We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel”
Review of Le Meridien Munich

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Meridien Munich
Ranked #101 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed 8 May 2012

The hotel is NOT a five star as advertised. I have never experienced a five star hotel that did not have wifi in their rooms. You pay almost $30 per day for wired internet. There is no tea/coffee facility in their rooms. If you ask for cups to make your own tea, they charge you for the cups ! If you want to use the fridge to cool your water or drinks they charge you $30+ to empty the fridge !
The room was in decent shape as was the bath room the garden side room was also quiet.However the corridor looked old and tired , the carpets had worn out patches and looked grubby. the sofas in the lobby were also tatty looking. The one saving grace was the concierge, he was helpful and knowledgable.

Room Tip: Ask fir a garden view room on a higher floor . there are renovated rooms on the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank serum121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,632)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,187 - 1,193 of 2,632 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2012

I stayed here for two nights during April of 2012. We were picking up a car at the BMW Welt and booked the Le Meridien, Munich as SPG Gold members.

Checkin was cheerful and the standard 3 gifts were offered for SPG Gold. We chose the internet and it worked as promised. The bar was comfortable and served good sausage and Munchen beer.

The hotel is based around a very nice courtyard in the middle. We enjoyed beers there while waiting to go out for dinner in the evening.

Room was very clean and offered a nice large bathroom with a slightly weird shower setup-- the door did not stay closed by its own. We figured out to hang a towel (which did not get wet) over the doors to keep them closed. After finding this trick, the bathroom was great. Windows opened completely or opened with the standard European tilt down from the top. It was warm while we were there and the HVAC did a fair job of keeping up, being in Germany.

Upon checkout, we had some confusion with the bill with the internet and the front desk clerk immediately sided in our favor and set things straight without question.

Location was phonemenal directly across from Hauptbahnof. I was able to arrive at the airport in Munich (well out of town) and be in the hotel lobby within 45 minutes via public transportation. The hotel website did a good job of helping me find the hotel from the train station.

For a first hotel upon arriving in Europe, the Le Meridien was an easy find and comfortable. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the inside courtyard for a quiet stay. Some rooms are very far from elevator and n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management L, Management at Le Meridien Munich, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2012

Dear Jeff T,
We are happy to read that you enjoyed every part of your stay with us! That is exactly what we as a team aim for and we would like to thank you for your fantastic review! We hope you had a great time in Europe and we can welcome you back soon!


Best regards,

Your team of Le Méridien Munich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights visiting relatives in the area. We had just come off a great cruise and decided to splurge a little (well a lot).

Stayed here for SPG points and the proximity to transportation. Across from the train station.

It seems this is mainly a business hotel with some tours (at least on the weekend).

I have to say that I don't really know the Le Meridien name or what it stands for. At first entry it is trying to be a W hotel. The impression of a 5 star hotel is there.

We were assigned a King room facing the courtyard. Great for being quite. Mind the offices across from the rooms.

The room was generally in good condition. The bathroom had some cleanliness problems with mold in the bathroom.

Free internet as part of the package. Wired only. 5 foot cable provided in room that did not reach the bed. Lots of electrical outlets.

For a business hotel it was strange not to have an Iron & Ironing board in the room. A complete hassle to call housekeeping to get one.

Soap & Shampoo provided were of lower quality. You will want to bring your own.

Our room rate did not include breakfast. Just $30 Euros extra for you can enjoy the hotel breakfast. Excessive we thought. For the first two days we walked across to the Train Station for great breakfasts.

On our last morning we opted to stay in the hotel for breakfast just prior to our very early departure. The restaurant opened at 6:30 AM.

Here is where our hotel experience went down hill. Coffee was served once but not refilled - not enough staff. Plates from courses were cleared very slowly or not at all. The cold options were ok, the hot options were poor. Warm but not hot. Completely overdone scrambled eggs. There was an omlet station but during our 40 minute visit the person was not there. No sneeze cards on a lot of the food options. For 30 Euros this was a disappointment. Go across to the train station!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BCtraveler44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenZoller, Front Office Manager at Le Meridien Munich, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2012

Dear BCtraveler44,
Thank you very much for your recent stay and for providing us with a valuable feedback via this posting.
It seems like your stay with us did not only leave positive memories behind but we can read that you enjoyed your stay in general except some issues in the room and your breakfast experience.
Therefore we have forwarded your comments to all necessary departments in order to retrain our team members and avoid such feedback in the future. Your experience reflects an isolated case and we are really sorry that we were not able to meet and even exceed your expectations.
Cleanliness has the highest priority and I personally assure you that this is certainly not the high standard we provide.
You also mentioned the fact that you felt uncomfortable in our breakfast room as there were not enough associates and the long waiting time for being served. We hope you can accept our apology and we are sorry for not being able to recall what happened but we certainly forwarded your comments to our restaurant manager and as well the executive chef in order for them to share your experience with the entire team.
We appreciate every comment we get, as only this can help us to improve our service and raise our standards – thank you very much!
Please accept our sincere apology for all inconveniences you went through. We truly understand your frustration and are very disappointed to learn that there is an exceptional case like yours. Furthermore we would appreciate if you granted us another chance to make you feel comfortable and deliver the services recognized by other guests. We can only hope now that you will reconsider Le Méridien Munich for your next visit and will make every possible effort to make your stay absolutely trouble-free.
With best regards from Munich,
Susan Schiekel
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

As an SPG platinum holder decided to give the Meridien a try - very warm welcome from the front office manager and clearly went out of their way to offer me a pleasant stay. Like all Munich hotels it is busy and I was disappointed that the only restaurant was packed and wouldn't take any more bookings for the evening I stayed there. The room was comfortable and quiet but the lack of wifi caused me issues plus the fact that the room Internet LAN didn't function either.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Brydon_n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fee Carolina W, Guest Relations at Le Meridien Munich, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2012

Dear Brydon_n,
Thank you for your review!
I am sorry to hear that we could not accommodate you in our restaurant Le Potager. It is very popular with guests as well as locals, so we cannot always guarantee a table. We are more than happy to book a table for you in advance for your next stay to avoid any disappointment.
I am glad to let you know that we are getting WiFi in the rooms very soon and as we realize that most guests expect it in the rooms these days. We are sorry that the LAN cable did not work, I hope we were able to get the issue solved during your stay!
We hope we can welcome you back soon nevertheless!
Best regards,
Fee Carolina Wahl
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Everything was very comfortable. A warm friendly welcome, great food, wonderful and colorful bar, good spa with comfortable temperature of water. Interesting dinner with good served menu. The hotel doesn't have nice views but the city is full of them! And honestly easy to reach the center just 5-10 minutes walking. We have fallen in love with Bavaria at this 1st visit =)

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia_mc_es
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed at this hotel in April 2012. It was a very good deal considering the location and the conditions of the rooms. The hotel is nicely decorated and the service is also quite pleasant. We got three rooms and they were all spacious and neat. We planned a trip to Salzburg with an early train but it was no trouble since we were five minutes away from the station. Overall we enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Asli-Celebi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Le Meridien hotel is located directly opposite central station (and the 5 star sofia hotel) which made it really easy to get to when hopping of the train from the airport. Journey time from the airport is about half an hour, as their are many exits out of the station we asked someone which was the Bayerstrasse exit which was handy as the hotel is directly opposite. Check-inn desk was busy though, but check-inn was smooth. Much to our delight my wife and I were upgraded to a suite as a standard room was not available, room was big and very comfortable, 2 televisions,2 mini-bars a Bose sound system, with a seperate dressing room and a large bathroom with tub and separate shower cubicle. Although it never bothered us some of the floor tiles were a bit loose in the bathroom. We never had breakfast included but the member of staff at the entrance to the breakfast area was offering us complimentary coffee and juice..

Only a 5 or 10 minute walk away from the hotel we were in the town centre, shops to cater for all and what I really went for BEER HALLS!! very busy but great atmosphere and delicous food.
Looking forward to our next trip to Le Meridien, Munich. Oh great spa area and swimming pool, the pool is cold though, takes a couple of minutes to get used to it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shan69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fee Carolina W, Guest Relations at Le Meridien Munich, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2012

Dear shan69,

Thank you very much for your great review! It’s very good to hear that you had such a nice time at Le Méridien and in Munich ! We are glad that you liked the suite, although we will have to look into the point about the loose tiles.
This city has so much to offer, I am positive that you will still find a lot to explore when you visit Munich next time! If you like the beer halls, I recommend the traditional beer gardens that you will find everywhere in Munich. Some of them are only a short walk away from the hotel. They are great places when the weather is nice and very popular with locals as well as visitors. Maybe you will have a chance to try them out next time you are here?

All the best from sunny Munich,
Carolina Wahl
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
0.3 mi away
Hotel Koenigshof
Hotel Koenigshof
#21 of 385 in Munich
602 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aloft Munich
Aloft Munich
#22 of 385 in Munich
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 385 in Munich
1,571 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Munich City Center
0.7 mi away
Bayerischer Hof Hotel
Bayerischer Hof Hotel
#47 of 385 in Munich
1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Munich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Munich

Address: Bayerstr. 41, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Munich
#44 Business Hotel in Munich
#53 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#54 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#77 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £126 - £380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Munich 5*
Number of rooms: 381
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Meridien Munich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Munich Hotel Munich
Munich Le Meridien
Meridien Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing