We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A better Hotel on Schillerstrasse,”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Conrad Hotel de Ville
Ranked #135 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Level Contributor
79 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“A better Hotel on Schillerstrasse,”
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Hotel is 5 minutes from Main Railstation, 100 meter into Schillerstrasse.
They give it a 3+ stars. It seems there are no " single" rooms, 2 times I was there it was a doble room. The rooms are larger than most Hotels I have been in the area, have 2 easy chairs so you do not have to sit on the bed looking at the TV, and Desk. What is missing is a Safe and the doors have no key card but keys.
The nice Breakfast room is very large, there is no waiting in the morning and the selections for Breakfast are very good. Starting late in the afternoon it turns into a "Bistro" with maybe around 8 - 10 choices, most of the time prepared by the waiter.
You can use a computer by the reception.area free.

I came to the Hotel in October when the room was 78,- Euro, in June the room was 115,-Euro
and when I was in Munich and checked the price in February it was around 140,- Euro but did not stay there.

In Munich, the Hotel prices change like the weather, as soon as there is a little something going on the prices go up by 50 %, 100 or even 300 % as it was by a Soccer game this year or OKtoberfest every year.
When you pay some 120,- to 150,- Euros, or around 200,- Dollars for some hole in the wall in Munich, a room often not bigger than a good size walkin closed, and you compare the hole with a room in a 3 star Hotel 3 to 4 times the size in Bangkok were you get slippers, a bathrobe, a hairnet, tooth brush and paste, a comb, ear cleaners a sewing kit, 2 soaps, shampoo and conditioner, body lotion,with a coffee maker and iron in the room plus a swimming pool and gym which every hotel has, you know Munich or most places in Europe are expensive. Matter of fact, I can drink a Franziskaner Weissbier which costs in Munich 3,60 Euro cheaper here in California were it costs 4,50 Dollars.

To get a good meal for a good price you could go to Opatia, which has Croatien food, This Restaurant exist since the end of 1950, is located 2 Streets from Marienplatz towards Isartor on the left side at Hochbrueckenstrasse. Next to it is a nice Italien Restaurant.
For the best Munich Beer and in a Biergarten go to Augustiner Biergarten on the other side of the Railstation 500 meters up Arnulf Strasse, also have food. In the front is Tableservice in the back Selfservice.

Room Tip: any room available
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erniep747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    187
    51
    19
    7
See reviews for
62
97
45
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Never in my life have I seen arab women in full veils walking around in front of porn theatres with large visible panaoramic pictures of naked women....this, combined with the presence of a perfectly nice hotel on the same street made for a slightly surreal experience. I was initially horrified by Schillerstrasse when we drove in as I had a 15 year old girl and two pretty conservative middle aged moms in tow. In truth, the neighborhood even made my daughter cry on the first night. Oddly though, the virtues of the hotel and the closeness of the sites of central Munich began to effect an attitutde change on us over time and in the end made for a satisfying stay. The rooms are quiet, pretty well-appointed and reasonably priced. If you are an economy-minded tourist and not terribly bothered by the surroundings then this hotel is a bit of secret gem. Personally, I am quite happy we did not stay way out at a cheaper place or bite the bullet for a more expensive place. In the past, i have tried both options in Munich and was less satisfied than with the Conrad.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CalvinVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Stayed at the Conrad in early June 2012. Room was clean, staff was friendly and courteous and location was great. Close to train station and not that far from main city attractions. Breakfast was great. Initially felt that the area looked a bit shaky, however, after checking in and getting familiar with the city did not feel unsafe in the time we were in the city. Would go back if we are in Munich in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steveg_1233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
138 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

The location of the hotel is just about 150m from the train station so its convenient if you have lots of luggage or need to make frequent train connections. However, the area seemed to be in a rather dodgy part of town - with casinos, porn theatres in the vicinity. Munich's crime rates are lower than other German cities but it still pays to be careful. On the bright side, its not far from the old town, the pedestrianised shopping zone, train, subway and tram connections so I would say the good outweighs the bad.

The room is comfortable and the hotel is working on installing airconditioning. That would have helped since it was getting warmer when we were there. The front desk is helpful and tries hard but they do not offer much practical help eg no adaptors on standby for guests who may need an extra adaptor and no fans for guests who might find the room a bit too stuffy. Also, the bar is busy at night and service while brisk and no-nonsense is not your warmest or friendliest.

The breakfast though was good with a very generous spread. For a three-star hotel, I think this was very good value with a nice spread of meats, ham, sausages, fruits, teas, cheeses and breads. They have a cute green space in an open courtyard where you can choose to have your breakfast too.

The hotel offers wifi as well which has the strongest and fastest connections of any hotel we stayed in over the last two weeks of our trip in Italy, Austria and Germany.

As a whole, for 99euros for a triple that we paid, we think this is really excellent value!

If you're only in the area for a night or two and plan on taking frequent day trips out eg to Fussen or Salzburg or Garmisch and need to catch trains at Munich Hauptbahnhof, then is a good choice.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chongbrood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

The Conrad is situated perfectly in munich, very close to the main train station and walking distance to the city centre. The Hotel its self is on a busy little street with lots of restaurants, thai, german, italian and chinese. The road is NOT seedy or dodgy and at no point did my girlfriend or I feel unsafe. I know other reviewers have said negative things about the area, maybe they should stick to hotels in mayfair or not leave their house at all. Seriously the area is fine.

The room was adequate enough and the morning breakfast was very nice.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank millskid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
104 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Booked this hotel via the internet after seeing good reviews on tripadvisor,but soon regretted the choise

Room o.k and clean to German standards ,but with no mini-bar and an extra sofabed with a thin mattress with a feeling of solid rock!!!!!!

Breakfast average

But be aware: the hotel is situated in Schillerstrasse,which is a very seedy street close to the haubtbahnhof.
Just outside the hotel doors were numerous drug dealers, drug addicts and prostitutes ready to offer their services

We moved hotel after one night

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hasse13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We booked our Oktoberfest hotel w/ three weeks to spare and we were pretty limited in terms of availability. I traveled w/ one other girlfriend and we were a little worried about safety in Munich during Oktoberfest. Therefore, we booked the Conrad since it seemed in a decent area and was within walking distance. Definitely not as "fun" as staying in hostels, but it was a decent room in a decent hotel and we felt safe. Breakfast is included and our room came w/ a TV and hair dryer. The beds were decent and the rooms were clean. Overall we were very pleased.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank USATravelbug_194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Drei Loewen Hotel
Drei Loewen Hotel
#103 of 383 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
0.0 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#7 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
0.0 mi away
Cocoon Stachus
Cocoon Stachus
#45 of 383 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpen Hotel Munchen
Alpen Hotel Munchen
#150 of 383 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conrad Hotel de Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrad Hotel de Ville

Property: Conrad Hotel de Ville
Address: Schillerstr. 10, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#52 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#68 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#69 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Conrad Hotel de Ville 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WE LOOK FORWARD TO WELCOMING YOU! Do you want to relax during your stay in Munich? Comfortably explore the diversity of the 'cosmopolitan city with a heart'? Conclude new business successfully? Experience Munich's centre on foot? Go shopping? Recharge your body's batteries? Or a little of everything? Then you've found your home from home in the heart of Munich. Only 200 paces from the main station - and yet still quiet. In CONRAD-HOTEL de Ville. Munich tradition. Mediterranean style. In the heart of the city. The first thing you'll discover as a guest here is our experience in Munich hospitality. This has been cultivated by four generations of my family and it characterises our hotel's soul which guides everyone in the team every day, according to our company philosophy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Conrad Hotel de Ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad Hotel Munich
Conrad De Ville
Conrad Munich
Munich Conrad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing