We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
Nearby Hotels
US$865
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$391
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$206
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
LOUIS Hotel(Munich)
US$315
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$249
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$241
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Cocoon Sendlinger Tor(Munich)(Great Value!)
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$288
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$269
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Carat Hotel & Apartments Munchen(Munich)(Great Value!)
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$214
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$208
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$103
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (940)
Filter reviews
940 results
Traveller rating
774
102
44
12
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
774
102
44
12
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barfour seasonsbell staffluxury hotelrooms are beautifulwalk in closetcomplimentary mini barwelcome drinkwonderful hotelhofbrau housejunior suitefavorite hotelthe location is perfectconciergematsuhisagermanyhofbrauhaus
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
421 - 426 of 940 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2012

These guys have caught the perfect balance between old world European grandeur and luxury and contemporary high-tech chique. The rooms are very comfortable with expansive high ceilings, beautiful luxurious furnishings and great, modern bathrooms. I only ate breakfast here but it was among the best; superb fresh fruits and juices; excellent meats, cheeses, breads and pastries on the buffet. I also ordered a couple of eggs fried but still soft with Nürnberger Bratwürste and they were delivered perfectly done and the sausages among the best I've ever had. The rooftop pool is small but the view is grand, for my money it even beats the view from the Olympic Tower as you look over the rooftops of all the major Munich icon buildings. The service is outstanding; relaxed and pleasant but on top of things and totally competent. The location just can't be beat. Get in late and want dinner? The Hofbräuhaus is right behind serves hot food until after midnight most days. Ayingers also stays open late, not to mention room service. Want to eat high end? The Schubeck's restaurant complex is also right behind and the 2-Michelin-star Dallmayr upstairs restaurant (as well as the downstairs scrumptuous food emporium) is a 5 minute walk. Morning run? About a quarter mile to the entrance of the Englischer Garten which is gorgeous with woods and lakes. Shopping? Surrounds the hotel and 5 minutes on foot gets you to Marienplatz. Short walk to the opera, nightlife (of all flavors), everything. It just doesn't get better for a major city hotel. Didn't have time for the spa, so didn't rate it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mgpaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We stopped for three nights in Munich at the Mandarin Oriental and stayed in a Mandarin Room at the 5th floor facing the court yard of the Hofbrauhaus. Everything about this hotel is fantastic and it deserves well its world wide reputation as one of the world's best hotels. The subtle kindness, good humour and attention to your every need from all staff, the large and beautifully furnished rooms, the fantastic beds, linen and bathrobes are part of what makes this hotel outstanding. And the roof terrace is unique and a must even if you are not staying at the hotel. The roof terrace manager Daniel and his crew will go out of their way to make sure you get a perfect start to a night out enjoying their delicious drinks and food. We will be back for sure.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank KK39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We are a couple in our early 50's, traveling with our adult son.
From the moment we arrived at this hotel until the time we left we were thrilled with the attentive service provided by staff, it was truly one of most enjoyable hotel stays.
Within minutes of being shown to our room we ran into the head of housekeeping for our floor, she introduced herself (Sarah) and immediately arranged for both our rooms to have hypo allergenic bedding. She was genuinely friendly and encouraged us to contact her at any time if we needed something from housekeeping.
Housekeeping services were excellent, bookmarks left in open books, fruit baskets replenished frequently and the rooms were spotless clean.

The breakfast buffet was supurb and it was a pleasure to be greeted by name from friendly staff every morning. By the second day staff remembered preferences for tea, coffee etc and always enquired about our plans. Great way to start each day!!!!

Both concierges we dealt with were excellent, making sightseeing suggestions, booking train tickets, printing maps etc and at the last minute arranged for us to do a tour of the BMW plant.

At some point during a ten day stay you would expect to run into a staff member that was less than enthusiastic but this was not our experience even when dealing with staff that are not usually in direct contact with guests.
The man watering the plants on our balcony was charming as was the young man filling up the mini bar (which is complimentary) when we came home early one afternoon. Bell staff warmly greeted us as we came and went each day, offering umbrellas as needed.

We were thrilled with our rooms but it is the staff at the MO that truly made our stay Munich such a pleasure.

Room Tip: Junior suite number 308 has a large balcony which is just lovely on a warm summer's evening.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

I stayed in the Mandarin Junior Suite, which I highly recommend! The decor was extremely pleasing to the eye and actually contributed to a more relaxing trip, despite being on business.

The location was central to all the main attractions in Munich. Everyone walks or takes public transportation, which was great to see! We were able to then stumble upon people surfing on a rocky river. We were very impressed as were the hundreds of people watching throughout the day.

The service is was pretty amazing! Everyone made each and everyone of us on the trip feel like we were coming home and wanted to do anything they could to ensure our stay was perfect. But the best part were the ammenities in the room. Doing work was extremely easy with free wifi, triple line phone, and great coffee. Never underestimate a great cup of coffee and a fresh fruit basket!

All the praise that this hotel has been getting is justified!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We recently stayed at the Mandarin in Munich where we were treated like royalty by the staff. The location of the hotel and the rooms were great but the real difference was the staff. Both the front desk and concierge services were outstanding.

What really set impressed us was an event that happened after we departed. While at the business class lounge at the Munich airport, our five year old son left his DS3 (like a ‘gameboy’) electronic device in the lounge. After landing in Frankfurt we immediately called and they located the device however, they would not ship it and offered no means for us to retrieve the unit.

My only option was to contact the Mandarin conciege who had helped us with dinner and other arrangements during our stay. He took it upon himself to have the unit retrieved, brought back to the Mandarin and then sent to us at home in San Diego. That was going well above the call of duty!

I wanted to congratulate the Mandarin on the tremendous staff they have. While a nice property is the first step in a quality hotel, the people are what set it apart and the Mandarin has great people! We have always had good experiences at the various Mandarin Orientals we have stayed at but this ranks at the very top of our list. We will make sure to relay this story and recommend the Mandarin chain to all of our friends and business associates.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews