We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
Ranked #3 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

Mandarin oriental is my favorite hotel chain when it comes to service and the one in Munich is certainly live to its reputation ... Highly recommended, central location, good food. The gym is a bit small, but the equipments are good and new ....

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank 77Alchemist77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOMUCMunich, Geschäftsführer at Mandarin Oriental, Munich, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear 77Alchemi,
Thank you for sharing such good comments and to recommend Mandarin Oriental, Munich. I am delighted to read that you prefer our hotels. We are very much looking forward to your next stay with us.
Best regards,
Wolfgang Greiner
General Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    681
    89
    38
    10
    7
See reviews for
151
343
54
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
134 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

excellent location, very good for walkingat night and friendly staff, breakfast a treat too,
the hotel is not large, very homely. starbucks and coffee shop open around the corner for early risers - you just have to go fetch your own, no coffee making in rooms

Room Tip: away from the Hofbräu Haus, but windows shut well
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moira-anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOMUCMunich, Geschäftsführer at Mandarin Oriental, Munich, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear moira-anne,
Thank you for your kind comments on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to hear that our hotel is your home away from home. Just would like to inform that we provide a coffee machine in our suites and will add the rooms in the near future. Looking forward to your return visit to Mandarin Oriental, Munich.
Best regards,
Wolfgang Greiner
General Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Impecable from start to finish. I've been a guest at Mandarin Munich 11 times already and they have always been constanty almost perfect. By far, the best Mandarin I've been a guest so far.
Breakfast is one of their highlights, always with top quality products and excelent service.

Room Tip: Don't worry about noise. All rooms are very well insulated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Romylos B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOMUCMunich, Geschäftsführer at Mandarin Oriental, Munich, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear Romylos B,
It was a pleasure to read your kind lines. Thank you for your continued loyalty. We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again to Mandarin Oriental, Munich in the near future.
Best regards,
Wolfgang Greiner
General Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bardstown, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

I had buisness and was with clients doing PA work, this hotel is in a great location haufbrauer house next door shopping etc service was impeccable lots of shopping down the street , restaurants and the service was great everyday little chocolates great coffee and door mn to get umbrellas coats and meet the driver . They have a dry cleaning service but guess what there is a dry cleaners just accrosss the street u can see it front he side door so easy to drop off items they did laundry and it was affordable as well .room service was great a nd special dietary items were added tot he menue during our stay like gluten free products let the hotel know what u need before hand , I met with the kitchen staff and , well its germany so health food is surplus.thats irony because also everyone smokes lol Hair salon drug stores allow its in close walking distance. Conducting buisness meetings with up to 7 people in the sitting area was easy downstairs in the wounderful loung area and meeting with buisness colleges. They gave a better rate for such a long stay, the transportation is easy there ,and Munich has so egreat basement blues jazz clubs I would highly recommend this place for buisness travel any time any typ of travel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JasonandChelsie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOMUCMunich, Geschäftsführer at Mandarin Oriental, Munich, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear JasonandChelsie K,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your truly extended experience at Mandarin Oriental, Munich. I am happy to hear that your stay was enjoyable and memorable. Your kind words of appreciation are a great encouragement to my team.Thank you for being such a wonderful and supportive ‘FAN’ and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the capital of Bavaria and in our beautiful Mandarin Oriental, Munich.
Best regards,
Wolfgang Greiner
General Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

The location in Munich is great : close to the center ( and so : to all the best "Brauereien" ) but still in a silent neighborhood .... all the good points of the center without the noise....
We chose this hotel because we love the Mandarin Oriental in Hong Kong : one of the best hotels in the world for me.
In the Mandarin Munich: the rooms are small but very well equipped : the bed is absolutely great, video equipment both in the bedroom and in the bathroom are recent and good. But besides the doormen ( great guys, always available when you need them ) and cleaning service ( perfect) the service is average and far from what we expect ( and get ) in every 5 star hotel in the world ( not to compare with the Mandarin Hong Kong ) : reception too slow and not gracious, service in the dining room made by trainees.... And the quality of food ( products) served for the breakfast is just unacceptable : industrial delicatessen, jams and cheeses, no fresh juices, poor bread and pastries, tiny choice of fruit, and of poor quality.... May be all this was due to holidays.. may be everything is better in "business days".... but all together, a very disappointing experience for us ( for a very expensive bill)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jjaugier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOMUCMunich, Geschäftsführer at Mandarin Oriental, Munich, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Jiaugier,
Many thanks for sharing your impressions about Mandarin Oriental, Munich. We are very sorry that your stay at our hotel was not entirely to your satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your expectations in some areas; please allow me to apologize as our goal is to provide you with an overall excellent experience throughout your stay. Concerning the food quality I am very surprised to learn about your experience in regards to our breakfast food items. We are receiving all products from local suppliers like freshly sliced cold cuts and cheese including daily baked bread and pastries from Munich´s best organic bakery or homemade jams from highly awarded Chef Eckart Witzigmann. We take your comments about our F&B service and front office associates very serious as we have obviously not met your expectations.I do hope we will be able to proof our high service standards in the near future and am looking forward to welcoming you again to Mandarin Oriental, Munich soon.
Best regards,
Wolfgang Greiner
General Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Republic of Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

I spend a lot of time travelling and staying in hotels which have a 5 star rating. The Mandarin Oriental in Munich however takes the service I would expect to another level. All the staff in the hotel seem focussed on ensuring your every need is anticipated and you enjoy your stay. Reception, Concierge, Bar, Restaurant, everyone was so friendly and helpful. I am not easily impressed but this hotel managed that feat. It is also a beautiful building with really nice rooms which are well designed for comfort. The location is excellent for both business and pleasure. This will definitely be my hotel of choice when I return to Munich

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KMS888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOMUCMunich, Geschäftsführer at Mandarin Oriental, Munich, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear KMS888,
What a pleasure to read your kind words and many thanks for sharing your impressions on your visit. We are delighted to hear that we fulfilled our aim to anticipate guests’ needs and that you had an enjoyable and memorable stay at Mandarin Oriental, Munich. We are very much looking forward to your return visit in the near future.
Best regards,
Wolfgang Greiner
General Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

I would like express my sincere gratitude for the warm reception that Mandarin Oriental Munich provided me with.
Special thanks to Mr. Max Murmann and his colleague Ms. Stafanie Sach and whole of restaurant team, who does his job very well! The amazing taste of the food with Asian touch together with high-level service and very friendly atmosphere are worthy of the highest praise!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ValentinVV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOMUCMunich, Geschäftsführer at Mandarin Oriental, Munich, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear ValentinVV,
We are delighted to learn how much you enjoyed your visit at Mandarin Oriental, Munich and our Restaurant Mark’s. My colleagues, especially Max Murmann and Stefanie Sach, were grateful to receive such a good appraisal. It is good to hear that you enjoyed the food and atmosphere of Restaurant Mark’s. We all are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again to our hotel in the near future.
Best regards,
Wolfgang Greiner
General Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.9 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,455 reviews
0.1 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#15 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,879 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen
0.2 mi away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#16 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#14 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Munich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Munich

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Munich
Address: Neuturmstr. 1, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Munich
#2 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#10 Family Hotel in Munich
#10 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Munich 5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quietly tucked away in a side street, yet centrally located near the famed Maximilianstrasse, Mandarin Oriental, Munich is an elegant gem of Neo-Renaissance charm, providing the highest levels of personalised service in the city and award-winning restaurant and bars. The newly refurbished 48 spacious rooms and 25 suites offer the finest in contemporary luxury and, along with the stunning roof-top pool, feature views that stretch across the picturesque surroundings of the old town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Mandarin Oriental, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Munich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental Munich Hotel Munich
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Munich
Mandarin Munich
Munich Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing