We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whatever you do, don't go to this hotel!!”
Review of Le Meridien Munich

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Meridien Munich
Ranked #101 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed 7 October 2012

I left le Meridien Munich in floods of tears - not because I missed being in Munich - but because of the extortionate bill! Breakfast for three (myself and my two sons aged 17 and 13) was 84 euros per day and the uncomfortable camp bed we had ordered for my youngest was 70 euros per night; you could buy a bed for less! We calculated that for the same money we ended up paying for the holiday itself we could have gone to Tokyo or on a luxury cruise! Add to this the virtually non-existant lighting (maybe so you can't see the aforesaid bill!) the grating, ubiquitous ambient music (which they actually have the nerve to brag about in the lift) and the pretentious, faux-trendy image, and the result is the worst hotel we have ever stayed in. When I complained, the manager admitted she had overcharged me by 168 euros (this is because I was billed for two adults and two children - be careful to check your bill as it is not itemised on a per person basis). Now, thanks to a £900-odd bill for breakfast, a camp bed and a one way hotel transfer I am broke and VERY ANGRY, and it's all thanks to le Rip-off Meridien. If I can deter just one hard-working family from booking this hotel, I will consider it a job well done.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paula D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management L, Geschäftsführer at Le Meridien Munich, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2012

Dear Paula D,

I regret to learn from your posting that you are still very upset about the situation described - I am truly sorry to hear that despite all efforts from us in our previous direct offline communications we did not manage to clear the matters to your satisfaction.

Dear Tripadvisor Community, please be advised that our guests do have the option to choose between a room reservation including or excluding breakfast. In addition to a room-only booking we charge €28,- for our rich breakfast buffet and €16,- for continental breakfast per person and day, which apply upon consumption. For a third person in a guest room staying in an extra bed we charge €60,- per day without breakfast and €75,-per day as a special package including breakfast.

Please be informed that all these price points reflect our published rates and are communicated at check-in.

Sincerely,

Dagmar Zechmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,632)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,100 - 1,106 of 2,632 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2012

I stayed for three nights during Oktoberfest. Keep in mind, the location of this hotel is just outside the train station and creates a bit of chaos in and around the hotel. However, I would be interested to see what it is like during normal times and not the festival.

I had street side room and was surprised at how quiet the room was. The window does a good job of keeping out the noise. The room was clean and nice. Not spectacular but certainly well kept up. I found the service to be good and enjoyed the vibe of the hotel and lobby bar which made for a great launching and landing point each day.

Now, since you near the train station, some the of neighborhood surrounding the hotel can become quite interesting later at night. However, I found it to be a fun cultural experience.

The gym is small but I did use it and had no complaints.

Yes, the hotel is pricey. But you are paying for convenience and location. Personally, I liked the place.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are probably less noisy, however, I found my street side room to be pretty quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelscout1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management L, Leiter Front Office at Le Meridien Munich, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2012

Dear GoesToo,

Warmest greetings from Le Meridien Munich and thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor.
We have acknowledged your comments in regards to our guest rooms and would like to inform you that we are in the process of renovating our guest floors in order to satisfy our valued guests like yourself through service quality. Consequently we hope to be able to welcoming you back soon to demonstrate visible improvements hopefully to your liking as well.

Best regards,

Felix Schaller
Front Office Manager
Le Meridien München

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Stayed here with the family during oktoberfest for 5 days. We were given a room that had been recently renovated, and it was awesome. The bathroom facilities were new and spotless. The bed was big and very comfortable. The lighting was fun, as they have this artwork in the room that lights up from behind. We did use the pool area, which was large for a munich hotel pool. We ate at the restaurant both for breakfast and lunch, and the service was friendly all the time, especially for the kids. And at checkout their bell service was very helpful. The location is very central and had easy access to anything in munich, and the oktoberfest grounds were only a couple of blocks away. The area outside is a little on the seedy side late at night, but that is to be expected around a main train station.

Room Tip: Try to get a newly renovated room, they are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunnytheTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management L, Leiter Front Office at Le Meridien Munich, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2012

Dear Sunnythe Traveller,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor as well as the outstanding rating.
We are very pleased to read such encouraging comments and are glad you and your family had a most enjoyable stay with us. Our newly renovated guest rooms add great value to our property, which we are very proud of and hence are happy you liked the contemporary artful design and furniture.
We are looking very forward to welcoming you back next year to another Oktoberfest season and remain with best regards,

Felix Schaller
Front Office Manager
Le Meridien München

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

this happened in Le Méridien Munich Germany. Left for dinner and when we got back the safety deposit box was opened and taken out from the wall. All of the money we brought and mac book air was taken. We informed the hotel and they said they are not liable for the loss. If they are not liable, then who is? How can anyone expect to be safe in Germany then? it is obviously their fault. Who would know that there is someone checked in, in that room? Wouldn't it be the hotel? It even sounds very convenient for them to say that the cctv camera doesn't face the room so they couldn't see who got in the room and did all these things. Again, who knows that there is no cctv facing that room? Again it would be the hotel. It is obviously an inside job and they are not attending to it. They would not even give a copy of the police report because they said it is in German so it is useless to get a copy. What do they really think? We cannot have it translated? How would anyone want to say in this Hotel when they are suppose to be located in over 50 countries around the world?

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Mari14422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management L, Geschäftsführer at Le Meridien Munich, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2012

Dear Mari14422,

We herewith acknowledge your posting and want to assure you that safety & security are of utmost importance and priority to us, which is why we follow the highest standards in this respect, and had undertaken and are undertaking every measure possible to prevent such incidents to occur. You have received from us all official documents we were able to obtain. Please rest assured that it is in the interest of both of us that all investigations are conducted transparently, diligently and as fast as possible. All steps within our power have immediately been taken and are now being further proceeded by official authorities.

Sincerely,
Dagmar Zechmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

The Meridien is located at the western edge of the center of Munich. By foot you are about 15-20 minutes from the Isar River (which I think of as the eastern edge of the center). As others have noted, the hotel is directly across the street (to the south) from the Hauptbanhof, so if you are taking mass transit it is convenient. It is also convenient to the Theresienwiese, which is the site of Oktoberfest. The hotel itself is unexceptional but totally pleasant. Yes, the gym is small and the equipment dated, but it does have an indoor pool by way of compensation. Yes, the rooms are without character, but they are relatively large and in good condition.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoesToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

As a SPG Platinum member, I stay at Sheraton Hotels over 50 night per
year. It is the top tier status and in a sense the red carpet is rolled out.This hotel
is right across the street from the Central train station in Munich. If you
are coming by the airport bus, walk through the terminal and cross the street. We
came here for Oktoberfest. My platinum status was recognized and we were given
a decent size room. The hotel could use some renovations as it feels like a
hotel back in the 80's or something.

We ate breakfast and the offering was superb. There were many selections to
choose from and the quality was good.

There were plenty of Oktoberfest shops located nearby. It's in a very central spot
as one can take the subway and get to most tourist destinations fairly quickly.
Oktoberfest is located one stop away. The staff knowledge is okay, however
one staff member gave us the wrong subway stop to the Sheraton Westpark.
Luckily, someone else intervened or we would have been given the wrong
directions!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank albutt27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management L, Leiter Front Office at Le Meridien Munich, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2012

Dear albutt27,

Thank you for sharing your experience of your stay with the Tripadvisor community.
We are always happy to recognize our most frequent Starwood travellers and are glad to read that you enjoyed your room arrangement and our breakfast service.
Please note that we are currently in the process of renovating our guest floors, which will hopefully be to your liking upon completion.
We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience of having provided you with wrong information in regards to a city location and will hence ensure to reinforce our internal Concierge training.
We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Felix Schaller
Front Office Manager
Le Meridien München

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

The location is one of the greatest benefits of this hotel. The main train station is right across the street, lots of activity and safe enough. We did a lot of walking and never felt in danger. The Platz is about a 20 minute walk, but you can use the SBahn to go anywhere really. The tour bus is 2 blocks away and can help you get your bearing before you start moving around the city.

We had some perks going into our stay at Le M and the hotel itself has a very nice lobby, bar, courtyard. The rooms are clean but poorly layed out. Our bed was right at the door of the bathroom which was odd and weird. But it was comfy enough and I slept like a rock regardless.

Most of the staff was super nice, but we had 1 or 2 concierge that could use some more training. I"m sure all the tourists get on their nerves, but then that would put them in the wrong job right? I wish I could tell you about all we did in Munich, but let me just say it was by far our favorite German city. You must get to the beer garden in the English Gardens. And to the market beer garden in the Platz. What a festive and awesome gathering. I've never had so many pretzels.

Overall, Le M is in a great location, straight shot from the hotel and zero need to take a taxi. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the courtyard to avoid being on the street side. And request an upgrade if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yumyumguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management L, Leiter Front Office at Le Meridien Munich, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2012

Dear yumyumguy,

Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor to share your feedback following your recent stay at Le Meridien Munich.
We are very glad you enjoyed your time in Munich and happy to read that you were satisfied with all the facilities of the hotel.
Please accept our sincere apologies if you felt uncomfortable with our Concierge service, which has been internally discussed and will consequently lead to continuous training to avoid such incidents.
We sincerley hope to welcoming you back in the near future and remain with our best regards,

Felix Schaller
Front Office Manager
Le Meridien München

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
0.3 mi away
Hotel Koenigshof
Hotel Koenigshof
#21 of 385 in Munich
602 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aloft Munich
Aloft Munich
#22 of 385 in Munich
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 385 in Munich
1,571 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Munich City Center
0.7 mi away
Bayerischer Hof Hotel
Bayerischer Hof Hotel
#47 of 385 in Munich
1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Munich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Munich

Address: Bayerstr. 41, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Munich
#44 Business Hotel in Munich
#53 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#54 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#77 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £126 - £380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Munich 5*
Number of rooms: 381
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Munich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Munich Hotel Munich
Munich Le Meridien
Meridien Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing