We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, very clean, some rooms refurbished - the rest very decent”
Review of Jedermann Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jedermann Hotel
Ranked #30 of 389 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Stayed at the Jedermann for 2 days. Seems to be family run, staff were very helpful, and everything was really clean. Some rooms have en-suite facilities and these rooms seem to have been refurbished. There is also one floor with cheaper rooms, that have a shared bathroom - these rooms look dated, but the bed is good and they're clean and quiet. About 5 or 6 rooms seem to share one bathroom, but it wasn't a problem for us, everyone was considerable and there are also 2 extra toilets 3 floors down. The communal toilet has an auto-cleaning seat.
Breakfast was a rather wide choice of things and the hotel is a 5-10 minute walk (or 2-3 tram-stops) from the Hauptbahnhof (main station), depending on where you exit at the station (it's massive). The tram stop is right outside the hotel door and the 2 lines go straight into the city centre - or you can walk (about 15-20 minutes).

Overall, I'd stay there again.

Room Tip: If you prefer refurbished rooms, get one with an en-suite toilet. The ones with shared facilities ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ant_manc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (907)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 907 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2012 via mobile

Staff friendly but scarey
Breakfast tea hard to work out
Breakfast ok
Local amenities close by 10pm
Near train station
Quiet enough
Toilet is separate but no window if you do a poop
Pillows are the worst! Bring your own pillow to Germany!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gina800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Inexpensive no-frills, very convenient for an early train or when arriving late. Reasonably good breakfast. Best feature is its nearness to the Augustiner Braustuberl. Close to the Oktoberfest, tram stop right out front. Friendly, helpful staff.

Room Tip: Would not recommend for more than a short stay for a couple, but great when traveling by myself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I stay here every year for Oktoberfest. This is a great small German hotel. The staff is very friendly, and they all speak English very well and are patient with travelors. The rooms are basic, but the more I travel, the less I need when it comes to accomodation. The hotel is clean and well equiped with internet on every floor. The location is great, only two blocks from the Oktoberfest, 10 minutes from the main train station, and a 20 minute walk to Marienplatz (Main square of Munich). The staff knows the area well and has always been helpful arranging cabs and setting you in the right direction for tours and attractions. My favorite part of the stay though is the free breakfast buffet. They have everything you could want and need after a long day hanging at the Oktoberfest. I will be staying here in the future as well whenever I am in Munich.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYCWrldTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Had read all the positive and negative reviews i am was almost sure that i would like this hotel.
The location is excellent, just ouside there is a tram station.
The noise from the main road didnt mind us at all. If you close the window, the noise is barable noticable. The pillows were ok, no complain there.
The hotel was clean. Especially the bathroom. Very important factor for us.
What was the problem?
We were given the room 17. And the problem appeared from the first night of sleep. The room was smelling cigarette smoke. It was so intense that we thought that the smell came from the bed quilt. Next day we asked for the quilt to be changed. But the problem remained. So for the rest of the days we slept with the window opened.
Problem no 2 was the bed. The bed deck didnt have proper support and it was very unpleasant to sleep. The fact that nobody has complained about this on the reviews of tripadvisor makes me think that is a "feature" of the room 17.

Other than that, if those things hadnt happened, jedermann would be our choice again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cptbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

I recently stayed at the Jedermann Hotel for five nights during Oktoberfest. We were pleasantly surprised at how fantastic our stay was.

Location - less than 5 minute walk to Oktoberfest, less than 10 minutes to the central train station, and approximately 20 minutes to Marienplatz. The hotel was very good at keeping Oktoberfest revelers out. That, coupled with our close proximity to the grounds, made us feel we had an 'oasis' in the midst of such madness! Very easy to get to/from the airport and the center of the city as well.

Staff - the staff were fantastic. Everyone was very helpful, even phoning around to several different pharmacies one evening to find one that was still open for us (we were in need of some night-time cold medicine!). Everyone, from reception to wait staff to the cleaners, was friendly, polite, and professional.

Food - Breakfast was included in the price of our room, and it was great! Much more variety than a typical continental-style breakfast. Many different types of pastries, meats, salads, cereals, etc. Very impressed with this.

Rooms - We stayed in the shared bathroom facility rooms. While they could certainly do with a fresh coat of paint and an updated duvet, this has no bearing on my review. The rooms were very spacious (as one reviewer put, they felt "American sized"), the beds were comfortable, and we had no problems with the shared bathroom facilities. They were clean and well-maintained. We did have a street-facing room, which I would imagine could be quite loud in the summertime when windows need to be left open, but we had no problems.

Overall, the Jedermann Hotel provided FANTASTIC value for money. The location, staff, and food were superb. We couldn't believe what a great deal we got for such great service. I would highly recommend, particularly for anyone contemplating a future Oktoberfest hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the street would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnsonlaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

This family run hotel is a perfect location to use as a base for exploring the Oktoberfest. Distance to the fair grounds is measured in yards; Left 100 yards, take a left and walk another 200 yards and you are there. It is also only a ten minute walk from the Main train station.

The staff is friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean and functional. Breakfast was great and good variety.

But....

Rooms are not air conditioned so you almost have to keep the windows open to keep the temperature comfortable this time of year. This means that you will have to deal with a lot of city noise until at least 1 or 2 AM. Every ambulance siren and loud reveller has the opportunity to disturb your sleep. And it does not help that many of the fest goers walk past the hotel on their way back to the train station.

Also, these are small rooms by American standards. A friend and I had to stay in a room that was smaller than my dorm room in college.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sail648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.2 mi away
Arthotel Munich
Arthotel Munich
#32 of 389 in Munich
923 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich - Westpark
0.3 mi away
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#7 of 389 in Munich
1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
K+K Hotel am Harras
K+K Hotel am Harras
#37 of 389 in Munich
870 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Laimer Hof
Hotel Laimer Hof
#1 of 389 in Munich
2,290 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Muenchen City Arnulfpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jedermann Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jedermann Hotel

Address: Bayerstr. 95, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#30 Best Value Hotel in Munich
#38 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#68 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £51 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Jedermann Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional charm and modern comfort as well as atmosphere and service have been offered since 1961 by the Jenke family and its staff. ** Cozy hotel situated in the city center, near the main train station, in front of the new European Patent Office. ** Standard rooms, most facing the quiet court yard, with shower and toilet,towel warmer, hair dryer, modern IP-TV/radio and phone with voice mail. Some also with air-conditioning, interconnecting doors and wellness-shower. ** Superior rooms offering additionally USB-datasocket, electronic safe and LED-lighting. ** Basic rooms with only wash-basin and clock radio; shower and toilet down the corridor, without any other amenities (TV and phone in the public area). ** Free internet and e-mail access also from the guest computer in the lobby. Well liked buffet breakfast, offering also hot dishes, included in the room rate. Electric kettle to take up to the room available. Small hotel bar with sitting room. Car parking. Tram stop at the hotel with tickets available at the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Jedermann Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jedermann Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing