We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Munich

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
Ranked #3 of 381 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012 via mobile

A great location. Wonderful staff. Great breakfast. The junior suite is wonderful and roomy with large queen sized beds. Staff are friendly and attentive. Would stay here again. Within walking distance of city center, shopping, and amazing restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fun4jbj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    670
    88
    38
    10
    7
See reviews for
149
338
53
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

We have just returned from 3 wonderful weeks traveling throughout Germany staying only at 5 star hotels and the Mandarin Oriental, Munich set the standard for all of the other wonderful properties. If you are ever visiting Munich which is a must I strongly recommend enhancing your visit by staying with the wonderful people of the Mandarin Oriental. Our on line reservations were handled professionally, Upon arrival (by car) we were greeted and escorted to reception where our check in was flawless. We were then given a tour of the property and shown to our room where there was an exquisite fresh fruit basket. The first thing we did on the hotels recommendation was visit the roof top bar area where we were treated to complementary Champagne, life doesn't get better, thank you Oriental Mandarin.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ralph311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

The Mandarin Oriental Hotel in Munich is the smallest property owned by this hotel group. It's also the envy of the luxury hotel industry. The hotel itself has a commanding view of the beautiful Munich skyline and looks down on the beer garden of the Hofbrau Haus. Germany's finest restaurants are within walking distance and there is a vibrant cafe culture on the sidewalks.

The staff at this hotel have been meticulously selected and trained. They are all extremely friendly, gracious and helpful.

There is no other comparable property in Europe.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire, England
Level Contributor
335 reviews
184 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 373 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

I have little to add to the superlatives previous reviewers have used to describe the Mandarin Oriental in Munich. An upgrade to a Junior Suite is a generous and very much appreciated welcome and from the moment we stepped inside the building to the minute we left, we felt at home. Nothing is too much trouble for these highly professional hoteliers, their quiet but attentive service really does go above and beyond expectations. Being addressed by name is never something which worries me, but when it happens, it's delightful.

I have just one niggle: however lavish the breakfast buffet, however charming the service, we both agreed that 40 Euros per person was simply exorbitant!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elegantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

One of my "bucket list" items was to stay at a Mandarin Oriental hotel somewhere in the world. The cost of our stay was in excess of our usual hotel budget, but we were so happy we stayed here. We arrived after a harrowing cab ride, and the hotel was kind enough to provide two frazzled travelers with lunch on the house. The service was excellent. The rooms were spotless. The food was outstanding. The location is great. The minibar in the room was complimentary. Our only complaint was the exorbitant charge for in-room WiFi. At this price point, we expected free WiFi.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeannedelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chapel hill
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012

I have never felt so pampered. The hotel itself is one of the most elegant in the world and is only exceeded by the friendly and helpful staff. The breakfast buffet was lovely with a huge selection to please everyone. Within walking distance of most of the tourist sites. The front desk personnel are the most professional I have ever experienced.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigoChapelHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012

I recently went to Munich Germany to participate in the Oktoberfest celebration. We booked the trip through the concierge and had an experience of a lifetime. We were picked up by horses and a carriage with a pretzel, beer and commemorative beer mug. We were extremely lucky to have Jonathan as our host that evening. I would recommend that if anyone goes to this hotel, you have to meet Jonathan. The service at this establishment and the people work here are excellent and make any experience better. Great experience overall!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EACohen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.9 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
0.1 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#16 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,858 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
0.3 mi away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#13 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#11 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Munich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Munich

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Munich
Address: Neuturmstr. 1, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Munich
#2 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#10 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#10 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Munich 5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quietly tucked away in a side street, yet centrally located near the famed Maximilianstrasse, Mandarin Oriental, Munich is an elegant gem of Neo-Renaissance charm, providing the highest levels of personalised service in the city and award-winning restaurant and bars. The newly refurbished 48 spacious rooms and 25 suites offer the finest in contemporary luxury and, along with the stunning roof-top pool, feature views that stretch across the picturesque surroundings of the old town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Munich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental Munich Hotel Munich
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Munich
Mandarin Munich
Munich Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing