We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy Train Location.... poor value for $”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Alfa Muenchen
Ranked #169 of 389 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed 12 November 2012

This was one of 7 cities we visited on our recent trip - this hotel being the most expensive.
The only positive thing I can say about it is it is handy to the railway station however a long walk to the major tourist attractions. Would be careful walking at night - a block away there were always groups of drunks hanging out.
We were given a first floor room right over the front door - so with the Hotel outside light shining in the room all night plus the hotel traffic noise, trying to sleep the first night was challenging.Then the noise of something vacuuming in the hallway outside the room at 7,30 am!
Requested a room change at the front desk and was told would probably not be a problem.
They were aware we were going out for a city walk tour, so they said to check upon our return, Returning was told by another employee that I should have been in my room at 11 am if I wanted to change rooms!!!No previous mention of this. Trouble with pre paying is you are stuck.

Rooms are incredibly small, however are clean.
Only had one person on the desk - people crammed into limited space checking out with bags.

Room Tip: Back of building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jude373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (331)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 331 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2012

First of all, what is the point of providing the hotel with a credit card upon check in when I have already paid online? That is why I choose to pay online, so I don't have to give my credit card info to the clerk. Some hotels require this, some don't, and I prefer the ones that don't. It is bad business.

The room was good enough and it was clean. Small, yes, but met my needs. The bed was too soft and had a cheap feel. The shower was in a different building and an inconvenience to utilize. The location is perfect.

Next time I'll find a different hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drifter81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012 via mobile

The room was very small, one of the beds was a sofa bed which was uncomfortable. The bathroom was big and looked new. There was only one person looking after the whole hotel which made it hard to get served. There were bed bugs, had the worst sleep and I could hear the people in the next room talking late into the night.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HonestReviewerPGV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I stayed at this hotel 3 nights in mid-September. The room was a small single,
the window looked out onto the street. It was noisy at the evenings, because of the next door youth hostel. But it was always quiet at night. A breakfast was standard buffet.
My room was always cleaned well. The reception was very friendly and polite.

Room Tip: window out of street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nadezda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

the hotel was clean and the staff friendly would go back as it was near the shops and all the sites in munich a good hotel if you want to be near everything.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank KENNETH B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank engHabib
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 July 2012

A few minutes from the main railway station and a 15 minute walk to the old centre of Munich, small well-kept hotel ideal for business or trade fairs. The only air conditioning seemed to be in the bar but few European hotels have air conditioning, and they lent me a fan after a warm first night. Friendly efficient staff and a good breakfast buffet. I would recommend this hotel but make sure you get the right Alfa hotel, on Hirtenstrasse.

Room Tip: To the rear of the hotel for quiet (onto a courtyard) rather than the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank essexboyracer2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Praesident
Hotel Praesident
#143 of 389 in Munich
281 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Amba
Hotel Amba
#354 of 389 in Munich
736 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vi Vadi Hotel
Vi Vadi Hotel
#126 of 389 in Munich
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Jedermann Hotel
Jedermann Hotel
#30 of 389 in Munich
907 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Atrium Hotel
Best Western Atrium Hotel
#145 of 389 in Munich
655 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Carmen
Hotel Carmen
#227 of 389 in Munich
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alfa Muenchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alfa Muenchen

Address: Hirtenstr. 22, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #169 of 389 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: £58 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alfa Muenchen 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family driven 3 star hotel, directly in the city centre of Munich, only two walking minutes away from the main railway station. Mostly new furnished rooms with shower or bath/wc, hairdryer, sat-flat-sreen tv, minibar, telefone, wireless connection. All points of interest may be reached within some minutes by walk or by public transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alfa Muenchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alfa Munchen Hotel
Alfa Munchen Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing