We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Great weekend base"”
Review of Jedermann Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jedermann Hotel
Ranked #24 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 September 2012

This was our first time at the hotel but we'd read other reviews before booking.I'd agree with all the reviews which say this is a clean, friendly, modestly priced and well-run establishment and it's also a great base for exploring the city. With our three day transport pass we regularly caught the tram outside or alighted on the far side of the road. The inclusive breakfast was an added bonus and provided all you would want to start the day off well. If there was a criticism it was that although we were on the third floor we could hear the trams in the early morning from the road outside so light sleepers might have issues if in a front room. But having said that we would stay here again without reservation and would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back will be quieter
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PandFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (877)
There are newer reviews for Jedermann Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 877 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2012

This was our second stay at this hotel, the last being in 2008. The hotel is about a 10-minute walk from the main train station. We stayed 3 nights. Staff is very friendly and spoke English quite well since we did not speak German. We booked by email about 4 months is advance. We went with a room with only a sink, the toilet and shower being down the hall. The room was good sized with adequate storage space. It looked out on the busy street side so there was some road noise, and other noise from people on the street, especially on a Saturday night. Free wifi was provided but we were warned it would not work on the fourth floor where we were. However it worked sometimes in the room and otherwise we took our computer to the lobby to use wifi. Breakfast was provided and it was excellent. There was a great spread of cereals, breads, pastries, meats, fruits, vegetables, juices, coffee and just about anything else you could eat for breakfast. Overall, this hotel was a good value for us and we would return again.

Room Tip: Rooms away from street will be quieter.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oregonhiker6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Robert O
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We had stayed at the Jedermann several years ago and had fond memories, so we booked in for an overnight between flights.. It is always a worry that nostalgia can colour ones memory but we were not disappointed. It still is a superbly run small, friendly and comfortable hotel. The staff were all really friendly, going to the extra trouble of helping us with our online check in was one example. The breakfast was excellent, all items on the buffet topped up with quiet efficiency and staff keen to chat and offer advice if requested. There was also a good range of fruit, cold meets cheeses, cereals, breads and off course fresh boiled eggs. Getting in to the city is easy by tram the 18, 19 take you to the main station in a few mins and the 19 will take you all the way into the centre in 10 mins. Would happily recommend it to others

Room Tip: If you ask for a quiet room they will place you at the bad of the hotel where even the 1st floor is...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UKRegulartraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Location near to central station and tram stop just across the hotel makes this a good choice to stay. Rooms are quiet and breakfast has nice options for both vegetarians and non vegetarians. You can get basic items like milk, corn flakes, cashews, breads, eggs, sausages, croissants (i loved it) etc to fill your belly.
Also, rooms are very clean so you will like your stay here.
Cons:
Little tight toilets and no ACs with only single table fan (Have heard that you can ask for more but havent tried though). So this place some times get difficult to stay in humid weather.

BUT ITS MUNICH SO ENJOY THE BEER :)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChiragDua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

I was looking for a nice hotel close to the railway station and Jedermann appeared to be the perfect choice. The building itself is unpretentious, rooms and the lobby are quite simple, anyhow everything in the hotel is clean and stuff is very friendly. Twin room is rather large, which was a pleasant surprise as well as separate bathroom and toilette. Breakfast was good and substantial. It is worth noting that the tram stop is just at the door of the hotel and it takes 5 minutes to get to the center of Munich. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the courtyard is very quiet
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cigalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

My family of four stayed three nights at the Hotel Jedermann in early July. We had a wonderful stay. Check in was a breeze and the entire staff was very friendly, even offering umbrellas on rainy days. The room was exceptionally clean and very comfortable. We had a room in the back which was very quiet. The highlight, without a doubt was the fantastic breakfast! Amazing... Salmon, herring, meats, cheeses, in addition to the normal fare you'd expect such as rolls, sweets, cereals, etc. Could not say enough about the breakfast. Location was also very good, with a tram stop right out front and you can buy tram/ subway tickets directly from the hotel. Two stops and you’re in town or it’s about a 20 minute walk. Also just a few minute walk from the train station. Overall a great stay and would definitely stay at the Jedermann again!

Room Tip: Get a room in the back - ours was extremely quiet!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eddieras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.2 mi away
Arthotel Munich
Arthotel Munich
#35 of 385 in Munich
860 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich - Westpark
0.3 mi away
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#6 of 385 in Munich
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#13 of 385 in Munich
559 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#9 of 385 in Munich
1,661 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#10 of 385 in Munich
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jedermann Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jedermann Hotel

Address: Bayerstr. 95, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Munich
#38 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#40 Family Hotel in Munich
#68 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £53 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Jedermann Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional charm and modern comfort as well as atmosphere and service have been offered since 1961 by the Jenke family and its staff. ** Cozy hotel situated in the city center, near the main train station, in front of the new European Patent Office. ** Standard rooms, most facing the quiet court yard, with shower and toilet,towel warmer, hair dryer, modern IP-TV/radio and phone with voice mail. Some also with air-conditioning, interconnecting doors and wellness-shower. ** Superior rooms offering additionally USB-datasocket, electronic safe and LED-lighting. ** Basic rooms with only wash-basin and clock radio; shower and toilet down the corridor, without any other amenities (TV and phone in the public area). ** Free internet and e-mail access also from the guest computer in the lobby. Well liked buffet breakfast, offering also hot dishes, included in the room rate. Electric kettle to take up to the room available. Small hotel bar with sitting room. Car parking. Tram stop at the hotel with tickets available at the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Jedermann Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jedermann Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing