We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable wrap up stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Smart Stay Hotel Schweiz
Ranked #370 of 391 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed 29 May 2014

After reading about poor experiences at other nearby train station hotels, I was pleased with the courteous, friendly service of all the staff, the affordable tasty top floor breakfast for 6.50 euro and token 2 euro fee for 24 hours of wireless internet access, and spotless, comfortable room. Overall my room was perfectly acceptable, the bed comfortable, and the hotel was quiet during my 2 night stay. There is some street noise from nearby restaurants as expected but an earplug solved that challenge and enabled me to keep the window wide open for a cool breeze. Lots of hot water and water pressure ensured I could start my days fresh. As typical in many parts of Europe, this area of Munich is grimier than the central old city and has a lot of ethnic stores and affordable eateries nearby. I walked around late in the evening, feeling completely safe, but sad I had no room left to pop in to one of the popular Turkish restaurants near to the hotel. Perfectly satisfactory stay for the level/class of hotel. Just a few minutes walk from the train station, this hotel is also not too far from Marienplatz (20 minutes on foot gives one chance to explore this part of Munich).

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor to be away from some of the street noise from nearby restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank citieguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 276 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

The lobby is fairly modern, but do not expect anything much beyond that. I was compelled to wear my shoes the entire time I was in my hotel room because the carpet appeared to be worn and dirty. The hallway on the third floor smelled like cleanser. I found the doors tricky to operate, as it did not lock unless you really were forceful about closing it. I would not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 175ES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

good value for the price
the front desk help us with direction and attraction
you can buy drinks and snack for a good price
close to the bahn and the center city
we stayed 3 people in a room, they added a bed for us with an additional payment
it was comfortable and clean

Room Tip: we stayed 3 people in a room, they added a bed for us with an additional payment it was comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yaelgershon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I had booked a room at Smart Stay Hotel in Munich via booking.com. They cancelled my reservation without giving any excuse and had the nerve to send me an email telling me that they are so wonderful for cancelling my room on the last minute without charging me! I was already on my way to Munich and had to find something else on a really short notice. Wouldn 't recomment it to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

In Munich near the railway station if you are looking for a cheap – 40 Euro double bed hotel- you get this one.
It is located very near the station and bus Hub so is a good place to overnight. The breakfast is not what you expect but remember that you are paying very little.

Room Tip: Book at the tourist office because they will have better conditions for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArturVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Clean rooms, good breakfast menu, but too much noise from the street comes to the rooms especially in the morning, the prices are OK but that's not everything, some people of the staff have a hard time saying hello

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank 123clem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

the SmartStay hotel is located in ~7-10 min. on foot from Hauptbahnhof (main station), easy to reach all downtown amenities and restaurants. The room is small, warm (well heated in the winter time) and clean.
Room WI-FI access is inexpensive (2 EUR per 24 hours), but works pretty bad.

Room Tip: if you need a better wi-fi access, ask for the room near the elevator (floor entrance)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elgar123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Westend
Hotel Westend
#313 of 391 in Munich
287 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlas City Hotel
Atlas City Hotel
#357 of 391 in Munich
510 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dolomit
Hotel Dolomit
#268 of 391 in Munich
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel S16
Hotel S16
#340 of 391 in Munich
99 reviews
3.2 mi away
NH Munchen City Sud
NH Munchen City Sud
#185 of 391 in Munich
749 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel-Pension Schmellergarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smart Stay Hotel Schweiz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smart Stay Hotel Schweiz

Address: Goethestr. 26, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #370 of 391 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: £36 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Smart Stay Hotel Schweiz 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The owner-run, 3-star Smart Stay Hotel Schweiz is a great "home base" for local and international guests in Munich. The hotel is situated in the center of the Bavarian capital, just a few minutes from the main railway station, and is within easy walking distance of all the major attractions such as the Hofbrauhaus, Marienplatz, Residenz and Pinakotheken, as well as the most popular shopping destinations in Munich's pedestrian area. Business travelers will be pleased to know that there is a direct subway connection to the new Munich exhibition center. The S-Bahn metro to the airport operates 24 hours per day from the central railway station. Our hotel offers everything you need for a pleasant stay in Munich. A hearty breakfast on our large roof terrace with its view over the city makes for a perfect start to the day. And our infrared sauna on the 6th floor provides excellent relaxation in the evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Smart Stay Hotel Schweiz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schweiz Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing