We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located basic hotel with a superb breakfast”
Review of Jedermann Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jedermann Hotel
Ranked #29 of 388 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Stayed 3 nights here (Nov 17 - 20) and have to say for what I paid I was very happy, the hotel is a 10 minute walk from the Munich HBF (central train station) and 25 - 30 minutes from Marianplatz, I stayed in a room with shared facilities and no tv. After booking I was e-mailed and offered an upgrade but declined. The breakfast on offer is possibly the best i've been offered anywhere in Europe, a vast selection of meats, cheeses, cereals, yoghurt, fresh fruit and even omelettes or scrambled eggs made to order. The staff were very friendly from my arrival right through to when I reluctantly left, the towels and bed linen were changed everyday (which I found surprising as it was so cheap). I would recommend staying here, it's not the Ritz but it's not the Pitz ...........

Room Tip: Stayed in Room 44, pretty much an attic room with shared facilities, but for solo traveller pretty p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fuzzbubble_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (901)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

266 - 272 of 901 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Jedermann in September 2013. The room and bath were nice and very clean, could not have asked more for the breakfast (included) and the service was great. The location was also great - easy to walk to the center and the tram stopped right in front of the hotel. They help out with transportation, tea in the evenings, umbrellas, they even mailed me a pillow I left in the room. I think the cost was about 95Euros/night.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daisysma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

I've stayed many times in the jedermann, including one time for about 2 months when working in Munich. It's a funny old place with very cheap basic rooms available, perfect if you just need somewhere to sleep but maybe not if you're trying to impress someone :)

I've stayed in various rooms with shower in the room, and the cheaper ones where the toilet and shower are shared between 4 rooms on the same floor. Personally I think this is fine, don't be snobby and pay more if you're on a budget!

Breakfast buffet is included and is pretty good, and the staff are happy to help with maps of the city and tips for the public transport etc.

Overall recommended for probably the cheapest decent place you can find in Munich.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
8  Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The hotel is located ~10 mins walk from the Central Train Station) or you can use the public transport - the stop is right in front of the hotel). That makes it ~15 mins walk to the Old City gates - not bad in a standard of a City as huge as Munich. Majority of the attractions are within a walking distance.
We took the shared facilities room on the top floor. There is a double sink in the room however. The toilet along with the shower are very clean, seems like been wiped every few hours or so.
Breakfast was excellent!!!
The staff went on and beyond in assisting the guests! Very friendly, knowledgeable and understanding.
Will likely stay in the hotel again.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Vlad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We arrived at the Jederman after making a reservation for 1 night through a third-party reliable booking website. The reservation was made months in advance. When we arrived at around 1:00 on the date of our reservation, we were told that the room was not available and they would be moving us to the Munich Inn. We researched the Munich Inn, and it was ranked #363 or 385 hotels in Munich, whereas the Jederman was #36.

The Jederman offered us a substandard room (not the one we paid for) but refused to honor our booking because other travelers were staying for more than 1 night and they got a preference. We booked the Jederman because my husband's family has stayed there numerous times over ten years.

Ultimately we were offered a room if we came back in two hours (around 3:00) but we did not trust them anymore. They were going to have to kick out another group of travelers in order to accommodate us. The Jederman REFUSED to pay $18 more euro to put us at a comparable hotel nearby and only offered us the Munich Inn.

Ultimately, we left the hotel and forked out another 50 euro to stay elsewhere. We just did not feel like if we left for two hours and came back we would be guaranteed a room as we felt like we were guaranteed a room when we came in. The staff was not accommodating and the manager was quite rude.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
5  Thank KatiePW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedermann, Front Office Manager at Jedermann Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Katie,

thank you very much for taking the time to write this review despite the unpleasant memories you have of your short contact with us at the hotel this time.

We kindly like to ask you again, to please accept our apologizes for our mistake to double book your room and really understand your disappointment. The day you had booked to stay at Hotel Jedermann, Munich was extremely busy because of several major events taking place.

We did our best to find a decent hotel with private facilities in the most central location as a replacement early enough in order to assure you a pleasant stay in the city. We are very sorry, if all our suggestions to resolve this, also for us, very difficult and annoying situation, did not meet your needs or expectations. Neither the alternatively offered basic room with shower only at the lower price here at the JEDERMANN, nor the other hotel in general and also not our final offer to find other ways to solve our problem and to give you exactly the room you had booked. It was for housekeeping reasons only, that we unfortunately had to ask you to wait for this room, which you preferred not to.

Errors like this, we can truly say, occur fortunately extremely seldom at our hotel and we will definitely continue optimizing our procedures in order to prevent unpleasant situations for our guests.

Nevertheless we feel very sorry and are also surprised, that you didn't feel treated respectfully by our staff. Fortunately this is rather unlike other guest experiences at the Jedermann, but we will also look into this, because it has always been and will always be our highest goal to satisfy our customers, even or especially in difficult situations.

We would like to assure you, that we would do everything to make your next stay in Munich a really positive experience and would be very pleased, if you would trust us once more, and visit again the JEDERMANN. Please let us know, if you would like to do so - we would be very grateful.

Again, please accept our apologizes.

Yours sincerely,

Hotel Jedermann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This hotel has nice sized rooms, comfortable and was well lit. Breakfast was fairly standard, but they would make you eggs to order. Wifi worked very well in the room. One small down side was its location away from Old Town, but Tram 18 & 19 stopped right in front of the hotel and it's only 2 short stops from the main station. Price and value were excellent for Munich.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kagatlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We read about the hotel in a travel book before booking and the hotel lived up to our expectations. My daughter and I spent 3 days in Munich prior to heading south and the stay at the Jedermann Hotel really enhanced our experience. The staff was helpful and efficient and the room was spacious and clean. The breakfast room is charming and has many choices for even the pickiest of eaters! We did not have a rental car, so access to transportation was important. The Hotel is conveniently located next to a bus stop and the train station making everythingvery easy. Great place to stay in Munich!

Room Tip: We had a triple which was at the end of the corridor, so noise was minimal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JSD53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.2 mi away
Arthotel Munich
Arthotel Munich
#31 of 388 in Munich
907 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich - Westpark
0.3 mi away
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#7 of 388 in Munich
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
K+K Hotel am Harras
K+K Hotel am Harras
#34 of 388 in Munich
861 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Muenchen City Arnulfpark
2.4 mi away
Hotel Laimer Hof
Hotel Laimer Hof
#1 of 388 in Munich
2,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jedermann Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jedermann Hotel

Address: Bayerstr. 95, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#33 Best Value Hotel in Munich
#38 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#40 Family Hotel in Munich
#68 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £52 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Jedermann Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional charm and modern comfort as well as atmosphere and service have been offered since 1961 by the Jenke family and its staff. ** Cozy hotel situated in the city center, near the main train station, in front of the new European Patent Office. ** Standard rooms, most facing the quiet court yard, with shower and toilet,towel warmer, hair dryer, modern IP-TV/radio and phone with voice mail. Some also with air-conditioning, interconnecting doors and wellness-shower. ** Superior rooms offering additionally USB-datasocket, electronic safe and LED-lighting. ** Basic rooms with only wash-basin and clock radio; shower and toilet down the corridor, without any other amenities (TV and phone in the public area). ** Free internet and e-mail access also from the guest computer in the lobby. Well liked buffet breakfast, offering also hot dishes, included in the room rate. Electric kettle to take up to the room available. Small hotel bar with sitting room. Car parking. Tram stop at the hotel with tickets available at the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jedermann Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jedermann Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing