We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Conrad Hotel de Ville
Ranked #119 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice little hotel in a great location”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I really like this hotel. It's small but very efficient. Right at the corner of the street is the entrance for Hauptbanhof -- Munich's Main Train Station -- which gives one easy access to just about everything. You can walk to parks and gardens, shopping districts and main townhalls from the hotel. Also one corner away is the Hauptbanhof Sud Tram stop. While the street has some bars, the noise is not an issue because the windows have double paned glass. No need for airconditioning because you can keep the windows open and it's pretty cold. The bed is comfortable and it has down pillows. The bathroom is nice and seems really new. No fridge in the room but there is free wifi with strong signal. The best part about this hotel is the breakfast. We were on a three-country trip, and they breakfast at this hotel was the best so far.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank violetdolor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolfgang S, Assist. Manager at Conrad Hotel de Ville, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Dear violetdolor, thank you very much for the review and the recommodation. Hoping to have the pleasure welcoming you again in Munich and in our hotel, we wish you a great time.

Wolfgang Straubinger (Member of the CONRAD-Crew)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    193
    51
    19
    6
See reviews for
62
101
48
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
118 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I have stayed in a number of hotels in the Hauptbahnhof area in Munich. This so far one of the nicest ones. The rooms are small but clean and the wifi and breakfast are included. The room I had was a little dated but I did notice that one of my co-workers had a room that must have been recently updated. As with any hotel near the central train station, the area can be a little questionable. It still feels safe but I would suggest that single women or families not stay in this area unless you do not mind casinos, strip clubs and drunks.

Overall, this was a nice hotel for the price and the location. I would stay here again. Do not expect this to be a 3-4 star hotel as you would see in the US. I think this would be more of a 2-3 star US hotel.

Room Tip: The standard rooms that face the street have AC. It also seems that the lower floors have newer roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadRashTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coronado, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights on a recent trip to Munich. The 2 best things about the Hotel is it is in close proximity to the Main Station and the Old City. The 2nd is the great Buffet breakfast served every morning. The negatives are it is advertised as a Air Conditioned Hotel. Yes it is, but not all of the Rooms are air conditioned. I chose a larger Twin room with a Courtyard view versus a small typical Euro Single. The room was very large but no air conditioning! It happened to be close to 34C every day so the room was very hot. Made it very difficult to get to sleep. The Single rooms facing the street do have individual air conditioning units but will be noisy as it is on a busy active street with a Casino. I will say the Hotel Staff is very nice and will make you feel very welcome. If you are looking for a clean place, in close walking distance to the sights of Munich, at a decent price, this Hotel will work.

Room Tip: Summer time make sure you confirm your Room has an individual Air Conditioning Unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanaka
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

A good value hotel close to Hauptbahnhof and a 10minute walk from Marienplatz. I found it to be clean and comfortable and the service friendly and helpful.

it is one of the few German hotels of this grade that I have stayed in where the single beds are more like a double bed.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jospeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

First of all, don't get confused with the name of this hotel. It doesn't belong to Conrad Hotels!!
It is near downtown but in a very dodgy area, full of drunk people and drugs.
And the hotel is located in a noisy street.
Very (very) small rooms and not very clean.
I wouldn't come back again. One of the worse hotels I've been so far.
Positive: the buffet breakfast was very nice.
No fitness centre.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EGB32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolfgang S, Inhaber at Conrad Hotel de Ville, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear guest, thank you for your very critical review. First of all we inform you that CONRAD-HOTEL is a German brand of our company and we don't rise the impression that we are comparable with any other competitors in other countries. Just a view on our website makes that very clear. Furthermore our hotel offers a very convenient location near the Munich main train station with all the public transport in front of our door. Usually such a location cannot be combined with quiet and less lively surroundings. Munich is one of the safest cities in Europe, and so is our district compared with others in any other city. With hospitality greetings Conrad Mayer and the CONRAD-Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verona, Italy
Level Contributor
275 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I spent at this Hotel just one night. Despite of a pretty good service and availability of the management have to say that the rooms are not appealing at all. The main issue with this hotel is not with the management of the Hotle but with the surrounding area... The Hotel is near to the railway station of Munich and during the day and night is plenty of ....funky people wandering...
Needless to say I do not reccomend the hotel and the area either to families or ladies

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolfgang S, Inhaber at Conrad Hotel de Ville, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Claudio, at first we thank you very much for your review. We are very unhappy that you didn't like the style of our rooms, but we have different categories and maybe you try another one next time. You can get an overview on our website. Furthermore we can inform you that Munich is one of the safest cities in Europe and also the district around the Munich main station is much safer than in any other major city. The convenient location within the city center unfortunately cannot be combined with quiet and less lively surroundings. Hoping to have the pleasure of your next stay, we remain with hospitality greetings Conrad Mayer and the CONRAD Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Pole, Alaska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Just got back from Eastern Europe and Germany. We rolled into Munich by train with no hotel reservations so got some help from the Information office to locate a close hotel. It is half a block from the main train station. I was a bit apprehensive walking to it as the neighborhood felt like a third world country until we walked through the front door. It's a nice hotel and the staff was always friendly and helpful. The rates are reasonable. The room was good and clean and the bathroom and shower were excellent. It was notable that the drains worked great as we had encountered several hotels previously with plugged drains and really appreciated it. The breakfast buffet was the best during our three week tour. Every bus or train we needed had a stop within a block. On the north side of the block of the train station is a bus stop for Lufthansa airport buses. Anyone can take their bus for 11.5 Euros and have a comfortable, no stress ride to the Airport. I will deffinately be staying at the Conrad Hotel on my next trip through Munich.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David_inNorthPole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolfgang S, Assist. Manager at Conrad Hotel de Ville, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Dear David, thank you very much for the review and you recommodation. Hoping to have the pleasure welcoming you again in Munich and in the CONRAD-HOTEL, we wish you all the best!

Wolfgang Straubinger (member of the CONRAD-Crew)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Drei Loewen Hotel
Drei Loewen Hotel
#99 of 383 in Munich
558 reviews
0.0 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#8 of 383 in Munich
493 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cocoon Stachus
Cocoon Stachus
#48 of 383 in Munich
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alpen Hotel Munchen
Alpen Hotel Munchen
#151 of 383 in Munich
151 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Europaischer Hof
Hotel Europaischer Hof
#62 of 383 in Munich
783 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conrad Hotel de Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrad Hotel de Ville

Property: Conrad Hotel de Ville
Address: Schillerstr. 10, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#52 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#61 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#69 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Conrad Hotel de Ville 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WE LOOK FORWARD TO WELCOMING YOU! Do you want to relax during your stay in Munich? Comfortably explore the diversity of the 'cosmopolitan city with a heart'? Conclude new business successfully? Experience Munich's centre on foot? Go shopping? Recharge your body's batteries? Or a little of everything? Then you've found your home from home in the heart of Munich. Only 200 paces from the main station - and yet still quiet. In CONRAD-HOTEL de Ville. Munich tradition. Mediterranean style. In the heart of the city. The first thing you'll discover as a guest here is our experience in Munich hospitality. This has been cultivated by four generations of my family and it characterises our hotel's soul which guides everyone in the team every day, according to our company philosophy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Conrad Hotel de Ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad Hotel Munich
Conrad De Ville
Conrad Munich
Munich Conrad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing