We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, Close to Hoptbahnhof”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Alfa Muenchen
Ranked #187 of 383 Hotels in Munich
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, Close to Hoptbahnhof”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This was the second hotel we stayed at in Munich (some confusion on travel plans had us switch half way through the trip...) and it was an enjoyable experience. Hotel Alfa is VERY close to the main train-station making it very easy to get to any location in Munich. The hotel was clean and quiet for our stay and the breakfast was very good as well. Munich hotels are expensive so make sure you try to book early! I feel like we overpaid a bit for this hotel but we also booked it very late, and it was less than the posted price of a double room. Munich hotels are just expensive, especially in a great area like this. Also, as an American, you'll notice rooms/bathrooms are much smaller than you're used to but that's just the way it is.

The front-desk service was excellent too, we probably spoke to three of the staff members over our 4 night stay and they were all very friendly and helpful. If you feel like you MUST stay close to the main station this hotel is perfect, but I would recommend searching around for a hotel close to ANY U-Bahn/S-Bahn stop because as long as you're close to a stop you can get anywhere in Munich very quickly.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trav619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    141
    66
    20
    22
See reviews for
56
98
38
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

We have been staying at the Alfa since 1993 for our biannual Oktoberfest trips. Anton and the staff always go out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. The breakfast is good, the rooms are clean, and the location is excellent. It is near the main train station, so just steps away from all of Europe. Walkable to Oktoberfest, Marienplatz, and Augustiner Keller. It also has a small bar, if you just want to sit and relax after a day of sightseeing. It is a "European Style" hotel, and we have always found that to be what is so special about it!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Barleyman-SD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

This hotel was clean and comfortable. The breakfast had plenty of the usual continental fare. The decor was slightly old fashioned but this made it feel homely. What made it stand out for me was the caring attitude of all the staff. In all, I thought this was good value and I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Block B is lovely and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Location: Right near the train station
Room: Single - was very small, bed was uncomfortable, I had one pillow that was very flat, there was a light above the bed whichI banged my head on several times.
Breakfast: Wasn't much choice and wasn't very nice.
Staff: Were so helpful with directions, trains etc....I couldn't of asked for more!!
Although it was undergoing renovations, it was quiet!

If you are staying for 1/2 night this wouldn't be too bad.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lady_spence92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

This hotel is centrally located near the train station, and although it was undergoing renovations, it was still quiet. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful, and the breakfast buffet was very good.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radnor
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

I almost left immediately to go to another hotel. Our initial room was one in the front facing the street. Even though the temperature was in the 70's it was very hot in the room with no AC or fan. When I told them I wanted to leave they gave me another room in the back of the courtyard, "Haus B." These rooms were much better with AC and are bigger and some with balconies. After this our stay was quite good. Clean and neat with friendly staff, the place is family owned. Good location near train station and 10 minute walk to historic area. Adequate breakfast that is included. They do nickel and dime you charging for internet, TV, and phone. I would recommend as long as you get one of the rooms in Haus B.

Room Tip: Get a room in Haus B with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willpentz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Other than the internet being very slow, it was a very good stay. The rental car return is right down the street and the bahnhof is less than 2 blocks away. The breakfast was great and varied. I wish there were some other types of tea other than the new wave herbal ones all the hotels in Germany seem to offer now. But everything else was very good. I will stay here again..

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jags12us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Novum Hotel Munchen Am Hauptbahnhof
0.1 mi away
Creatif Hotel Elephant
Creatif Hotel Elephant
#190 of 383 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vi Vadi Hotel
Vi Vadi Hotel
#132 of 383 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Europaischer Hof
Hotel Europaischer Hof
#62 of 383 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Amba
Hotel Amba
#311 of 383 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Muenchen Deutscher Kaiser
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alfa Muenchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alfa Muenchen

Property: Hotel Alfa Muenchen
Address: Hirtenstr. 22, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #187 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alfa Muenchen 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family driven 3 star hotel, directly in the city centre of Munich, only two walking minutes away from the main railway station. Mostly new furnished rooms with shower or bath/wc, hairdryer, sat-flat-sreen tv, minibar, telefone, wireless connection. All points of interest may be reached within some minutes by walk or by public transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alfa Muenchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alfa Munchen Hotel
Alfa Munchen Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing