We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
Ranked #5 of 389 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We recently stayed for 2 nights in a superior room. We arrived at about midday. We expected we may have to wait a couple of hours to check so asked them to look after our bags whilst we go for a walk. The receptionist confirmed our room would be ready in 15 minutes. She invited us to have a complimentary drink at the bar whilst we waited.

Our room was the entry level room. It was very nicely furnished and had a huge bathroom. Overall it was very good size which suited us perfectly as we were not going to spend too much time in it.

The room was on third floor with not much of a view (a multi storey car park on other side of the street). It seems to me that none of the views would be great as it is surrounded by buildings on all sides. Even the tower suites look out onto an intersection which is fine but not particularly attractive. This is a low rise city hotel so if a view is important, try to stay on 6th or 7th floors.

The room had all the amenities I would expect from Mandarin Oriental and more. The free mini-bar was a very nice touch as were the wonderful/plentiful toiletries. At night, they left sample size aromatherapy oils on the pillow – perfect for a late night bath in the marble bathroom which came equipped with a flat screen TV.

Bang & Olufson TV and stereo and Bose iPod docking station - a definite nod to the 5* experience.

The staff were fantastic, getting to know our names very quickly. They know the city well, recommended excellent restaurants and bars.

The hotel also have bicycles which are complimentary to guests. We had a wonderful time cycling around the city which is mostly flat and very cyclist friendly. I am not a confident cyclist and had no trouble at all. They even supplied a cycle map with 3 different suggested routes.

The bar service was exceptional. The staff very attentive and the drinks superb.

Breakfast was a mix of continental buffet and hot items to order from the menu. Again, 5* service and food.

The pool area is very limited but the views are spectacular. For a city hotel, they have made the best of the limited space they have. The China Moon bar on the roof is wonderful and the food is very good too.

The new fitness centre is on ground floor and was only built a few months ago. It is incredibly stylish and well fitted out. However, this gives rise to the only negative I can think of about this hotel. The sauna/steam room and fitness centre are just off the lobby. There are no changing facilities which means you have to go down to it and walk though the lobby in a bath robe which seems a little odd but when you see how restricted the hotel in terms of space, it is understandable. It did not stop me using it but I did feel a bit odd walking past the bell boys and several other guest who were checking in/out in a bathrobe and pair of slippers.

Overall, this is a beautiful hotel and if visiting Munich again, I would not hesitate to stay there again. It is super luxurious and most of all, they have the got the service so right, I really did not want to leave.

Room Tip: High floor if a view is important.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brum74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (911)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

422 - 428 of 911 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2012

Well I had an enjoyable time in Munich I was with my husband who was on business and I had the most enjoyable stay loved the cit and in truth stayed at the hotel most of the time because it was so lovely and I was so well cared for

Top marks for Mandarin Oriental – you know how to do it

Room Tip: think they are all good room pool great the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eatshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

My wife and I travel a great deal and try to stay in the best hotels available in cities visited. We enjoy the Mandarin chain so it was obvious to book our three night stay in Munich at their hotel in this most elegant city. We arrived before normal check in time and were told that our room would be ready in a few minutes and were offered complimentary champagne in their most comfortable lounge. All their staff could not have been more helpful and our room left nothing to be desired. We dined in their Michelin starred restaurant, Mark's and were not disappointed. The hotel's position was in the middle of all the shopping and sightseeing areas, the famous Hofbrauhaus was virtually next door and was a not to be missed attraction. The bed linen was perhaps the finest I have ever slept between. I look forward to my return visit.
John Pond, Sydney, Australia.

Room Tip: I am sure all the rooms are great. Views are unimportant as the room decor is so good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnpond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012 via mobile

Intimate hotel with only 72 rooms in the middle of everything with incredible service and deluxe, world-class accommodations,

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wsdoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

The Mandarin Oriental in Munich is one of those very rare places, where I can truly say that I feel home the minute I arrive. I spend 200 nights a year in hotels and live in Asia, where hotel and service standards are hard to match in the West.

The location is unbeatable, the hardware is great (having been a former boutique hotel called Rafael, created by Hotel Veteran Georg Rafael (Regent, Amanda Resorts)), but what makes this place special is its people. True professionals, some of the best in the business, who make you feel welcome the moment you arrive. Attention to detail and personal needs is unrivaled, all handled with this rare gift of always being there when needed, yet discreet in the background at the same time. And many of those people have been there for years!

Possibly the best Mandarin Oriental in the world that manages to retain its Bavarian Roots with the great values and attributes of Mandarin
Oriental on top! The best hotel in Munich, in Germany and amongst the best in the world!

Can't wait to stay there again in the summer!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HappyinKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Stayed for four nights with my husband , and loved everything about it .
We were upgraded to a sweet and was wonderful.

Stayed: May 2011
Thank Nadola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

And I love it. This is the third time I stay. All the rooms are extremely comfortable. They never miss a detail. The new gym is fantastic. Several great cardio machines with Ipod docking and tv options. The staff is fantastisc. They all use your name, and they are so friendly. Often in these super luxury hotels the service can be a bit stuffy, but not in MO Munich. This is simply a bloody good hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oceans14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.9 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#3 of 389 in Munich
1,606 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bayerischer Hof Hotel
Bayerischer Hof Hotel
#48 of 389 in Munich
1,286 reviews
0.1 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#14 of 389 in Munich
2,061 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#2 of 389 in Munich
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Munich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Munich

Address: Neuturmstr. 1, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Munich
#3 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#6 Family Hotel in Munich
#10 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £367 - £897 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Munich 5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quietly tucked away in a side street, yet centrally located near the famed Maximilianstrasse, Mandarin Oriental, Munich is an elegant gem of Neo-Renaissance charm, providing the highest levels of personalised service in the city and award-winning restaurant and bars. The newly refurbished 48 spacious rooms and 25 suites offer the finest in contemporary luxury and, along with the stunning roof-top pool, feature views that stretch across the picturesque surroundings of the old town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Travelbag, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Munich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental Munich Hotel Munich
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Munich
Mandarin Munich
Munich Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing