We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great buffet breakfast.”
Review of Le Meridien Munich

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le Meridien Munich
Ranked #94 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location, great buffet breakfast.”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Perfect location for exploring Munich. The good: breakfast in the courtyard, good sized clean room, Eric behind the bar, comp bottled water each day in the room; the bad (but understandable): free wifi in public area only, no tea/coffee facilities in room; the ugly(ish): the bathroom is tired esp the shower, took 3 attempts for our emailed accomm voucher to be received and processed which was a bit painful.
Overall a good stay and above average accommodation, I'd stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    964
    991
    383
    137
    79
See reviews for
453
924
157
575
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Le Meridien twice on our vacation to Germany. The rooms were clean and the ac worked great. The only thing that I would have to say is a a negative is the wifi is not free in the rooms. If you want to access the internet you must go to the lobby to do so or you can a fee to have service in your room. I tried to use the business center computer but it didn't work. I would return to the hotel if ever I was in the area again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ltprgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

No free WiFi in room. No tea/coffee facilities in room. At reception I was told to access the internet in the lobby. I, along with dozens of other's trying to conduct business in the lobby was constantly annoyed by staff asking if we wanted tea or coffee or see the menu. This was a set up by the hotel to get patrons out of their rooms and squeeze that little extra out of them.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1311Pete0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix S, Front Office Manager at Le Meridien Munich, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear 1311Pete0007,
I regret to hear that you perceived your stay so negatively and can assure you that we are currently looking for a suitable solution to stock our rooms with coffee/tea making facilities.
Please note that we do provide internet access not only in the lobby but also in our business center and all public areas complimentary and do offer chargable access in our guestrooms with several packages to chose from.
We most certainly do not intend to disturb our guests whilst being seated in the lobby, but offer bar services as part of our lively lobby / bar concetp and am sorry if this created a different impression for you.
We hope that you still had a most enjoyable stay with us despite the described experience and look forward to welcoming you back.
Best regards,
Felix Schaller
Front Office Manager
Le Meridien Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
330 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed two nights at Le Meridien. We arrived by train so it was very convenient since it is literally across the street. Also great if you will be renting a car from the train station. It is safe to walk in this train station area. It's less than 20 minutes to Marienplatz in the city center of Munich and the subway is right there too. 10-20 minutes walking distance to many restaurants. Our room was a decent size. We were comfortable with 3 people which included a cot. The pool is beautiful, chilly though. Nice Jacuzzi and spa. The breakfast buffet is extensive, many choices to accommodate patrons from Europe, Middle East, Asia and US. Very multi-cultural experience to stay at Le Meridien with patrons from around the world. Free wifi only in the lobby area so many people hang out in the lobby with their devices. Nice courtyard area too. Our room was very clean and a nice bathroom.

Room Tip: We had a room high up facing the courtyard so it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindervermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I would not stay at this hotel again. When we first checked in we were surprised by the amount of people waiting in the lobby to be checked in or checked out. At first, we thought it was a fluke but we stayed there for a week and each day the lobby was crowed with people. Its loud and unwelcoming.

We walked to the onsite restaurant Le Portager to place a reservation and we were told by the hostess that there were no available tables for the night. They were serving a 20(?) course dinner and we were told that it is very popular so that is why it was booked solid that night. No big deal we thought. We decided to try the bar food. We told the bartender what the hostess said and he laughed! He said no way were they full. Sure enough, he checked and they had several openings! He asked if we would like to reserve a table but we said no. Why did the hostess tell us they were booked? We were dressed in our travel clothes and we looked tired. I guess our appearance didn't qualify us for a table? We told the onsite Manager and he offered to book us a table for that night. No thanks, not after that treatment.

We ended up ordering room service because the bar was full and they do not offer great dining tables to eat on. Plus, as I mentioned earlier, the lobby was full and noisy. The bar food is not cheap and we were not going to pay to sit in that atmosphere to eat. Our bill was approximately $65.

The next day we learned that the hotel had book a "hold" on our credit card because we ordered room service. The hold was for over $400! We asked them to explain why they would hold our money for the room service AND for booking. They had over $900 of our money on hold. It was ridiculous and they refused to release the room service hold. What a mess! I have traveled extensively and this was a first.

The room was nice and comfy. The bed was great. We were on an upper floor away from the construction and noise. Unfortunately every time we took a shower the bathroom flooded! The door to the shower did not have a good seal on it so it was impossible to shower without soaking the floor.

If you wanted coffee in the lobby in the morning be prepared to wait 20 minutes to get it. They only had one person on staff during our week stay. She was frazzled and couldn't keep up. We felt bad for her.

The location was good but not worth having the poor service.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Indy4181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix S, General Manager at Le Meridien Munich, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Indy4181,
I regret to read the unfortunate chain of events you encountered during your stay with us and would have wished to turn your experience around throughout your stay.
Rest assured that the described does not reflect our usual high service standards and that we will use your comments to apply improvements where necessary. We will most certainly speak to the involved staff members to ensure through internal trainign measures that such occurences do not repeat themselves in the future.
Please be informed that our lobby concept, the Le Meridien HUB, is a lively get together place, which is mostly appreciated by many of our guests and I am sorry to hear that it created different impressions for you.
Despite your disappointing stay I sincerely hope you grant us another opportunity to demonstrate that the experienced was an exception and am looking forward to welcoming you back.
Best regards,
Dagmar Zechmann
General Manager
Le Meridien Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
459 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I didn't choose this hotel prior to traveling because it was part of a Globus tour. We stayed in two different rooms and both were good, but the first room was so far from the elevator that we really hiked to get downstairs to go out or to eat. The second room was closer to the elevator and was quite convenient for in/out of hotel and a little better appointed. We had to have a rollaway and the rooms weren't huge, but large enough that we were not tripping over each other or our luggage. The hotel is across from the train station, which was great because after our tour we traveled in Germany by train. Staff was super friendly and helpful. Also very honest, because we accidentally left a camera behind after the first stay, and it was there for us when we returned at the end of the tour (we were fortunate that the tour began and ended in the same city!). The food was very good, and the breakfast buffet was probably the best we had in all the cities we stayed in. Concierge was also very helpful in arranging some side trips for us. From the hotel to the city center, it is perhaps a 10-minute walk, longer if you stop to look at things and take pictures. Even longer if you stop in any of the many shops. Even though the hotel is on a busy street, the outside noise did not bother us, but both times our rooms faced the side streets. Price and not providing free wifi in the rooms is what keeps this at a 4.

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to the elevators (but not right by them).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pitufo00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
94 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We couldn't have been happier with our choice of hotel in Munich. It is literally right across from the train station, so no taxi fees and no long walks with our luggage. We checked in the hotel and there was some sort of meeting going on so the front desk person made sure that we were in a quiet area at the end of a hallway. The hotel was BEAUTIFUL! The bar was fantastic, both drinks and food, great courtyard area and walking distance to the Hofbrauhaus and to Mike's Bike Tours (where you can catch a great trip to Neuschwanstein castle in Bavaria).

Room Tip: If you can splurge on a suite - do it! They are amazing and well worth what you pay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheGlobetrotter77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
0.0 mi away
Aloft Munich
Aloft Munich
#23 of 383 in Munich
604 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Koenigshof
Hotel Koenigshof
#16 of 383 in Munich
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#7 of 383 in Munich
1,528 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 383 in Munich
1,497 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#5 of 383 in Munich
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Munich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Munich

Property: Le Meridien Munich
Address: Bayerstr. 41, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Munich
#44 Business Hotel in Munich
#51 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#54 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#77 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Munich 5*
Number of rooms: 381
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Le Meridien Munich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Munich Hotel Munich
Munich Le Meridien
Meridien Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing