We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and hotel; Great service”
Review of Le Meridien Munich

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Meridien Munich
Ranked #99 of 388 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed 24 August 2014

The Meridian Munich is well situated across from the train station and a short 10 minute walk to the centre of Munich. From check in to check out two nights later our stay was a positive one. While not large or luxurious, we had a very quiet and comfortable room. Best part was the service - concierge was knowledgable and responsive, and he and his colleagues at the front desk were superb in helping us locate a bag we had left downstairs upon check in. Went out of their way to help us locate it. Much appreciated.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdellacava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix S, Front Office Manager at Le Meridien Munich, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear cdellacava,
Thank you for sharing your impressions with the online readership following your recent stay with us.
We are very pleased to read that you had a most enjoyable stay with us and particularly that our Concierge and Front Desk staff members were able to contribute positively to a memorable experience.
Your comments are much appreciated as we always strive to provide service excellence to all our guests and make the feel special each and every time.
We are looking very forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best regards,
Felix Schaller
Front Office Manager
Le Meridien Munich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,660)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

739 - 745 of 2,660 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014

The Meridian Munich is well situated across from the train station and a short 10 minute walk to the centre of Munich. From check in to check out my stay was a positive one. Friendly staff, good wi-fi and a comfortable room looking out over the courtyard were the highlights. Would recommend this hotel without hesitation for those visiting Munich.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Stirling B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix S, Front Office Manager at Le Meridien Munich, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Stirling B.,
Thank you for sharing your impressions with the online community following your recent stay with us.
We are very pleased to read that you had a most enjoyable stay with us and thank you for the lovely comments.
Your recommendations are much appreciated, as particularly our inner courtyard is a highlight worth mentioning in the city.
We are looking very forward welcoming you back to Munich soon.
Best regards,
Felix Schaller
Front Office Manager
Le Meridien Munich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We booked this hotel for 2 nights b/c of the proximity to the train station vs the Westin Grand, despite paying more. The room we got on the 6th floor facing the courtyard was nice, but the wifi signal was almost non-existent. We're spoken to front desk about this more than once but it wasn't addressed. The shower door had a gap at the bottom and the rubber seal had hardened so after you take a shower the water leaked out to the bathroom floor with a flood! We asked front desk to address it and after 2nd time they replaced the bottom seal but still the water leaked out. Moreover, we expected a 5-star hotel to have hot water in the morning for shower. No hot water in the AM for shower and had to wait 'til afternoon to get hot water. Water in AM was only lukewarm at best. Their explanation was one of the water boilers wasn't working well and too many people taking showers in AM so hard to get hot water. This can hardly be the explanation for a 5-star hotel. Overall we found the front desk service to be fairly mediocre in addressing serious concerns such as ours. We didn't want to switch rooms since we were there for 2 nights.

On the other hand, the buffet breakfast was excellent and service was attentive there, and the gym, pool and hot tub were good albeit the towels provided were on the smaller side.

Overall I'd likely stay at the Westin Grand even though it's further away. It's a nicer hotel with better service and room amenities, and cheaper. If we stay at Le Meridien again we'll likely request a lower floor room to get better wifi signal and a hot shower in the morning!

Room Tip: Make sure you get one with good wifi signal and have a hot shower available in AM!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeeTee54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix S, Front Office Manager at Le Meridien Munich, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear GeeTee54321,
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us through the Tripadvisor portal following your recent stay.
I am glad to hear that you did enjoy the room and its view as our inner courtyard is spectacular especially in the summer. The restaurant, kitchen and spa teams respectively appreciate your comments, which will go a long way in ensuring to continuously provide service excellence.
I apologize should you have been inconvenienced by the malfunctioning shower door as well as the hot water issue, which will most certainly be adressed with our Engineering department to ensure that such incidents do not occur in the future again.
Rest assured that our associates will receive once again appropriate training to handle such comments more effectively in the future.
I still hope that we will be granted another opportunity to demonstrate visible improvements upon next visit and look forward welcoming you again.
Best regards,
Felix Schaller
Front Office Manager
Le Meridien Munich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel at the beginning of our trip and planned on using this stop to get over our jet lag. We upgraded with a suites promotion that included breakfast, free WiFi (extremely spotty and slow) and 3,000 Sherwood points. Our room.on the 7th floor was spacious and quiet. Loved that we were able to open the windows. The location next to the main train station was perfect for arriving into from the airport and leaving for Prague via train. It is also near the tram and subway. The pool area is way too dark and the pool is very cold. Breakfast is ok if it's free - much cheaper to get food at the train station if it's not. Richarts has tasty pastries.The concierge was very helpful. You can purchase metro tickets from him for the same price as at the train station. He had good tips for food and activities with our daughter.

Room Tip: Higher floor not facing the street across from the train station
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank portlandmom12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix S, Front Office Manager at Le Meridien Munich, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear portlandmom12,
Thank you for sharing your impressions of your last visit with the online community.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to relax after a long travel.
Our rooms are indeed very spacious and our Suites equipped with anything a traveller may need.
Our Concierge team appreciates your comments, as it is always rewarding to hear that our associates were able to contribute to our guest's stay for a memorable experience.
We are looking very forward welcoming you back with us soon and remain with best regards,
Felix Schaller
Front Office Manager
Le Meridien Munich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

After staying at le meridien Budapest, checking into this hotel was a great disappointment from the start. Outside of hotel is very shanty. A/C was shut off in the middle of the night which they denied controlling. Martin Wright, concierge, was extremely rude when trying to book tours. On a positive note, Herve Grimal, chief concierge, was helpful throughout our stay helping with any bookings or questions. Overall experience-hotel needs a makeover.

Room Tip: Read tripadvisor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix S, Front Office Manager at Le Meridien Munich, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Gary G.,
I sincerely regret to hear that you were disappointed with your overall stay following you recent time with us and would have wished to turn your experience around.
Rest assured that the described does certainly not the kind of customer service we strive to display and that your feedback will have internal consequences with the associates involved.
I apologize should you have been inconvenienced by the functionality of the in-room equipment, but am likewise glad to read that our Chief Concierge was able to contribute positively to your overall experience.
I hope you will grant us another opportunity to demonstrate visible improvements upon next visit and am looking forward to welcoming you back.
Best regards,
Felix Schaller
Front Office Manager
Le Meridien Munich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

The Le Meridien Munich sits in a great location, right next to one of the area's main train stations. It is very easy to get to all of the attractions, as everything is tram-accessible, and there is a station right next to the hotel.

The rooms at Le Meridien feature generous amenities, and are relatively spacious. The bathroom I had had a shower that was separate from the bath, which was very nice. There was however, an issue with the WiFi access, which gave me almost no signal and terrible speeds even after paying 19.95 € for it. Also, there isn't a clear way to contact the front desk from the phone, as there is no button for it or a number to dial.

Also, the service at the front desk and everywhere else is astonishingly slow, and not as efficient as I would have hoped. I had to stand in line for 10 minutes to check out despite being a Starwood Platinum member. The concierge desk was empty and the person in charge of it was also in charge of carrying people's suitcases. Absolutely outrageous. I've been to two star hotels that had better service.

The breakfast at the hotel was a bit disappointing. While it featured all of the basic food items I expected, the food did not seem very fresh. I would expect more for a hotel in this category.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel to a friend. It is in a much higher Starwood category than it needs to be, and therefore pricing is too steep. Find something else.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
Thank Nitzanm4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Overall I wouldn't recommend this hotel, with several reasons. We originally booked a pair of connected rooms and received the confirmation message, but when we got there we were told it wasn't ready and also had to wait an hour just to get 2 regular rooms. We were told to come back the day after. When we did, we were told to come back the day after as it was still unavailable. On the third day, the connected rooms were still unavailable and I asked the receptionist to hand over some form of written confirmation to ensure we would eventually get these rooms. She wrote us a paper to visit the day after at 3pm and check with her. When we did, unsurprisingly the rooms were still unavailable for some reason. The staff kept lying and leading me on and I was really disappointed. I insisted to speak with the manager and he simply said that it isn't his problem and that he couldn't help me. I told him that it's fine and that I will send a complaint to Starwood Hotels (Le Meridien is an SW hotel). After this whole issue, the only thing that we got from it was an apology letter, some macaroons, and having our laundry costs refunded. This happened only after I complained to SW Hotels, which really shows how much the staff here really care about their guests.

There are no tea kettles in the rooms and we had to request them, which was a surprise. The TV barely has any channels (only about 20). It's frequently noisy outside the rooms, especially during evenings when kids would be running around and parents would be shouting at them. Even the free lobby wifi doesn't connect all the time.

Would never recommend this hotel, and I jus hope no one has the same experience me and my family has.

Stayed: August 2014
4  Thank Abdulla A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix S, General Manager at Le Meridien Munich, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Abdulla A.,
I sincerely regret to hear about the experience you encountered during your stay with us and apologize for the inconvenience caused.
Please note that we do not guarantee room requests as connecting rooms, but most certainly always try our utmost to accommodate our guests' wishes.
As already discussed offline, it was surely not our staff member's intention to upset you, but simply an unfortunate chain of events, which will have internal consequences with the associates involved by providing further training measures to ensure such circumstance will not repeat itself in the future.
Please note that we are working on a suitable solution to equip our rooms with coffee / tea making facilties and are in the process of changing our internal TV system to provide our guests with an improved in-room entertainment offer.
I sincerely hope for you to grant us another opportunity to demonstrate visible improvements upon next visit and am looking very forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best regards,
Dagmar Zechmann
General Manager
Le Meridien Munich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
2.1 mi away
Hilton Munich Park
Hilton Munich Park
#58 of 388 in Munich
2,048 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Westin Grand Munchen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Koenigshof
Hotel Koenigshof
#19 of 388 in Munich
608 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aloft Munich
Aloft Munich
#20 of 388 in Munich
706 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#3 of 388 in Munich
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Munich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Munich

Address: Bayerstr. 41, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Munich
#44 Business Hotel in Munich
#54 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#64 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#77 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £122 - £323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Munich 5*
Number of rooms: 381
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Le Meridien Munich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Munich Hotel Munich
Munich Le Meridien
Meridien Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing