We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“damo Dublin”
Review of Astor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Astor Hotel
Ranked #274 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed 7 March 2013

great location, 2 mins walk to main train station, rooms very clean, and great service, breakfast wonderful, all staff very friendly, would stay again at my next visit to munich.rooms very warm, could walk every where.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Damien S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights. I'll be 100% honest, I was terrified of staying here because of all the comments on Trip Advisor.

There are a couple of strip clubs nearby but I wouldn't say there were women hanging out of them, as a couple we didn't mind them being there. In fact we laughed at the fact we had a strip club directly below us. As it was Winter when we visited windows were closed all night and we didn't hear anything from the club at all. The bed was so comfy we just went straight to sleep.

The room was very clean and modern looking. The bathroom could do with an upgrade, is very worn but not dirty. Kinda found it hard to sleep as it was so warm (even in December) and as it was snowing outside (and very cold) it was not appropriate to open the window.

We used the hotel as a base for the Christmas Market at the Marienplatz and Tollwood etc. The train station was nearby but most of the things we wanted were in easy walking distance. Only thing we really needed the train for was our trip to the Munich Zoo.

We did not try the restaurant, seemed to be mainly pizza and there are some very cheap kebab shops nearby and food at the Christmas market stands/bierhaus'. We ate sausages from nearby stands for breakfast every day, because you can't go to Germany without eating loads of them :)

We had rung prior to arriving to check our booking was still okay but the man who picked up didn't speak English. Whilst we were there however, everyone spoke English perfectly.

The hotel has a lift up to the rooms, would barely fit a wheelchair but it works.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

The location is within walking distance of central station & Marionplatz. The area is a litle sketchy, but it's where so many of the hotels are situated so it wasn't an issue for us. There was never a time we felt unsafe and we were out walking late at night several times. The room was clean. There is a computer in the lobby that they don't charge to use. The staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GSUgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

This is located very centrally near the main train station and within short walking distance of the centre. It is in a multi-ethnic area so you can explore Afghan, Lebanese, Turkish as well as the usual pizzeria restaurants.
But what irritated me extremely was the prominent four stars on the entrance. This barely makes it to three.

Room Tip: Just avoid the sixth floor as the lift only goes to the fifth! Those rooms are attic with low slopin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fred_davies_payan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We stayed for two nights at this hotel having stayed the previous two nights at Le Meridien round the corner. Astor is 5 minutes' walk from the Central Station and 5 minutes walk from Karlsplatz which is the entrance to the main action of the city. A lot of other reviews are critical of the fact there are strip clubs in the street around the hotel however you can['t mark down the hotel on that as you know all of this before you book - if you don't like some strip clubs and cheap mobile phone shops around your hotel, don't book.
The breakfast room is one thing the hotel dow very well. For a small private hotel the breakfast choice is excellent. If you arent satisfied by the breakfast here you will never be happy.
The hotel is what it is - a reasonably well-equipped budget-priced 4-star base for a city break although we reckoned it more of a 3-star. The only complaint was the lack of air-conditioning which means you have to leave your room window open which is a problem if you want to get a good sleep as the street noise is loud all through the night, esp from around 3am when the strip clubs start to empty through to the garbage trucks which clatter along from around 5am.
It is a perfectly acceptable base for a city break and good value. If you want air-con and no strip clubs, I recommend Le Meridien at 3-times the price!

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room to the rear of the hotel as street noise is bad through the night. .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AJM710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

This was our second stay at Astor Hotel. It is a is in a good location only about 5 minutes walk from Munich HBF (Central Station) and the city's transport hub, and a slightly longer walk will take you into the city centre, where the hotels are twice the price.
The hotel is clean with helpful staff, and a very good breakfast buffet. The rooms are much what you would expect with TV and Wifi, mini safe, etc, and there is a small car park, which we used to load up from once we had picked up a hire car from the station for the rest of our trip.
I have ready some concerns about the neoghbourhood, and it is true that it is full of kebab shops, strip clubs, phone shops etc, but it feels a lot safer that similar areas in Birtish, Spanish or North American Cities...hence why we have stayed their twice. (There's even a branch of C & A at the end of the road if you miss them!) Munich, and Germany in general is a very safe country and the people are welcoming and respectful. It's great city for a short break, being the former capital of Bavaria and host city of the 1972 olympics. Various Museums, Art Galeries, Historic Buildings and Palaces, plus the Olympic Tower and BMW to visit, along with lovely parks and gradens.
I would recommend The Astor hotel and

Room Tip: We asked for a quited room, and got one at the back on an upper floor overlooking the central courty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lug-hedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012 via mobile

Upon check in I was ready to check out. There are strip clubs up and down the street including in the same building as the hotel. Once I registered and went to the room I decided to stay for at least one night. The room was clean but in need of new paint. The location is what kept me here as it is a five minute walk to the center of town. It is very noisy at night with all the clubs here but closing the window solves that issue. The bar is nice. I would stay here again but I would not recommend this hotel for families with children as there are naked pictures of women up and down the street.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank joecooool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Conrad Hotel de Ville
Conrad Hotel de Ville
#118 of 385 in Munich
390 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cristal
Hotel Cristal
#180 of 385 in Munich
671 reviews
0.0 mi away
H+ Hotel Munchen
H+ Hotel Munchen
#106 of 385 in Munich
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
TRYP Munchen City Center
TRYP Munchen City Center
#114 of 385 in Munich
1,034 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpen Hotel Munchen
Alpen Hotel Munchen
#113 of 385 in Munich
175 reviews
0.1 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Munchen City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astor Hotel

Address: Schillerstr. 24, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#94 Luxury Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £56 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Astor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Astor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing