We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxurious Hotel in a Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
Ranked #3 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Luxurious Hotel in a Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

Standard room was adequate size. Very comfortable bed with fine linens. Housekeeping was discreet and thorough. Minibar contents are included in the room rate and is refilled regularly. Location is superb and close to all the main sites. Staff is superb and just what you would expect at a MO.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelxpert007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    681
    89
    38
    10
    7
See reviews for
151
343
54
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver B.C.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

We sprent 3 nights at the Mandarin Oriental in Munich in September, our room was simply lovely, the bathroom large and well appointed. Although we never saw our maid, there were always treats left for us on a daily basis. I would go out of my way to stay there again. The hotels location was great, the p[laza one way and the street of designers the other way.

Room Tip: We had a corner room, it was very large
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kareninsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

We stayed earlier this year at MO Tokyo and we chose this hotel without hesitation expecting the same level of experience. Overall it’s a very good hotel, but here are our observations during our four night stay:

As part of the business package we were supposed to have been offered an upgrade to a better room, but this was not even mentioned. Regardless if the room is not available, we should have been informed.

The heater in the room turned on and off literally every 2-3 minutes, while making a loud noise. We ended up turning off the heater as it was disturbing out sleep for the duration of the stay. The air in the room was also extremely dry, there needs to be a portable humidifier if a central one is unavailable. We informed the front desk about the heater issue, but we did not get any resolution or even feedback - keeping in mind we stayed here for 4 nights. The first time we turned on the bath, BROWN murkish water came out for the first 3-4 minutes until it turned clear. I understand the building may have old plumbing, but the housekeeping should clear this before the guests arrive. There were water spots underneath the bidet which was unsightly when we checked in.

There were not coffee or tea making facilities available - we had to ask room service. Once again comparing to hotels, all this should be made available for convenience of the guests. The closet space was extremely small for a double room.

Even though the concierge did a great job overall, we asked for a restaurant reservation at Pfistermuhle at 5 pm for an 8 pm reservation. The Concierge said if we did not hear anything, we will be fine. At 7:30 pm, we received a call that they were not able to reserve a table for us but booked a table at another restaurant (Spatenhouse). The Concierge should have informed us earlier if they were not able to reserve a table for us in our preferred restaurant. Compared to other hotels, they offered to make dinner reservations for our stay upon check-in - especially if we were staying over Saturday night.

Overall, the staff was great and professional especially those in the bar lounge and the restaurant. We had dinner at The Mark’s; the service and the quality of the food were excellent. Maybe our expectations were too high as we were comparing this with other MO properties in which we have stayed.

Room Tip: If you have trouble climbing stairs, don't choose rooms at the seventh floor. In order to get to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DruryS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

We were fortunate to visit the Mandarin Oriental for two nights in September, 2011 after winning a gift certificate for our stay. The staff was exceptional. The location perfect. Everything "Top Notch"!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann Marie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London W1
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

We were fortunate enough to be treated to a 3 night stay by friends celebrating a big birthday, and had a lovely corner junior suite on the 5th floor (509). The room and bathroom were excellent and we cannot fault the quality at all. What i still find hard to believe when staying in a room that costs ( our friends) €900 per night, is the pettiness of charging for internet access. To me this sets a "cheap" tone to the hotel.

The bar is a bit dowdy, and to me a wasted opportunity, as the hotel is a lovely building centrally located. They need to liven it up and dispense with the pianist, or get one that can hit the right notes! We arrived at lunchtime and ate in the bar/restaurant area, and while the food was good, it was expensive and the service was very poor. We waited a long time for service and our food, and on more than one occasion we had to go looking for staff to get served. Management were conspicuous by their absence, not a good sign fo a well run hotel.

However, the concierge and front of house staff are superb, Dario (concierge) excelled in making arrangements for us, both restaurants, private tour and general knowledge of Munich, and when our organised taxi try to charge over the agreed price, he resolved this without question. Very knowledgeble and helpful.

Housekeeping, excellent and overall while the hotel is a bit stuffy we enjoyed our stay and would go back

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fairreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOMUCMunich, Geschäftsführer at Mandarin Oriental, Munich, responded to this review, 17 October 2011
Dear "Fairreviews",

Thank you very much for your review following your recent stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to share your observations with the travel community. We do value your feedback!
I am delighted to read you had a pleasant overall experience and that you would come back to Mandarin Oriental, Munich.

For your return visit, kindly allow me inform that we offer our "Business Plus Package", which includes complimentary breakfast, free local phone calls as well as internet. Alternatively, our business center with free internet access is available 24 hours a day. Furthermore, by mid November we will have installed throughout the hotel new fibre-lines with high-speed internet with 100MBits, allowing the best possible connection for our hotel guests.

I am sorry to read about our service quality shortcomings in the bistro and bar area. You may rest assured that we will address these issues with the respective colleagues, who will receive additional training to avoid the reoccurence of incidents of such nature.

Thank you so much for your positive observations in regards to our room product and the front of house staff. Concerning your trip to Dachau, we further investigated and found that the half-day trip lasted approximately 2 hours longer than expected and originally planned. It is my understanding that the taxi driver agreed to not charge any extra costs due to Dario's negotiation skills.

Dear "Fairreviews", once again, thank you for having stayed with us; we look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Lars Wagner
General Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

I stayed here many years ago whenit was still called RAFAEL Hotel. Now we've been back and I have to say that it has still managed to amaze me.The service, the room, cleanliness, the bar everything wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CErwinD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

Well just wish we had this in Berlin – you know you are good and you are the best

Great hotel great staff fabulous pool on the roof right in the centre of town ask nicely with a smile and they may upgrade you

Room Tip: Great pool on the roof top with outstanding views higher up the room the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankBBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.9 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
0.1 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#16 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,876 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen
0.2 mi away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#15 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#12 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Munich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Munich

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Munich
Address: Neuturmstr. 1, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Munich
#2 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#10 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#10 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Munich 5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quietly tucked away in a side street, yet centrally located near the famed Maximilianstrasse, Mandarin Oriental, Munich is an elegant gem of Neo-Renaissance charm, providing the highest levels of personalised service in the city and award-winning restaurant and bars. The newly refurbished 48 spacious rooms and 25 suites offer the finest in contemporary luxury and, along with the stunning roof-top pool, feature views that stretch across the picturesque surroundings of the old town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Prestigia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Mandarin Oriental, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Munich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental Munich Hotel Munich
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Munich
Mandarin Munich
Munich Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing