We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best in Germany”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
Ranked #3 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best in Germany”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

We recently stayed at the Mandarin Oriental in Munich on our last night in Germany. After two weeks of traveling we were looking forward to a quiet night with our nine year old in tow. AT check-in the staff asked if our nine year old wanted to fill out a registration listing his favourite things. In addition they pulled a wagon around and offered him a small welcome gift. This was a small but huge gesture in a nine year old's world. The front desk staff was extremely professional and polite. We were escorted to our room by the front desk associate and were put into a beautiful suite. The room, furnishings, the bathroom, and amenities were the best we have experienced in Germany. We went upstairs to the stunning roof top deck lounge and pool. The area has a wonderful view of Munich. While having a beverage a staff member oasked if our sone wanted to play with a remote control boat in the pool, he looked up at us and said "This is the best hotel in the world" Again a small but huge gesture for a child. We loved everything about this hotel. The location of the hotel is great and next door to the Hofbrauhous, which is so much fun. Service, food, facilities and ambiance were amazing. It was a great way to end our trip, and we hope to go back to the hotel in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank waterskiguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    681
    89
    38
    10
    7
See reviews for
151
343
54
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
272 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

If you are staying in Munich THIS is the place to stay. The rooms ar simply luxurious, truly 5 star. The beds are heaven and the service couldn't be better. It's a bit pricy but it's worth it. Location in the historical center is great for walking/exploring. Check out the view from the rooftop bar.

Room Tip: I'm pretty sure they are all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kwchilily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawarden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

I stay here regularly with work, its the finest hotel in Germany, let alone Munich, you will not be disappointed. Everything about this hotel is perfect - couldn't recommend it more highly.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GarethBaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

This is probably one of the better managed hotels in the world and it is relected in the attitude and responsiveness of the staff; as for the attentiveness of the staff, it does not get much better than this. The facility is both classic and modern, shiny clean, and comfortable and ideally located in central Munich virtually adjacent to Marienplatz. The rooms are modern, comfortable, well-appointed. and spotless. The lobby bar is a great place for a nightcap--casual atmosphere with an excellent piano player and of course the typically attentive staff. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 46nytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

I just stayed for 5 days at Mandarin Munich and it was one of the best experiences I've had.The service is great,the food delicious the location is perfect.A truly 5 star hotel.The concierges are the best I've seen,and I do know a little about.Even the heated bathroom floor is nice.
I will come back,for sure.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emilio01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

My husband and I experienced a lovely evening at the rooftop terrace. The personnel service is fun, young and international. Our sweet waitress, Melissa from Miami, which always had a smile on her face even though it was busy rendered top service!

The food selection was delicious. (compliments to your chef!)

If anyone is passing by Munich... it is a MUST to visit this rooftop! Although high-priced, it's a lavish expense.

In spite of the fact that we were not guests (but recommended by our hotel concierge), we were treated like we were and that made our evening even more special!

Fans from New York.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stella R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

The Mandarin Oriental Munich was a perfect hotel. It was impeccably clean, had a perfect location next to the beer hall, service was impeccable, rooms were gorgeous and modern, with hardwood floors throughout. The coolest thing about this hotel was the really cool rooftop pool with an amazing view of Munich from the top. The rooftop bar/restaurant was really nice, but our favorite restaurant was the breakfast buffet we had every morning there. It was very elegant with many choices, and my teen son and I loved it. I got the chance to travel alone with him and we couldn't have picked a better hotel. I would not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.9 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
0.1 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#16 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,876 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen
0.2 mi away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#15 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#12 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Munich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Munich

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Munich
Address: Neuturmstr. 1, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Munich
#2 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#10 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#10 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Munich 5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quietly tucked away in a side street, yet centrally located near the famed Maximilianstrasse, Mandarin Oriental, Munich is an elegant gem of Neo-Renaissance charm, providing the highest levels of personalised service in the city and award-winning restaurant and bars. The newly refurbished 48 spacious rooms and 25 suites offer the finest in contemporary luxury and, along with the stunning roof-top pool, feature views that stretch across the picturesque surroundings of the old town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Mandarin Oriental, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Munich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental Munich Hotel Munich
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Munich
Mandarin Munich
Munich Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing