We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Euro style hotel, caring people, incredible location”
Review of Hotel Carlton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Carlton
Ranked #328 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed 31 May 2010

We spent two weeks there, while I was visiting at the university. It is just blocks from the Odeonsplatz transit station, and just a few blocks more from Marienplatz, the heart of the city. It's a very European hotel--not overrun with Americans when we were there--with full service, including a wonderful German breakfast buffet, and a truly wonderful Indian restaurant just outside. You won't think you are in a generic American hotel, that's for certain. Renovations continue, but we would certainly stay there again--and would look forward to it.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdRigdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Carlton
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2010

Hotel is 10 minutes walk from the Altstat in Munich, 15 minutes walk from Schwabing district. It's location is perfect as you are in the centre of the city near to everything. The hotel is a boutique style hotel and modern, but is small and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel does offer secure parking, which is a must as finding a space if you're staying a while isn't as easy as you would think. Book the parking when you're booking your room as they have limited spaces. Rooms are modern and minimalistic, which is nice. Bathroom small, with shower, but sill clean and nice. Breakfast buffet has a good selection of fresh food. There is a great Indian restaurant next door to the hotel. The food there is fantastic and is open late, and you only have to walk 10 meters back to the hotel. I would definitely use the hotel again when I visit Munich again in the summer as the location is perfect for all sightseeing in the city.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sod25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2008

My husband and I stayed at this lovely small hotel for 2 nights. It is on a small side street off of the main street Ludwigstrasse in the area of Schwabing. It is close to the Englischer Garten. There is a U Bahn station right around the corner and it would only be a few stops and you would be at all the tourist's sites of Munich. You could also walk to the sites in about 10 to 15 minutes. The hotel is between a 2 star and 3 star hotel. The room we were in was quiet and clean. It was fairly large for a European room. We faced toward the back of the hotel, so there was no street noise. There was a small TV on the desk. The bathroom was small with a small shower. The daily rate includes a beautifully done breakfast. There were about 5 different juices, hard boiled eggs, fresh rolls, cereals and more. They have the best deal in town, for internet use, 3 Euros per day! All the friendly ladies at the front desk spoke English well. We truly enjoyed our stay at the Astoria Hotel. A great rate for a hotel room in Munich!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank isoyhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2007

We had a lovely stay at Hotel Astoria. We decided on the Schwabing area because we have stayed in the main tourist area before and wanted to see a new area. The hotel is on top of a pub which was mostly quiet but our room was on the street so there was quite a bit of street noise esp. in the morning, I would definately recommend anyone that stays here to ask for a room at the back of the hotel. The room was small but effective. We nicknamed the bathroom the "slip and slide bath" it was completely plastic and always wet. The receptionists by far made this hotel, they were incrediblely friendly and always helpful. Breakfast was the best we had during our stay in Europe with rolls, meats, cheeses, fruit spreads, pastries, delicious coffee and more. Make sure to stop by the Shamrock pub, which is on the next block, for good beer and a good time!

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank still-jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2007

As my business trip was right smack during the Football fever in Germany, I had very little choice with rooms etc. However, the Hotel Carlton made up for it in terms of location and the good breakfast. It was in quaint street in the artsy area near the Odeonplatz station. There were many quaint shops and galleries located near by.
Marienplatz was a mere 10minute walk and the English Garden 5minutes away. I spent 6nites there, and all in it was safe and a clean place.The breakfast was great and was more like brunch.

The only gripe was that I literally was in the smallest room in the hotel, which just about had a double bed,dresser,TV and cupboard squeezed in. I had to narrowly navigate myself in the room. Also some nights it got so warm, so for lack of fans, was left with having to content with the breeze from the window. However, while the street in front of the hotel was quiet during the day, night it was different, as there were many football fans roaming around who could get a tad bit loud here and there.
All around was apleasant stay.

Stayed: June 2006
Thank JemimaBond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2006

I stay in some pretty posh hotels for business but on my own really don't want to spend $300 on a room that I will barely stay in--the point of travel, for me, being to wander and see the city.

If your objective is to have a clean bed at a great rate then this hotel is more than adequate. This is not The Mandarin Oriental so you cannot compare amenites, especially at 100 Euros a night. The neighborhood is driven by the University and so there are wonderful shops and reasonably priced restaurants and clubs nearby. It is an easy walk to the Museum district and also really not that far from the train. Munich is an easy walking city and I traipsed from one end to the next.

I had two rooms while there (bookended a trip via Munich) and each one was charming and clean, though small.

The breakfast was fantastic and free! In any high end hotel, the breakfast alone woudl add another 40 to 50 dollars to your tab.

For it's value it's a great place--just don't expect great concierge service and beautiful architecture.

Enjoy the city, it's beautiful.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Dirtigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2006

Hotel Astoria is a charming, boutique hotel located on Nicolaistrasse in the Munich district of Schwabing.

During out two-night stay there this year we were in room 301, which proved to be clean, spacious and comfortable.

Breakfast is included in the price of the room and it is excellent. The food is served buffet style and offers each guest a wide variety of breads, cheeses, cereals, yogurt, beverages, fruits and beverages including coffee, tea, and juices.

The front desk staff is without exception top notch. All four of the regular daytime front desk speak English, and I have consistently found them to be most helpful in all respects.

The hotel is located on Nicolaistrasse just off of Leopoldstrasse, the main route through Schwabing. The Gieselastrasse U-Bahn station is close at hand. The hotel is near a wide variety of shops and restaurants.

When I return to Munich, my first choice will again be the Hotel Astoria.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank ulpian88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hauser an der Universitaet
0.1 mi away
Hotel Antares
Hotel Antares
#185 of 385 in Munich
167 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Carlton Astoria
Hotel Carlton Astoria
#215 of 385 in Munich
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
das Hotel in Munchen
das Hotel in Munchen
#246 of 385 in Munich
145 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Konigswache
Hotel Konigswache
#240 of 385 in Munich
64 reviews
0.9 mi away
Das Nikolai Hotel
Das Nikolai Hotel
#209 of 385 in Munich
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton

Address: Fuerstenstr. 12, 80333 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #328 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: £84 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 49
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing