also very quiet. All this combined created the perfect sleeping conditions!

The Breakfast:

Ok, so I had to pay an extra 12 Euro per person/per day, amounting to 72 Euro- approx £60 for breakfast, for 2 people for a 3 night stay. I had actually pre-paid this on laterooms.com. The lady on reception informed me as I was checking in that "breakfast is included" when it is clearly NOT (I paid 72 Euro for it!!). So breakfast was a little steep, but there was a great selection, it was beautifully presented, well stocked, and managed by friendly helpful staff. There was also a free US newspaper to take away- which was a nice touch.

I would recommend this hotel, as it ticks all the boxes for cleanliness, good sleeping conditions, nice breakfast, good facilities, proximity, friendly staff and cost. But personally, I prefer the more personal service and feel from the local Pensions available in Munich. So if you can book early, then grab a great pension, if not, The Kings Hotel Center makes a welcome substitute.

Room Tip: Go for rooms at the back of the hotel- it's very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mexico_Mel5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackay
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

It is very close to the central station und just a short walk to the city centre. The breakfast is fantastic and the service staff is very good. We even got upgraded in a suite. A very good hotel if you want to stay in munich

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

Let me preface this review by stating that we stayed at the 3-star version and not the 4-star around the corner; however, at least when we walked out the front door of our lobby, there was an Italian restaurant across the street versus a strip joint called "BOOBS" that greets the guests of the 4-star. Our room was spacious enough, clean enough and decorated nicely--the wood panel mounted on the ceiling above the bed was a nice touch. Even that too-small German shower in the bathroom was a little larger than the rest we'd experienced in Rudeshein and Berlin. The staff--good God, they must be quad-lingual--were friendly, courteous and helpful. The location of the hotel was good in that we could walk to the train station and tour-pick-up-spot easily-enough, it was far enough away from that Turkish quarter on SchillerstraBe (just sayin'--walking down that street made us nervous!) and we could walk to the Marienplatz in about 10 minutes. Loved the breakfast--EVERY breakfast buffet should be required by law to have either bacon or sausage (or both) and this one was legal by that standard. My wife loved the tea and she's not a tea-drinker. If we are ever blessed-enough to get back to Munich, we will stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paul o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset,England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

We have just returned from a 4 day stay in Munich and can’t say enough good things about the Kings Hotel Center. We always aim to stay around the Hauptbahnof area as it’s the best area for value, lots of choice and also the best place for transport for DBahn, S, U and trams. The comments about it being a seedy area are in our opinion generally nonsense. Anyway having researched the availability for our stay we chose the Kings Hotel Center. We also looked at the nearby First Class but chose the Center mainly as it looked a bit quieter. We paid a bit extra for a Club Room as it was a birthday treat and rooms are at the back. Rooms were a good size, exceptionally clean and a nice bathroom with big walk in shower. Storage was a bit limited but bed was large and comfortable. Our rooms had air conditioning. Buffet breakfast (although 12 Euros each ) was better than most we have had in Munich with a good choice including hot egg and sausage as well as usual cold stuff. Food is sourced locally and there is a strong eco friendly policy and regular renovations so it all feels clean and modern but still Bavarian. Best part however is that the staff are all so very nice and friendly and for which nothing was too much trouble including checking us in personally for our return flight. There is free WiFi each day for the first 30 minutes and a small bar. Probably best hotel we have had in Munich and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Pay a little more for a Club room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank floydman51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
KING's HOTEL First Class
0.1 mi away
Eden Hotel Wolff
Eden Hotel Wolff
#36 of 381 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Muenchen Deutscher Kaiser
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,377 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Muenchen City
Ibis Muenchen City
#91 of 381 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,788 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jedermann Hotel
Jedermann Hotel
#24 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KING's HOTEL Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KING's HOTEL Center

Property: KING's HOTEL Center
Address: Marsstr. 15, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Munich
#32 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#39 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — KING's HOTEL Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The KING's HOTEL Center is your affordable accommodation choice in central Munich that still offers luxury fit for a king (or a queen). Our 3-star superior hotel offers a quiet, peaceful retreat decorated with loving attention to detail and where you'll feel right at home at a great price. A four-poster bed in every room and furnishings to contemporary hotel standards will make your stay in the Bavarian metropolis an experience you will not forget. Whether here for business, an active vacation, or a quick city getaway, this is the perfect accommodation for your time in Munich. DEHOGA, the German hospitality association, has awarded the KING's HOTEL Center 3 stars for years and added the Superior rating in December 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your KING's HOTEL Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King`s Hotel Munich
Kings Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing