We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK but can be improved” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Meridien Munich

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Meridien Munich
Ranked #90 of 381 Hotels in Munich
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
178 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“OK but can be improved”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

Stayed here recently for three night during Octoberfest. It is well located across from the central train station and within walking distance from the Octoberfest grounds. You can also get there by taxi or rickshaw. The hotel itself is dated and not as well appointed as some other Meridien premises. Internet charges are 20 Euros per day or 6 Euros per hour. Service is provided upon request, but not volunteered. There are no doormen who open the door, and luggage help rendered only by request. Breakfast is nice but expensive (28 Euros), which is much more than what you would pay for dinner at one of the many beer restaurants in Munich. Overall it wasn't a bad hotel but there is certainly room for improvement.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goodgenes5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    941
    970
    372
    130
    75
See reviews for
437
902
155
554
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, SC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

Stayed here for Oktoberfest so the room rate was very high. The room was small, the beds were even smaller, and it was very difficult to get extra towels. In fact, the cleaning staff did not even have bath towels on them! The hotel was ok for Oktoberfest and for walking around Munich as it is not far from any one location, but overall just OK.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bugandgoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, Connecticut, USA
Level Contributor
93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

My wife and I have stayed at LMM for five years in a row, and we are already planning our trip for next year. It's so easy to take the train to Munich and just walk across the street to a consistently friendly and wonderful hotel...perfectly situated to walk to all the important Munich sights and attractions [Oktoberfest included!]
The rooms are more than comfortable, large and spotless...this is a Starwood gem! Thank you!

Room Tip: We love the rooms overlooking the beautiful courtyard...oh, and the breakfast is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Traveling_Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management L, Leiter Front Office at Le Meridien Munich, responded to this review, 18 October 2012
Dear VoyagerTom,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor as well as the encouraging score following your recent stay at Le Meridien Munich.
It is always rewarding for the entire team to hear such great comments from our guests.
We are looking very forward to welcoming you and your wife back very soon.
Best regards,

Felix Schaller
Front Office Manager
Le Meridien München
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
84 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012 via mobile

Admittedly only stayed for one night and it was fine for that and moderately priced. My advice is that if you are used to luxury hotels, don't bother unless it is just for one night. Service upon arrival was very good especially considering the crowd at the desk. There was a family with 3 or 4 boys trying to check in at the same time as us. The mother was in desperate need of a cocktail, or something. She was speaking loudly to her boys who seemed to be better behaved than she was. While hubby was still at the front desk she suddenly decided she didn't want their luggage on a cart and she started shoving my cart to get to hers, knocking all of our luggage onto the floor and the cart down on top of it. She looked at me and said "we'll it's not my fault". Charming. The bellmen handled the situation like pros! One picking up our luggage while the other removed hers from the cart as she wanted. Entire front desk and lobby staff were excellent.

The room was quite small but had decent bedding and a nice bathroom. The window would only open about six inches and had a view of a few strip clubs. Other than the view, the location was okay. Ten minutes walk to the Marienplatz and across from the train station. The shower enclosure was very small. I kept hitting my elbows when trying to wash my hair. There was only one robe provided and it was frayed at the cuffs and collar. Not really "luxury hotel" standards.

There was a sign in the lobby showing the 3 sizes of "to go" coffees served at the restaurant in the morning. Since there were not coffee making facilities in the room, I was pretty happy! Coffee to go is pretty rare in Europe so I thought this was great. Went down to get our coffees before heading to the airport and no one in the restaurant seemed to know what I was talking about. No paper cups, not cream, no sugar. It took 22 minutes to finally get our coffee in the medium size cup as displayed. The staff were friendly but clueless.

All in all, you get what you pay for. We got a decent deal on this room and we got a decent night sleep and a whirlwind tour of Munich. Would pay the extra money and stay at the Mandarin Oriental next time.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Excaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management L, Leiter Front Office at Le Meridien Munich, responded to this review, 18 October 2012
Dear Excaper,

Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor to share your feedback with the online community following your recent stay at Le Meridien Munich.
We are glad to read that you were very satisfied with the service provided upon arrival and likewise regret to hear about your negative experience involving other guests.
We would like to inform you that Illy Cafe plays a large role in Le Meridien Hotels around the world as in to provide a coffee experience to all Le Meridien guests, which brings a coffee culture into our hotel and adds to a great creative way of life. The coffee to go voucher is provided in the guestrooms and available to all our in-house guests, who may redeem them at 'Le Bar' anytime. We apologize if our restaurant staff misunderstood your request and will certainly reemphasize the topic with the team accordingly.
We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future and remain with my best regards,

Felix Schaller
Front Office Manager
Le Meridien München
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
131 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

We spent 2 nights in this hotel as Oktoberfest was coming to a close.

Pros: Service was given with a smile and everyone spoke English. Price was right too and even included free internet and coffee. Location is convenient, directly across from the train station and very central.

Cons: Neighborhood is central but not exactly great - multiple porn shops exist within a 100 yards. Service was nice but slow (i.e., get prepared to wait for a long time for help with bags or the concierge) and careless (i.e., my luggage was damaged). Also due to the location, 2 of the 3 main lobby doors were closed for "security" reasons which did not help making us feel any safer and was frankly a pain when it came to come in and out of the building. Rooms were old and in need of a renovation (e.g., were leopard print rugs stylish in the 1980s maybe?). Mattress was just as old and also in need of replacement.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuitNflipflops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fee Carolina W, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien Munich, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
Dear SuitNflipflops,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. It is nice to read that you appreciated not only our central location but also the personalized service of our associates.

The safety and security of our guests is very important to us. We therefore increase the security measures during the Oktoberfest period even more, including limited ways to access the hotel and regret that this did not find your approval. Regarding your bag we reviewed our logs but no damage was brought to our attention. Please do get in direct contact with us offline for further investigation in this matter.

Sincerely,
Fee Carolina Wahl
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blyth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

I left le Meridien Munich in floods of tears - not because I missed being in Munich - but because of the extortionate bill! Breakfast for three (myself and my two sons aged 17 and 13) was 84 euros per day and the uncomfortable camp bed we had ordered for my youngest was 70 euros per night; you could buy a bed for less! We calculated that for the same money we ended up paying for the holiday itself we could have gone to Tokyo or on a luxury cruise! Add to this the virtually non-existant lighting (maybe so you can't see the aforesaid bill!) the grating, ubiquitous ambient music (which they actually have the nerve to brag about in the lift) and the pretentious, faux-trendy image, and the result is the worst hotel we have ever stayed in. When I complained, the manager admitted she had overcharged me by 168 euros (this is because I was billed for two adults and two children - be careful to check your bill as it is not itemised on a per person basis). Now, thanks to a £900-odd bill for breakfast, a camp bed and a one way hotel transfer I am broke and VERY ANGRY, and it's all thanks to le Rip-off Meridien. If I can deter just one hard-working family from booking this hotel, I will consider it a job well done.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paula D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management L, Geschäftsführer at Le Meridien Munich, responded to this review, 12 October 2012
Dear Paula D,

I regret to learn from your posting that you are still very upset about the situation described - I am truly sorry to hear that despite all efforts from us in our previous direct offline communications we did not manage to clear the matters to your satisfaction.

Dear Tripadvisor Community, please be advised that our guests do have the option to choose between a room reservation including or excluding breakfast. In addition to a room-only booking we charge €28,- for our rich breakfast buffet and €16,- for continental breakfast per person and day, which apply upon consumption. For a third person in a guest room staying in an extra bed we charge €60,- per day without breakfast and €75,-per day as a special package including breakfast.

Please be informed that all these price points reflect our published rates and are communicated at check-in.

Sincerely,

Dagmar Zechmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

I stayed for three nights during Oktoberfest. Keep in mind, the location of this hotel is just outside the train station and creates a bit of chaos in and around the hotel. However, I would be interested to see what it is like during normal times and not the festival.

I had street side room and was surprised at how quiet the room was. The window does a good job of keeping out the noise. The room was clean and nice. Not spectacular but certainly well kept up. I found the service to be good and enjoyed the vibe of the hotel and lobby bar which made for a great launching and landing point each day.

Now, since you near the train station, some the of neighborhood surrounding the hotel can become quite interesting later at night. However, I found it to be a fun cultural experience.

The gym is small but I did use it and had no complaints.

Yes, the hotel is pricey. But you are paying for convenience and location. Personally, I liked the place.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are probably less noisy, however, I found my street side room to be pretty quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelscout1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management L, Leiter Front Office at Le Meridien Munich, responded to this review, 18 October 2012
Dear GoesToo,

Warmest greetings from Le Meridien Munich and thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor.
We have acknowledged your comments in regards to our guest rooms and would like to inform you that we are in the process of renovating our guest floors in order to satisfy our valued guests like yourself through service quality. Consequently we hope to be able to welcoming you back soon to demonstrate visible improvements hopefully to your liking as well.

Best regards,

Felix Schaller
Front Office Manager
Le Meridien München
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
0.0 mi away
Aloft Munich
Aloft Munich
#23 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Koenigshof
Hotel Koenigshof
#22 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#5 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Munich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Munich

Property: Le Meridien Munich
Address: Bayerstr. 41, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Munich
#44 Business Hotel in Munich
#51 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#54 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#77 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Munich 5*
Number of rooms: 381
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Le Meridien Munich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Munich Hotel Munich
Munich Le Meridien
Meridien Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing