We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Meridien Munich

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Meridien Munich
Ranked #91 of 381 Hotels in Munich
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fabulous Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2010

I stayed at Le Meridien in Munich a few weeks ago with my daughter, age 13. We arrived from New York exhausted and the front desk went above and beyond our expectations by offering us a room at 11:30 am even though check in time wasn't for a few hours. The only room avaiable at that moment was a bigger, more expensive room (on the penthouse floor) than the one we had booked and paid for in advance. The front desk was so accomodating and kind and seemed interested in getting us to bed as soon as possible (no pun intended!).
The room was stunning. Gorgeous, modern decor - wonderful bed with sparkling white duvet, quiet and filled with amenities which we have only seen at 5 star hotels such as the four seasons. Everything about the room was comfortable and thoughtfully planned. Bathroom was specataular. Flat screen TV. Climate control. Everything was perfect. We slept extraordinarily well here. Also: hotel is in fabulous location close to everything. Can't say enough about this hotel. If you are young and single it is quite hip. We don't fit that demographic (a mom and a teenager) but we loved it as well. Prices were way below the value offered by this hotel. Can't wait to go back. Next time we'll stay longer and spend time at the beautiful pool. Thank you Le Meridien!

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank actressmom99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    942
    972
    372
    130
    75
See reviews for
438
902
155
556
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2010

This hotel is very conveniently located near the main train station. The rooms are nice and clean and comfortable. The concierge does not know where anything is located and gives horrible directions. The breakfast is a total scam. It is set up as a buffet and there are 3 choices you can have, the 27 euro one, the 16 euro one or the 9.90. There is nothing posted though and everyone tells you something different. when I found out I requested the 9.90 continental breakfast and the lady even wrote it on the card. Then when I checked out they tried to charge me 27 euro a day and I had to argue with them. As far as the hidden phone fees - they charged 2.40 euros each time I used a calling card with a German 800 toll free number. I assume they hope business travelers do not check their bills but I do. I am going to complain to starwood as well.

Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank sbb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2010

its so easy to find, just opposite the right hand exit from the main train station in Munich. The rooms were large by European standards, nicely furnished, and fitted out with everything you expect from a 4 star hotel. The staff were also very professional but nice.
Some reviews of hotels in this are complain about the XXX shops in the surrounding streets. However Le Meridien is on the main street, and even when I walked with my family to and from the the fairground through some quieter streets late at night at no time did I feel worried about my safety or about my kids seeing something that they shouldnt.
The only complaint I have is that the room was too hot, and we could not work out how to turn down the central heating despite turning the thermostat down to its lowest setting. I admit I didnt call reception when I woke at 3am, instead I just opened the window which quickly solved the problem.
Also note that all rooms are double rooms (two king sized singles joined together) however you can add a roll-away bed if necessary.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank young_dazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2010

I went to Munich over a bridge weekend while working in Frankfurt. I was very happy with the Meridien. It's right next to the Munich Hauptbahnhof (main train station), which is convenient (especially if you're traveling by train, like I was) but the neighborhood is kinda down-market. Once you walk through the doors of the Meridien, though, the gritty urban scene vanishes (filtered glass on the lobby doors helps).

The staff were excellent, although I wasn't too demanding of them. I was in a Jr. Suite, and the room was beautiful, very well-maintained and perfectly clean. It's easy walking distance to the historic center -- the Merienplatz. I was only in Munich for a day and a half, and I didn't eat in the hotel restaurant, so my experience was limited to the hotel's public spaces (elegant, beautiful) and my room. I had breakfast in my room Sunday morning, and the room service was prompt, and the food was perfectly prepared.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SF_EXEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2010

I last stayed here almost three years ago. At that time, the hotel was pleasant but nothing spectacular. Clearly, there has been some touching up since then. This is evident from when you walk into the lobby - where the lighting has been lowered to give a calmer, more boutique hotel style experience – and when you get into the lifts – which now have sea sounds playing in the background. It might not be to everyone’s taste, but I preferred it to what existed before.

I got upgraded to a deluxe room which looked out over a small side street. My room was very large, very nicely decorated and had no noise, despite the central Munich location. The bathroom was also pretty large and featured both a walk in shower and full size bath. My only complaint was that the air conditioning did not seem to work particularly well, but given that it was 2 degrees outside, this was not a major issue.

A buffet breakfast was included in my rate and was excellent. However, at € 26 full price, you would expect it to be good. One tip – the breakfast room must be 50 metres long and the buffet is at the end of it. If you like to pay multiple visits to the buffet, don’t be tempted to take the first seats that you see when you enter the breakfast room – unless of course, you want to burn off the calories as you walk back and forth to the buffet.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seat28B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2010

We had anticipated a relaxing stay at Le Meridien in Munich, however, as expected, I was disappointed at another one of Le Meridiens, this time in Munich...
We checked in after a four hour drive from Frankfurt and upon checking in, we were shown to our room... as I started unpacking, we heard a horrible sound of drilling. It was as if the drilling was taking place in our very own room... At first, we thought it might be a minor construction on the same floor and will not last long, however, it lasted for thirty minutes, non-stop... I phoned the reception and they said that "to be honest, there are some constructions taking place on the floor right above us" and that was it... Unfortunately, the hotel staff failed to inform us upon check-in that there has been a construction going on as they are remodelling their rooms... why the hotel decided to be open during that period and "forgot" to tell us upon check-in, I don't know... their solution was to relocate us to another room on a different floor... we were moved to a different room, hoping that the construction sound would not be heard as much... nope... it was exactly the same... it was then that I became furious and actually went downstairs to speak with the manager... their attitude conveyed the message that well, if you're not satisfied, you can leave... this time, they decided to again move us to one of their remodelled rooms on the 7th floor and deduct 30 euros from the first night's fee... still hearing the construction but being tired from moving up and down and already losing half of our planned day (on a two day trip), we decided not to argue anymore and just take it... we tried calling two other hotels to book rooms, however to our surprise, they were sold out... I will never ever return to this hotel.... terrible experience... I've stayed at another Le Meridien before and they've managed to disappoint me in another way...

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anahita-r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2010

Located directly across from the Main Train Station and within a short 5-8 minute walk to the city center, great shopping and famous sights like Marienplatz. The rooms are large, inner rooms looking onto lovely courtyard. Outer rooms have minimal to no traffic noise. Good bar, good restaurant. The staff is incredible and will go well overboard to make your stay up to and beyond your standards. As a frequent traveler abroad, this is a top hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shouldawoulda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
0.0 mi away
Aloft Munich
Aloft Munich
#23 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Koenigshof
Hotel Koenigshof
#22 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#7 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,381 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#6 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Munich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Munich

Property: Le Meridien Munich
Address: Bayerstr. 41, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Munich
#44 Business Hotel in Munich
#51 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#54 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#77 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Munich 5*
Number of rooms: 381
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Le Meridien Munich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Munich Hotel Munich
Munich Le Meridien
Meridien Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing