We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Seibel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Seibel
Ranked #323 of 381 Hotels in Munich
Scotland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

I stayed here for three nights in November 2013. It is within walking distance of the main area of Munich. Thereseinhoehe is a quiet street this time of year but could well be extremely noisy during Oktoberfest as it runs along Thereseienweise where the main festivities occur.
The hotel is a lovely period building with great decoration but does not have a lift. My room was in the basement right by the stairs so a fair amount of early morning noise from people checking out and when they came home at night but otherwise quiet enough and had a really great shower. I found the bed hard but was able to get another duvet to put underneath me which solved the problem. The biggest downside was that my window was at ground level and opened onto the driveway where cars were parked.

Staff were very helpful and friendly but , for some reason, required passport details before they would allow wifi access. When I queried it I was told it was in case anyone downloaded music or films. Can't see the connection personally. Breakfast was very good with a wide choice and as much as anyone could possibly eat if you like cold meat and cheese.

If I were to stay here again I'd opt for one of the upstairs rooms.

Room Tip: Avoid basement rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Purrpuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    55
    53
    17
    24
See reviews for
26
49
13
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

An older hotel building located just across the street from the north entrance to October fest. It is located about300 meters from subway station Theresienheide and about 1 km south of the Hauptbahnhof.. The hotel has been renovated, and it includes a nice breakfast area off the lobby. The rooms are large and well appointed. The major drawback for me was that the lobby is located on the German first floor, which means that a flight of stairs about a dozen steps led up to the lobby from the ground level. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful, but the desk is not occupied during the late night/early morning hours. Good restaurants are located just a couple of hundred meters away.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

I stayed here with a group that was going to Oktoberfest. The location was unbeatble for that. We were just across the street from the tents. But the hotelmwas old, poorly furnished, cold, and loud. I was unahppy with the bed and the wifi was expensive and didn't work.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Franklmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Munich hotels

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Really, this hotel is okay. Do not stay here if you're used to a luxury hotel but do if you're looking for a hotel that's literally across the street from Oktoberfest. It's a 30 minute walk from Downtown Munich, the cute part of town. I'll put it to you this way: you get what you pay for.

I originally booked this hotel because of its proximity to Oktoberfest and because they accept dogs for a small fee each night. But my first issue was when I received an email from the hotel about a week before my arrival saying that I had to pay for the room in advance, in cash via a bank wire transfer. I responded by saying none of this was written on their website and it was not part of our agreement. I asked why I needed to do this. Apparently, it's because Oktoberfest is so busy. See, I know that it's busy and I don't mind paying for a room in advance. But what I do mind is the last minute change to the hotel policy and the demand that I pay or that I presumably would lose the room.

Next, on arrival, I thought that the staff was somewhat rude. Okay, I was early and I asked on the off chance if there might be a room to check into - I wouldn't mind paying - and maybe they just hadn't had enough coffee or something and maybe I was tired and interpreted them in a specific way, but I felt was a little taken aback by my welcome.

I walked into my room and was surprised to see that the floors were almost Spanish tiles with no floor covering. So the room was loud, echoed, and cold. It had a small single bed, one armoire, one table, one chair, two side tables (one had drinks lined up on it with a list of prices), all older and sparse, no safe, no fridge. If it didn't have a TV in it, it would almost feel like a room in a nunnery. The hotel room door was thin, the outer hallway floors were wood, and I was right next to a WC, so I heard a lot of what was happening in the hallway. The bathroom was old. It was serviceable and practical, just not very comforting or welcoming.

The first day I was there, I put the sign on my door asking for a cleanup. Since I had my dog with me, I stayed away for as long as possible before going back to change for Oktoberfest (from 10am to 4pm). But to my surprise, my room wasn't touched. I guess they assumed the big green sign on the door meant I wanted privacy? I asked the front desk to make sure that the room was cleaned the following day. And the following day when I returned, my hotel room was clean but it smelled really bad, like they had used a dirty mop to wipe the floors. It was okay after airing out for a few hours but worth mentioning.

I didn't have breakfast so I can't comment on that.

Wifi was available in the hotel lobby only, with one code that you need to provide your passport number for, which I thought was odd. You receive one code per room and that code can only work on one device at a time.

Lastly... I hesitate to bring this up, but... one of the nighttime front desk staff was friendly and nice, but he kept hitting on me. I don't mind something being said once in a flirtatious manner but this was repeatedly. It's kind of uncomfortable for someone to travel alone when a person with the key to your room asks you to join him at Oktoberfest a few times.

So all in all, I would book this hotel if you're looking for a hotel that has easy access to Oktoberfest for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ychoi12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

This hotel is quite convenient for an overnight stay not too far from the Hauptbahnhof, and being directly across the road from the Oktoberfest, I imagine it would be in very high demand at that time.
It is quite comfortable, although the decor is very tired. Double-glazing means that the road noise isn't an issue, but the hotel's situation on the main road also means that an open window at night isn't really an option. The wooden floors are remarkably noisy if neighbouring guests (or those on the floor above) move around in the night.
The staff are helpful and efficient and the breakfast is good.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SnRAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

I've booked one single room two weeks ago,
I am on business travel so i normally check in late and need wifi for work.
When I came, they just said: "we've booked for you in the dependance here in the other building".

They sent me the hotel Krone, which is the hotel on the side.
They told me that Hotel Seibel often overbooks and then send the overbooked guests to Krone.

Just avoid Seibel.

Room Tip: call them after the online booking and before the trip in order to check that they have a room and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank franklittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Krone Hotel
Krone Hotel
#331 of 381 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Westend
Hotel Westend
#270 of 381 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.4 mi away
GHOTEL hotel & living Munchen-City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Senator Hotel
Senator Hotel
#134 of 381 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Munchen Central
0.3 mi away
Hotel Fidelio
Hotel Fidelio
#322 of 381 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seibel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seibel

Property: Hotel Seibel
Address: Theresienhoehe 9, 80339 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #323 of 381 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Seibel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Seibel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seibel Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing