We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved Munich and Le Meridien”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Meridien Munich

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Meridien Munich
Ranked #92 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Hamilton Square, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Loved Munich and Le Meridien”
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We had a wonderful five nights in Munich at Le Meridien. We stayed in one of the recently renovated rooms, and it was worth the small increase in price. Everything, from the carpet to the bathroom is brand new. The beds are big and comfy, similar to those in American Hotels. The heated towel racks, and a complimentary bottle of Evian each day were a little bit of luxury which we appreciated. The hotel is located across from the Central Station, with underground access to both the subway and the station, which was very helpful on a rainy day. James, the doorman was always pleasant, helpful and welcoming, and was a friendly face each day. The pool area is lovely, with a sauna, steam room, and hot tub, but the vibe is more spa-like than family fun. The bar is great, with terrific local draft beer (of course!), and a friendly staff. The restaurant is OK. The food is fine, but no real raves about the breakfast buffet or dinners, especially based on the cost. The only negative comment is that the wired internet cost in room is quite expensive, but a free 15 minutes a day is available in the business center. A few reviewers have commented on the 'seedy' area. The Sexy Land bar across the street may be the basis for the comment, but we had no problems with the area. We always felt safe, day and night. We would stay again, and hope to return!

Room Tip: Superior Plus rooms are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie0407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanSchiekel, Front Office Manager at Le Meridien Munich, responded to this review, 12 September 2011
Dear Annie,

We are glad that you enjoyed the comfort of our newly remodelled rooms, the splendid and relaxing spa area and German beer you sipped in the cosy atmosphere of our Le Bar.
It is always a pleasure to hear that we have succeeded in providing outstanding service to our guests and we are very happy to pass this feedback on, especially to James, whom you mentioned.

Thank you very much for staying with us and for sharing your positive comments, the time you dedicated to writing this review is greatly appreciated.
Hopefully your travels will lead to the Bavarian metropolis in the near future and we will be looking forward to welcoming you back at Le Méridien Munich then.

Best regards,
Susan Schiekel,
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    947
    980
    376
    133
    77
See reviews for
446
908
157
562
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

The area is definitely terrible. When booking I said, well, let's give it a try. Not again. The only positive about the area is that you can get coffee for b'fast at the train station as the hotel's b'fast is way too expensive.
We stayed at one of their refurbished rooms. Well, nice enough but the carpet was already stained and many of the tiles in the bathroom were loose.
As for service, I can only say bad and not up to a 4*. The 2nd day our room was not duely cleaned. Used and really dirty towels still lay in the bathtub as we had left them. No new towels hanging, no new shampoo and shower gel. The maid knocked at our door at 8am although the "do not disturb" sign was hanging on the door knob. We requested a 2nd bathrobe on the 1st day, we never got one until we met the room maid in the aisle. Similar with valet parking on the 3rd day. We called the "service" button on the phone and asked for our car. 15 min later at the front door, the valet had not been informed.
One exception was the very nice young men at the front desk who was helpful, fun and nice.
Overall, just OK for their standard.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clod13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Executive Assistant Manager at Le Meridien Munich, responded to this review, 4 September 2011
Dear Clod,

First of all thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to provide us with this feedback, as it indicates the areas we need to focus on when striving to make each and every of our guests‘ stays memorable.

We would like to apologize for all the unsatisfactory situations you encountered; we have already brought these issues to the attention of all the related departments and have been trying to find out the reasons for these failures. The matters you mentioned are definitely not up to our standards and it is very disappointing for us to learn that exceptional cases like yours do occur.
We understand your annoyance, as you had even more than one negative experience, which is absolutely unacceptable and we are really sorry about all the trouble caused.

Please accept our sincere apologies; we can only hope now that you will reconsider staying with us again in the future and give us another chance to show you that the service we normally provide leads to our guests‘ utter satisfaction and a pleasant and enjoyable stay.

Best regards,
Karsten Kenneweg
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We stayed at the hotel for three nights at the beginning of August. I booked two rooms for a family of five. When we arrived I was told that the second room had one double bed for three people. I confirmed with them that it said 3 people.... They said that if we wanted an extra bed it would be an extra 70 Euros per night. I was a bit frustrated because somehow they had booked the room and charged for five people but if we wanted a bed for the fifth person it was extra?????? We went ahead and paid because we had prepaid for the hotel but it was not a great start. The hotel itself was nice and comfortable. The rooms were a decent size and the location was very good. The train station was right across the street and the Marienplatz was within walking distance. The hotel courtyard was very pretty. We skipped the buffet breakfast because it was way overpriced and instead walked across the street to the train station where there was a plethora of good pastry shops, coffee shops and plenty of food options. Most of the staff at the hotel were friendly and polite. The internet is overpriced and you have to pay for TV.... Nice hotel but just be prepared to pay extra if you want beds, TV, internet......

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TSB44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Executive Assistant Manager at Le Meridien Munich, responded to this review, 4 September 2011
Dear Guest,

We are very sorry that your stay with us started with an unpleasant surprise and we would like to thank you very much for sharing your experience on this website and pointing out the issue with additional beds in our rooms.
When taking a booking via our reservations department, we always make sure the guests are aware of the fact that all our rooms can accommodate two persons and if a third bed is requested, an extra charge applies. Unfortunately, we can see that this information is not clearly communicated on the external reservation channels and we have been discussing the steps we will take so that we avoid misunderstandings and unpleasant surprises like yours in the future.

Furthermore, we are very glad that despite the initial trouble, you enjoyed the rest of your stay, you liked our hotel and were content with the performance of our associates. We hope you had a good time in Munich and we will be delighted to welcome you back in Le Meridien on one of your next travels to the Bavarian metropolis.

Best regards,
Karsten Kenneweg
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We stayed at the Le Meridien for two nights a few weeks ago and had an overall very good experience.

We booked with Starwood Points and got an upgrade to a Superior Plus room. These rooms have only recently been renovated and have all modern amenities one could ask for. They are of a generous size and spotlessly clean.

The hotel is just across the road from Munich Train Station, making it very convenient located. Public transport (S Bahn / U Bahn and Tram) is just outside the front door. Trains to all major German and a variety of European cities depart from the main train station across the road. Both airport trains (S1 and S8) stop there as well - 40 minutes journey.

Staff are friendly and helpful, though quite reserved. My only complaint would be that we'd been put in a room facing the main road. There were major roadworks being done during our stay and we would have been very happy in a standard room not facing the main road instead. When we tried to change rooms after the first night we were told that the hotel was full and they could not accommodate our request. I doubt this to be true as rooms were available on spg.com. If we'd been given a chance to decide on old rooms vs. noisy renovate rooms I'd be more than happy.

Parking and Internet are not cheap but available.

This is a good hotel and we are going to be happy to stay there again in the future. Hopefully there are no roadworks outside the room then.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank malbkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Executive Assistant Manager at Le Meridien Munich, responded to this review, 4 September 2011
Dear Guest,

We are deligted to hear that you favored the refurbishments of one of our Plus category floors and that you found the room comfortable. We are very sorry that the roadworks in Bayerstrasse disturbed your stay. We would like to apologize for not having informed you about all the room options upon arrival and also for not being able to accommodate your wish for a room move. When stating the reason, we must have expressed ourselves incorrectly wanting to say there were no rooms not facing the street available.

Thank you very much for the time you dedicated to writing this comment as your feedback provides an important learning for us and reveals the points where we can improve the quality of our service.

We are genuinely sorry about the inconvenience you experienced and we truly appreciate your decision to stay with us again. It will be our great pleasure to welcome you back in our hotel, we hope there will be no external disturbances then and we will try our best to make your next stay absolutely enjoyable.

Best regards,
Karsten Kenneweg,
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond Hill, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Stayed from august 13 for 4 nights, very conenient location opposite central station, links to airport, dachau, underground and train to Vienna. Also car rental & lots of food choices open late at night. Also star bucks (good for wifi). Hotel had free wifi in lobby but we did not buy for the room.
Upon arrival suggested we upgrade to executive connecting rooms.
Lots of help from concierge on attractions & dining.
Great large room and washroom.
Only downside was view of strip club but there was no noise & we slept very well in the comfortable beds, great pillows & comforters.
Very attentive service, ice provided when machine on our floor didn't work & when we requested extra blanket - two different staff arrived to fulfill our request.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellingmomma_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at Le Meridien Munich, responded to this review, 4 September 2011
Dear Travellingmomma,

We are happy that you could take advantage of the convenient location of our hotel and that our concierge team could assist you with their recommendations in exploring Munich and its surroundings and get the most of what it has to offer. We are glad you were satistied with your room and thrilled we suceeded in providing an outstanding service as this is our utmost aim at all times.

It is surprising to hear that you could use the wifi in the lobby for free, as our wireless network normally requires a paid code.

Thank you very much for staying with us and for writing this review. We hope you will be able to come again soon and look forward to welcoming you back in our hotel.

Best regards from Munich,
Susan Schiekel,
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athens
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Everything was ok with the Hotel.
We were offered also early book in (free) and also one free breakfast .

The staff was friendly and willing to help.
The room was clean and big but with out special view.
The loction will facilitiate greatly your Munich exploration.

However at the end you have the feeling that you are part of a process of instrustrial
tourism (just an other tourist processed successfully).

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karakaxaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Executive Assistant Manager at Le Meridien Munich, responded to this review, 4 September 2011
Dear Karakaxaki,

Thank you very much for your comments. Although you mentioned everything went well, we feel we failed, because our goal is not only to provide a pleasant hotel stay, but, most importantly, a memorable exprience that leaves a lasting impression. We are genuinely sorry we did not manage to do so this time and we truly appreciate you shared these feelings as this is extremely important information that will help us improve and minimize exceptional cases like yours.
We would be pleased if you gave us another chance to find out what would make your stay more enjoyable and succeed in making also you feel like a particular guest of us.

Best regards,
Karsten Kenneweg
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

For me the best was hotel stuff. Very very nice and helpfull. Room was enough big. We slept super, like at home. No problem with noice outside, air condition works quiet. Close to train, subway and city center. Highly recomended.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at Le Meridien Munich, responded to this review, 4 September 2011
Dear Marek,

We were very delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and that the performance and attention of our associates made it special. Receiving a feedback like yours is indeed the best reward for the ongoing efforts of the entire team and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write about your positive experience on this website.
We are already looking forward to your next stay with us.

Best regards,
Susan Schiekel
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
0.0 mi away
Aloft Munich
Aloft Munich
#24 of 382 in Munich
553 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Koenigshof
Hotel Koenigshof
#22 of 382 in Munich
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 382 in Munich
1,413 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 382 in Munich
1,453 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#5 of 382 in Munich
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Munich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Munich

Property: Le Meridien Munich
Address: Bayerstr. 41, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Munich
#44 Business Hotel in Munich
#51 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#54 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#77 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Munich 5*
Number of rooms: 381
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Munich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Munich Hotel Munich
Munich Le Meridien
Meridien Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing