We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel close to the railway station”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Jedermann Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jedermann Hotel
Ranked #25 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice hotel close to the railway station”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

I was looking for a nice hotel close to the railway station and Jedermann appeared to be the perfect choice. The building itself is unpretentious, rooms and the lobby are quite simple, anyhow everything in the hotel is clean and stuff is very friendly. Twin room is rather large, which was a pleasant surprise as well as separate bathroom and toilette. Breakfast was good and substantial. It is worth noting that the tram stop is just at the door of the hotel and it takes 5 minutes to get to the center of Munich. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the courtyard is very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cigalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    363
    94
    8
    7
See reviews for
179
317
64
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

My family of four stayed three nights at the Hotel Jedermann in early July. We had a wonderful stay. Check in was a breeze and the entire staff was very friendly, even offering umbrellas on rainy days. The room was exceptionally clean and very comfortable. We had a room in the back which was very quiet. The highlight, without a doubt was the fantastic breakfast! Amazing... Salmon, herring, meats, cheeses, in addition to the normal fare you'd expect such as rolls, sweets, cereals, etc. Could not say enough about the breakfast. Location was also very good, with a tram stop right out front and you can buy tram/ subway tickets directly from the hotel. Two stops and you’re in town or it’s about a 20 minute walk. Also just a few minute walk from the train station. Overall a great stay and would definitely stay at the Jedermann again!

Room Tip: Get a room in the back - ours was extremely quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eddieras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

Hotel Jedermann is absolutely value for money. It is provide an average accomodation for travellers who does not want to stay at the hotel all day long. In Hotel Jedermann the breakfast comes with the booked room and it has a great variety of foods, was very rich and tasty.
The room was very simple, but clean and the beds were super-comfortables!
The toilet and the shower were outside our room, shower was very basic, but there was always hot water available. They provide wifi at the Hotel, but it was not always available or occasionaly the connection was poor. The neighbourhood was okay, the Central Station was just a 10 minutes walk, but there were also 2 tram lines at the main street.

Room Tip: Rooms on the courtyard side are quiet and calm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sz0nja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights before returning to the UK. Needed a location close to the main station as we had a very early flight on departure day. All the hotel staff were most helpful and friendly throughout our stay. As breakfast is served from 6.30am and we wanted to leave at 5am they made us packed lunches and even served us tea before we left! They will also put any food you may have bought in their kitchen fridge until you need it.
The location is very convenient for transport both to the station and into the main tourist areas of the city ( the 19 tram stops right outside the hotel and they run every 10 minutes).
When we booked we requested a quiet room and were given one on the second floor at the rear of the building - so heard no traffic noise.

Would definitely use this hotel again

Room Tip: Request a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ParsifalWels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

Spent 3 nights at the Jedermann in July in a room for 3 (2 adults and a 6 year old child). A quick summary of the pros and cons:

Pros:

1. Great location - about a 10-12 min walk/ 2 tram stops away from the Munich railway station.Also, not too far from the city center/ Marianplatz. A tram stop right outside the door makes it extremely convenient for those using public transport. For those driving, the hotel has parking a small distance away at EUR 9 per night.
2. Extremely nice & helpful staff, easily among the best that we have come across in hotels in Europe.
3. The breakfast menu was by far the best that we came across, with a very good variety of choices, even for vegetarians for us.
4. The hotel had several other nice touches, such as a small recreation room with books & indoor games, and a book in the visitors' lobby that was extremely informative about tourist sights in and around Munich (incl. how to get there by public transport as well as by car).

Cons:

1. The beds in the rooms were really uncomfortable - consequently getting a good night's sleep was quite a challenge.
2. The hotel is more than half a centuy old (set up in 1961) and it shows - could do with a facelift.
3. It was certainly not cheap - we paid more than EUR 140 per night - but perhaps this is par for the course, given the excellent location and the fact that Munich in itself is not cheap.

Overall, however, a highly satisfactory experience, and we wouldn't hesitate to go back there - hopefully they would have done something about the beds by then

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arun K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

Spent 4 nights at the Jedermann in July and was very disappointed with the hotel and can't believe that it's a 3 star.

We had a room with two single beds, which reminded me of something from summer camp. The beds were probably 6 feet long and had foot boards. Being over 6ft tall meant I couldn't lie flat in the bed. For 4 nights.

The pillow (had to ask reception for a 2nd) had certainly seen better days and was about as comfortable/supportive as a piece of paper.

Our room didn't have AC so we had to leave our window open to try and escape the heat. Unfortunately our room faced the main road so we got woke up by sirens and one morning the garbage trucks.

The bathroom was very small and the drains couldn't cope with water from the shower.

There was free wi-fi but the reception was weak.

The area around the hotel was pretty poor and rundown, albeit was only 7 minutes walk to the main station.

The low price was the only redeeming feature and I would recommend steering clear.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedermann, Front Office Manager at Jedermann Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time for this review on Hotel Jedermann.
First of all we would like to let you know, that we feel sorry, that your stay at our hotel did not meet your expectations. If we would have known about the several discomforts, while you were staying with us, we would have been more than pleased to do everything possible to arrange a more pleasant stay for you. All this in regard to type of bed, room type, location, airconditioning and pillows.
In your online booking you specifically asked for a twin room. This is why we provided exactly this type of room for you, which in Europe in tradtional hotels very often means a room with 2 separated single beds (that fit 1 person each). And yes, many, but not all of the Jedermann's bed have a foot board. Unfortunately you did not inform us about your discomfort, while you were staying with us. In cases like this, we are always doing our best to offer our guests a change to a more suitable room as soon as possible, to make sure you experience a pleasant stay. As for our typical german pillows, all of them new, we are always glad to offer more on request.
Due to the rather cool climate, for german 3 star hotels air conditioning is not a must. Nevertheless, some of our rooms are equipped with A/C and are available for a little extra charge. Most of the others hotels rooms do face the quiet back side of the hotel.
Please accept our apoligizes, if the Wifi connection was weak. To overcome this, the hotels wifi system is currently being totally renewed and will be high performing by beginning of September as well as modern Internet TV is being installed.
We feel sorry, that you didn't appreciate the convenience of the area around Bayerstrasse and its short distance to Munich's main station. In any case, it is very safe to walk around here.
Dear Guest, unfortunately, there is nothing we can do for you now. Please be sure, that we are very sorry, that you didn't enjoy your stay. If you should decide to come to Munich again, we would be more than happy to get a second chance and proof to you, that it is worth staying at the Hotel Jedermann and that it can be a pleasant experience.
Yours sincerely,
Hotel Jedermann


Family Jenke/Mudrich & colleagues
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

Other reviews have described Hotel Jedermann as "tired" and "humble". While I would agree.with this assessment, it's worth noting that it's nice to have hotels that are affordable and yet feel safe, comfortable and clean. The hotel is located within a short walking distance of Munich's main train station, which is nice. I've stayed here twice, both times in a room with a shared bathroom on the floor. I've certainly had bad experiences with this situation, but no complaints at the Hotel Jedermann. We found the hotel staff to be helpful and friendly and while I'm fluent in German, my companions didn't speak a word, yet had no problems with hotel staff. Like others have said, the free wireless internet is priceless while traveling through Europe. Its location near the train station and trolley line makes it ideal for daily excursions. The bottom line: travel is expensive. If you're looking for a reasonable rate for a comfortable night's sleep and don't mind some crazy wallpaper patch jobs on your wall, this is the place to rest your head for a night or two.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadlesstraveled76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.2 mi away
Arthotel Munich
Arthotel Munich
#37 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,419 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#10 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Blauer Bock
Hotel Blauer Bock
#18 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Munchen City Arnulfpark
0.5 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#9 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jedermann Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jedermann Hotel

Property: Jedermann Hotel
Address: Bayerstr. 95, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#34 Best Value Hotel in Munich
#38 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#40 Family Hotel in Munich
#68 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Jedermann Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional charm and modern comfort as well as atmosphere and service have been offered since 1961 by the Jenke family and its staff. ** Cozy hotel situated in the city center, near the main train station, in front of the new European Patent Office. ** Standard rooms, most facing the quiet court yard, with shower and toilet,towel warmer, hair dryer, modern IP-TV/radio and phone with voice mail. Some also with air-conditioning, interconnecting doors and wellness-shower. ** Superior rooms offering additionally USB-datasocket, electronic safe and LED-lighting. ** Basic rooms with only wash-basin and clock radio; shower and toilet down the corridor, without any other amenities (TV and phone in the public area). ** Free internet and e-mail access also from the guest computer in the lobby. Well liked buffet breakfast, offering also hot dishes, included in the room rate. Electric kettle to take up to the room available. Small hotel bar with sitting room. Car parking. Tram stop at the hotel with tickets available at the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Jedermann Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jedermann Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing