We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for 1 night”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Meridien Munich

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Meridien Munich
Ranked #93 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good for 1 night”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

Very close to the central station (haupbahnhof), very helpful employees. Very clean public areas and room - we had 2 glass bottles of complimentary Evian water in our room including slippers and a robe. For Americans/Canadians, they are standard to our hotels in terms of size.

Pay for wireless - In German hotels you must pay for Internet usage per day. In Le Meridien they have free wireless in the centre garden restaurant and the front lobby. My advise, request a room on the 2nd floor facing the garden... There you will actually recieve the free public wireless in your room!!

Air Condition: They do advertise that they have AC on the room. Please note it's not that cold, but it is in the room. It's more of an air circulator than an AC.

Pillows: Like all hotels they just change the pillow case of the pillow...but this doesn't remove the smell of SWEAT coming through from the actual pillow
from other people. In addition, They may be too soft for those use to harder pillows as the ones in the hotel are made with down feathers.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HollyC24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management L, Front Office Manager at Le Meridien Munich, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear HollyC24,
Thank you very much for posting a review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us.
We are very pleased to read that we were able to fulffill your expectations in terms of location and cleanliness, and particular happy you enjoyed the services of our staff members.
Please note that we do provide complimentary wireless access in all our public areas as well as in our Business Center. In addition, our guests have the option to chose wired or wirless internet packages for usage in our guestrooms depending on speed and length of usage for very favorable additional charges.
We regret to read that you perceived the air-conditioning as too warm and the pillows as too soft and would have wished to turn your experience around throughout your stay as we certainly do provide several pillow options. Rest assured that we will reemphasize with our Engineering and Housekeeping teams to verify the full functioning our the in-room air-condition prior to guests' arrival.
We are looking very forward to welcoming you back soon and remain with best regards,
Felix Schaller
Front Office Manager
Le Meridien Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    947
    981
    376
    133
    77
See reviews for
446
909
157
562
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

The room was excellent, they upgraded us to a suite which had two bathroom, the bedroom and a living area. The housekeeping service is above average. My daughter left her laptop under the bed and before we knew they already send us an e-mail. They where kind enough to send it to our final stop. We had breakfast at the hotel restaurant and it was good food, good service and clean. The concierge desk was not knowledgeable nor helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management L, General Manager at Le Meridien Munich, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear S B,
Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us.
We are very happy to hear that our upgrade was such a delighter for you and your daughter and we appreciate your feedback about the restaurant and housekeeping services.
As we know that from time to time things are left behind, we are glad to see that our processes in place were followed duly.
I regret to read that you did not experience the Concierge services at a similar high level as other services, which we will certainly follow up on internally.
Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best regards,
Dagmar Zechmann
General Manager
Le Meridien Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
49 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

I wanted the full comfort of a luxury hotel without paying mega-bucks and that is exactly what Le Meridien offers. It is not as glamorous or opulent as the big hitters (Mandarin Oriental), but neither did it cost an arm and a leg - we paid about 170 euros per night on a 3 night stay. I would rate it as four and a half stars - and saving 200 euros a night or more for half a star seemed like a good bargain. We had a large room facing the court yard on the eight floor which was nice and quiet. The location is excellent if you are traveling by train - it's a level 600 meter walk from the platform (Hauptbahnhof) to the hotel lobby, but perhaps a little inconvenient for exploring central Munich sights on foot - we ended up taking the underground quite a bit (which incidentally runs straight to the airport from the central station's underground platforms, but it's not much fun negotiating all the broken escalators with suitcases).
Didn't have breakfast, which is served in a quiet courtyard.
Very new, clean and spacious.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyTraveller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
108 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Le Meridien for 4 nights. The location is very convenient - it is right across the street from the main train station in Munich and 1/2 mile walk from the Marienplatz. Many other historical sites are also within walking distance from the hotel and access to the underground is within 1 block as well. The staff was very friendly and the rooms were very clean and quite spacious. My only complaint about the room is the shower - it is quite small because the bathroom has a separate tub. I would prefer they remove the tub all together and make a bigger shower. There is a fantastic outside garden in the center of the hotel which provides a nice space to relax, read a book, etc. The gym is a nice size, especially for Europe, and they also have a swimming pool and hot tub, and a full spa. I enjoyed a 20 minutes full body scrub and 90 minute massage and it was fabulous. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor with a garden view. I would not have wanted to be in a room facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blondiemurc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

I was really impressed by this hotel. The staff was great and the rooms were clean, modern and nice size. I used Shereton's cash and points program so from a value perspective worked out really well. They must have a strong English speaking customer base as everyone we talked to was fluent in both German and English which turned out to be a big plus as we really leaned on their concierge service for things to do.

The location is directly across the street from their Central train and subway station so it was really easy to get there. We took the subway from the Munich airpot to this Central station (about 20 Euros for a family of 4) and walked to the hotel. Since our next stop was Salzburg all we had to do was cross the street again to catch a regional train there (which by the way if you are going to Salzburg, get the Bayer nticket, 24 Euro one way and only 4 Euro for each additional passenger).

That is the good part of the location, the bad part is that there isn't a whole lot to do around the hotel and you'll need to take a Taxi or subway to any of the more desirable areas. Also, somewhat seedy area around the hotel, my wife didn't feel comfortable roaming the streets at night looking for a good restaurant or night club. Since it appears many people come into the city via the train station to party we saw quite a few drunks and people hanging out in front of the station drinking beers not only at night but in the morning (7-9:00 am) after all night partying. No issues with that but not a good place to be when you are traveling with young teenagers (which we were).

So again, if you can get past the issues with the location you'll be happy with the hotel and staff!

Room Tip: Hop on Hop off bus is right across the hotel for those tourists interested in that. Food is somewha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinez, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

I usually don't post negatives but this time I must. We spent 8 days at Le Meridien, booked on Orbitz by my husband. He chose based on proximity to the train station and transit. This was a big mistake. The neighborhood is dirty and we would have rather stayed in an outlying neighborhood location. What we liked were the check-in staff and the spacious room and well-appointed bathroom (however we were allocated only one bar of soap to service sink, shower and separate tub). My husband liked the spa for swimming and exercise, but the staff weren't always around to give him access or knew where the towels were - this is supposed to be a 24-hour spa! He had to take towels and robe from the room down to the spa.
They were remodeling and the morning noise was constant. While we were there they moved the front desk and started demolition on the bar. The "business center" was a joke. Free wi-fi in the Lobby is a joke. The business center is an alcove off the lobby, mostly consisting of lounge chairs and coffee tables (which people had to hunch over to use their computer) and one two-person desk. But there is so much noise in the lobby and the constant NOISE of the wretched "lounge" "ambient" music. There is no getting away from the music! It is in the room if you turn on the TV, it is in the elevator (where it really belongs) and the lobby, very loud at breakfast, in the courtyard and the business center. Breakfast is expensive at 16 Euro for cold buffet and 26 Euro for full breakfast. The wait staff did not work as a team and had no concept of multi-tasking. I watched them wipe crumbs from the table onto the floor.
Free wi-fi extended to the courtyard where people would Skype and YELL into their computers during breakfast. We had to retreat to our room to use the internet because the Lobby/Business Center was so noisy with all the jackhammering, banging & drilling. The rate is 6 Euro per hour. It should be free if there isn't a proper business center!
Also, note to manager - Trip Advisor had reports of theft in the hotel. We didn't have this experience however, I would question the posting of the remodel architectural rendering in full view of everyone - with a clear indication of the hotel safe and the safe which contains guest valuables. This is crazy!
This was NOT a relaxing vacation. We were 10 days in Berlin at the Hotel Concorde which really delivered on luxury rooms, club level, friendly & efficient staff and ambiance.

Room Tip: Facing the courtyard for fresh air and no street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Operagal94553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management L, General Manager at Le Meridien Munich, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear Operagal94553,
I sincerely regret to read the chain of unfortunate events throughout your stay leading to an unpleasant experience with us.
Please note that we refurbished our entire public areas during the period of your stay to implement a completely redesigned look and hence to create a more warm and friendly environment for our guests. Please allow me to express my sincere apologies should you have felt disturbed by the work conducted during your stay.
I am pleased to read that we were able to fulfill your expectations with the space of your guestroom as well as the services provided by our Front Office team.
Your comments about the lack of bathroom amenities in your room and service shortfalls of our restaurant staff have certainly been acknowledged and shared with the respective department heads, which will lead to further internal training measures with their respective teams to avoid such situations from happening in the future.
Rest assured that your feedback about our Spa has also been shared with our Spa partner to sensibilize the Spa associates to ensure necessary equipment is provided at all times.
I would like to reitirate that guest satisfaction is of utmost importance to me and hope to be able to welcoming you back soon as I can guarantee that the experienced was an exception and certainly does not reflect our usual high customer service standards.
Best regards,
Dagmar Zechmann
General Manager
Le Meridien Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germantown, Tennessee
Level Contributor
467 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Stayed in this hotel two seperate nights coming into and out of Germany for a business trip, based on the recommendation of a friend who stays here often for business travel. The location was extremely conveneient to the train station, right across the street. Rooms were spacious by european standards and did include air conditioning which can be hard to find in Germany. Bathrooms were spacious with a tub and a shower. Beds were comfortable. Entire room and bathroom was well kept and clean.

We did eat dinner in the hotel restaurant one night. The meal itself was excellent. The green gazpacho was amazing. Unfortunately, the service was abrupt and not very attentative and it was extremely hot in the restaurant.

Room Tip: Garden view is supposed to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwillstp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
0.0 mi away
Aloft Munich
Aloft Munich
#23 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Koenigshof
Hotel Koenigshof
#20 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,418 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#5 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Munich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Munich

Property: Le Meridien Munich
Address: Bayerstr. 41, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Munich
#44 Business Hotel in Munich
#51 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#54 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#77 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Munich 5*
Number of rooms: 381
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Munich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Munich Hotel Munich
Munich Le Meridien
Meridien Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing